Homschooling and a Sick Hubby

Thank-you for all your encouraging comments on the state of my aching feet.  🙂 I’m sure they’ll get better.  I think part of the problem is that I need better shoes.  I thought mine were okay, but apparently not good enough for eight hours of standing!

 Adrian has been home sick all week.  He went to the doctor on Tuesday.  He found out that he has bronchitis and got his-self some meds.  At least now he has some cough syrup with codeine and can sleep better at night.  He likely won’t go back to work until Monday. 

Of course, having him home means less time on the computer for me.  If I’m to get him to believe how busy I am during the week it just wouldn’t do for him to see me spend two hours on here, would it?  😉 Nah.  I’m kidding.  I really have been busy-ish.  I worked all of this past weekend, and on Saturday we were with the Junior Forest Wardens (JFW) volunteering.  We were helping with landscaping at our local community hall.  We had a great turn-out of volunteers and the weather was perfect.  Not too cold or hot. 

The children had their other activities that I drove them to, and I joined the local homeschool support group.  They had their monthly meeting on Monday night.  It was so nice to get out and talk with other homschoolers.  I knew a few people and look forward to meeting more.  Dawn from Colours of Dawn has been a member of this group for years so I hitched a ride with her to the meeting.  I tell ya.  I am very fortunate to know her.  She’s been doing this a long time and just has a great perspective on it all.  I hope you know, Dawn, how much I appreciate you!  🙂 That night at the meeting there were some Japanese exchange students that came to give us a presentation.  Some people brought their families along.  Dawn brought her hubby, Sirdar, and two oldest children.  I left mine at home ’cause I wanted to be a-lonnne awayyyy from the kids.  🙂

On the note of moral support:  I have a friend who just joined the homeschooling world.  She pulled her kids from full time public school and enrolled them at the part time program that we just left.  It’s a strange thing to now be the one giving advice and support to someone new.  I find myself saying many of the words that were told to me when I first began this journey three years ago.  “It’s always hardest the first year”, “figure out your goals and homeschool philosophy and go from there”, “everyone’s daily routine looks different – you’ll find what works for you”, “you’re doing great!”, and so on. 

I don’t give specific advice unless she asks for it because everyone DOES have a different philosophy on homeschooling along with their own reasons for pursuing the endeavor.  Some people are very focused on structured academics while others focus more on teaching strength of character in their children. 

I fall in the middle somewhere (which shouldn’t be too much of a surprise!!).  Yesterday was a prime example.  The children spent about an hour and a half on school work.  Afterwards they were told to start their chores.  R wasn’t pleased and was whining in a major way.   So, for the NEXT hour he got a good lesson on obedience because he ended up cleaning the bathroom, vacuuming, AND dusting for me.  I was almost disappointed that he finally figured out that whining wasn’t getting him anywhere because all of the housework was getting done!  Anyway, I think that lesson was just as valuable as the math that he did – in a different way.

So, that’s my week.  Homeschooling and looking after Adrian.  Actually, besides one homemade chicken soup I haven’t had to do much “looking after”.  He just spends his time in bed or on the couch.  For some reason, I’m not very nurturing when it comes to my husband when he’s ill.  When the kids are sick I get all gushy and lovey, but not when Adrian does.  I mean, I do a BIT, but I don’t get carried away waiting on him or anything.  He usually phones his mom in England for sympathy!  And I say: Too right!!

Now, I’ve gotta go and see what you all have been up to.  I’ve fallen behind in my blog reading. Have a great day!

Oh and by the way, Robinella.  You don’t have to anything with Facebook if you don’t want to – you can leave it the way it is.  Orrrr.  You can start playing with it – it’s kinda fun!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Homschooling and a Sick Hubby

  1. giveitatry says:

    I hope Adrian has a speedy recovery – it is miserable being sick (just ask me and I wasn’t even that sick….).

  2. Pamela says:

    my hubby always seems to get sicker than me

  3. Robinella says:

    I too have a hard time nurturing my hubby. I think it has something to do with him acting like he’s dying and whining more than my 3yo old. But that’s just my best guess. 🙂

  4. Sirdar says:

    Sorry to hear that Adrian is still sick. Hope he gets better soon. Might have to drop over after he gets better and have a drink…or two. Only two!! 🙂

    It was good to see you out the other night with the other homeschool moms…and dads. Having that support base really does help. We’ve met some very nice people that we call friends now.

    From the sounds of it, I bet R isn’t happy that you know Dawn. Poor kid….he just doesn’t know how good it is for him to learn the lesson the hard way.

  5. Steffi says:

    I hope Adrian is soon okay again but a bronchitis is not good!Good wishes! I know when a husband is sick than he is like my 3th child!

    You are so busy debbie.It´s nice you had a nice homeschool meeting with other moms and dads.And you can see Sirdar and Dawn -I wish I can meet they in the real life too.

  6. beccy says:

    Sending get well wishes to Adrian, when my hubby is sick he likes to hibernate in the bed and be ignored, it makes it very easy for me!

  7. Dawn says:

    Gee…thanks for saying such nice things. You know that will only encourage me to give you more advice and take you more places. Glad to see the chore for whining is helping build character and get your house cleaned. Gotta like the days when you get lots accomplished. I hope Adrian is feeling better. I don’t give Sirdar much sympathy or waiting on, either.

  8. my4kids says:

    I’m not the most nurturing when any of my family is sick! I’m terrible when it comes to that. Sure I take care of them and all and make sure they eat but not a whole lot extra special. Hope Adrian is feeling better soon.
    I do get a lot of moms giving me advice about homeschooling but I agree everyone is so different about how they do it. I did get involved with another home schooling group here though and even with the differences its nice to know others who are doing it.

  9. mindillusion says:

    Poor Adrian – when one has to ‘phone home’ – for sympathy and TLC.

    How wonderful of ‘R’ to offer to do the housework – it just goes to show a little ‘whine’ can work miracles – at least for you…

    I must admit I do not know where you get the energy to undertake such a mountain of duties – and all credit to you for your achievements – not least – permanent homeschooling.

    Sure Adrian will be back at work soon – he will undoubtedly receive TLC…

  10. mindillusion says:

    Debbie, do you have a facebook blog?

  11. Debbie says:

    mindillusion – I don’t always have the energy! 🙂 Adrian’s bck at wor today. He’s still feeling run down. I have a facebook account.

  12. mindillusion says:

    A friend suggested I pop over to ‘facebook’ and I set one up – still not sure of how it really works…

  13. philosophyoflife says:

    Hope you are settling down to the Autumn and it would be lovely to see some of your truly amazing photo’s of the many colours over there in Canada.

Leave a Reply

