Growing (Job) Pains

Who woulda thunk that standing for eight hours would be so hard on the body?  I am sitting here now in pain.  My back, my legs, and my feet.  Owww!!  And I get to do it again tonight. 

I had my first eight hour shift of work yesterday.  The first half went by fairly quickly because it was so busy, but the last half was painnnn-ful.  I have housework to do today, but just feel like resting because everything hurts!  😥

Okay.  That’s my whining quota for the day.  Thanks for listening.  🙂

So far, I’ve just been working in the kids’ section.  I’m enjoying it, although it’s dangerous for me because I’m seeing so many great books that I want to buy for R & J.  There’s an interesting series called, “Dear Canada“, that I might get for Social Studies. 

The girl I was working with was hilarious.  She’s about 19 or 20, and she’s moving away from home for the first time.  She reads graphic novels, which are a kind of comic book.  She talked AND talked to me all night about Manga, which are Japanese comics.  We couldn’t have been more different from each other.  I liked her, though.  She made me laugh.  She’s one of those people that just says what she’s thinking.  You ask her opinion and you’ll get it straight up.  Not in a bitchy way.  She just doesn’t seem to have an internal filter telling her to worry about other people’s feelings. 

Then there was the dad that took off on his little boy who couldn’t have been more than 3 yrs old.  Apparently, he told him to just wait there while he took off to find his own book. It’s not a small store.  The boy was beginning to freak out when the dad finally returned.  Then, later, the kid was crying because his dad wouldn’t buy him something and in a move of great parental authority the dad suggests they go to the toy store. 

Overall the shift went well.  I actually managed to help people.  Except for the guy who was looking for a Robert Munsch book in hardcover and I told him we didn’t carry them only to find the hardcovers in another section later.  And the guy who called asking what time we opened on Sunday and I told him 10 am, when it’s actually 11 am.  This I, conveniently, remembered right AFTER I hung up the phone.  As it’s 10:20 am he could be sitting in front of the store right now swearing at me.  😳

Well, at least I’ve learned from both of those situations. 

Now, I’ve gotta go and clean my kitchen.  Adrian’s sick so that’s why I came home to a huge mess last night.  That better be why anyway.  😉

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Growing (Job) Pains

  1. Heather says:

    Standing for a long time can be really painful! Get good shoes!! I’m sure you will be seeing more great parenting moments in the store working there. I get amazed at some parents just shopping in stores!!!

  2. my4kids says:

    I never liked when I was working and had to stand all day like that. You wouldn’t think of it but it really does tire you out! Oh well on the mistakes we all make them.

  3. Carla says:

    I think you need some of those pillow insoles for your shoes. I’m the same way if I have to stand for long periods of time.

  4. Robinella says:

    Ditto Heather – get good shoes. Don’t try to be cute! 🙂 Frumpy is better than pained.

    Sounds like your new job will be great fodder for your blog.

  5. Robinella says:

    Oh, I got your email, went to facebook, it looked like I needed to get an account which I did, and then I typed in your name and saw some stuff. Now I don’t know what to do. haha. You did read my techno-challenged posts right?! 🙂 Anyway, I did see the blog post pictures. Cuties.

    I’ll figure out the rest eventually.

  6. Pamela says:

    neglectful parent – leaving his kid alone in the store. Some creep could have abducted him.

    I hope you don’t have to stand on hard concrete ???

    I haven’t had a chance to look at facebook. I’m tech no challenged too

  7. Emma says:

    I love those Dear Canada books. So does Taylor, I always read hers. When I worked at the bookstore in the mall, we forever had parents leaving their kids. Christmas was hell. And because it was the mall they would leave the store itself. We always called security. Some people just shouldn’t be parents.

  8. Steffi says:

    Oh Debbie,I know 100 % how you feel after your work! I work part time daily in a dept. of garden in a big supermarket and I have after my work pains in my legs!It´s a really hard job for the body and I feel me often really sick. Sometimes when I see old peoples as costumers and they are much more fit …That´s terrible to see and I feel me really old.
    I hope you have some free minutes to relax after your work.

  9. Dawn says:

    I remember working at the Tri in the concession kitchen for 8 hour days. I ached and ached too, and was doubly glad to get my current job for that reason. I hope it gets better for you, and I am sure you will see a number of great and not so great parents while their. I can’t imagine why a parent would go to a toy store to buy something when he could by a mind expanding book right where he was standing.

  10. Sirdar says:

    I used to work at NADP (Northern Alberta Dairy Pool) and we had to stand and put the milk cartons in the cases, run up and put more cartons in the machine and made sure all the elements were working plus weigh the cartons to make sure they were the right weight…etc. At one time we were supposed to work 8 hour days but they usually were 10 hour days. At least we could move around. I used to love loading the trucks. Made for a good workout.

    Hope Adrian gets better soon.

  11. Steffi says:

    Best wishes to Adrian!I hope he is soon healthy again!!!

  12. Joy T. says:

    Oh the days of standing forever and coming home aching….I do NOT miss them! And I used to work in high heels…blah. I hope it gets better and your feet get used to it a bit more. That’s kind of sad about the little one being left. I sat here thinking “I wonder what ‘mom’ would have said if she knew dad was leaving the little boy all alone in the bookstore.” I say that because Gregg was known for pulling some really bonehead moves when our kids were younger. I would catch him and ream him out for being so stupid. Sometimes we just can’t let those men out of our sight. Kids are fine. But those men? Grrrr

    You were missed on Tuesday!!!!

  13. beccy says:

    Sounds like a long day and you’re allowed to make a few mistakes, as you say, you learnt from them. Hope you can find time for a long soak in a deep, bubble bath.

  14. mindillusion says:

    Knowledge is power and you have found indeed the ideal working role.

    Although, the Opening Times – may be in need of dusting….

  15. philosophyoflife says:

    Must admit – I would be in sheer heaven – given such a position.

    The only disadvantage – customers would be annoying – as I tried to read….

Leave a Reply

