Where oh where has that little book gone?

I don’t know why, but, for some reason, I have trouble seeing things that are staring me right in the face.  Example:

At work yesterday a customer phoned looking for two books that were in the “Gossip Girls”series.  It’s a popular series right now, so we have a lot of them displayed.  For the life of me I couldn’t find one of the books even though the computer said we had nine.  I looked on the shelves and various displays…two or three times.  My manager was walking by at one point, so I asked her if they could be displayed somewhere else I was unaware of, but she said no.  So, she and I went to the back to look.  Nope.  Not there.  Finally, a co-worker overheard our conversation regarding the “missing” books and says, “they’re right here”.  They were on one of the displays that I checked…three times!!  How could I not have seen them??? 

And this isn’t an isolated incident.  I often miss things that I are right in front of me.  So, oh wise ones out there in blogland – WHY??  Why do I do this?  Am I too rushed?  Impatient?  How can I look and look at a stack of books and not bloody well notice the ones I’m looking for? 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Where oh where has that little book gone?

  1. mindillusion says:

    Perhaps ‘bifocals’ – may be the order of the day!!!

  2. debsgr8r says:

    lol. As soon as you get the answer, please pass it on to me as I seem to be afflicted with the same…shall we call it, temporary condition. My family calls it selective sight…as in…”Huh, oh no, I can’t find any of my clothes, looks like I have to go shopping.”

  3. Sirdar says:

    You know….it gets worse as you get older 😆

  4. Carla says:

    No explanation as to why or what helps. I think it happens to all of us from time to time…especially if we feel under pressure to find something 😉

  5. Dawn says:

    I think it is just because you are so young at heart. My kids have the very same problem. I am not saying you are immature mind you. I guess you would have more understanding for your kids with this. Truthfully it happens to me too. I think it is like a brain hiccough. It happens in men with hearing also 😀 .

  6. Robinella says:

    Doing too many things at once! I’ll bet when you are working you are mentally going over all the things that you want to get done at home, school, kids, etc. I’m the same one.

    BTW, multi-tasking has been proven to kill brain cells. I’m about 99.9% brain dead.

  7. Debbie says:

    Mindillusion – Perhaps you’re right.
    BTW – I’ve been so behind in reading even my own blog that I’m just now catching up on your comments. Glad to see you back in blogland, and I hope you’re okay.

    deb – LOL!! I like that one! I might have to use it. 😀

    Sirdar – Great. Oh wait. What were we talking about again?? 😉

    Carla – I’m sure it does happen to all of us. That gives SOME commfort. 🙂

    Dawn – he he he Yes, I probably am a little immature – oh I mean – “young at heart“. I won’t dispute you there. 😆

    Robinella – Yup. Me too!

  8. mindillusion says:

    One’s mind can never leave – those to whom we so relate.

  9. Steffi says:

    I have sometimes at my work the same problems like you.So you are not alone,Debbie ;O)!

  10. Heather says:

    LOL! Old age!! It happens to me all the time. Like when I am looking for my sunglasses and they are on my head…

    Just a few weeks ago my hubby was looking for his headlamp. He had it and then set it down and didn’t have it. We tore the house apart. I went in all 3 spots he was at 3 times and looked and looked. Finally we gave up and found a flashlight he could use. A few days later he found his headlamp in his coat pocket. The one he was wearing when we were searching the entire house!!

  11. Pamela says:

    if I knew…. then I could quit doing it myself.

Leave a Reply

