Happy Belated Thanksgiving

Miscellaneous 9859

It was Thanksgiving here in Canada this weekend. I hope you all had a nice one.

Oh dear.  I just now suddenly remembered about Fun Monday and that I had signed up for it this time. Eek. Sorry for those of you who stopped by and didn’t see a Fun Monday post. Of course, only my regular readers (all ten or so of you) will be reading this apology but I’ll send it out to the cosmos none the less.

I worked this weekend and we were relatively busy which made the time go by quickly. I even saw a few people I knew. Among them were Dawn and Sirdar. They stopped by for a quick visit which made for a nice little cheery blip in the day.

The bookstore that I work in is fairly large and has several sections. So far, I’ve worked in Kids, Fiction, and Lifestyles. Lifestyles is where you find cookbooks, gardening, home improvement, and self-help stuff. I really enjoyed working in the Lifestyles section. Sometimes you get some snobby people in the other ones. People who come in looking for a particular author and when I dare not know who it is like to make some snarky comment on how the person is really famous or writes the classics all the while raising their eyebrows at me. In Lifestyles, you find the more down to earth, struggling to find their way in life, kinda folks.  Like me.

Anyway, Sunday I got off at 3:45 PM so we (the kids and I) were able to go to my aunt’s house for turkey dinner. Adrian didn’t want to go. He wanted to stay hommmme. And relax. Alone. On Thanksgiving. This didn’t bother me in the least. Nope. Not at all…………Sigh.

Okay.

Carrrrrying on.

R and J love it at my aunts. She has horses and (the best part) a huge pile of hay to climb. The next best part is my Uncle Pinky. No, his real name isn’t Pinky. It’s his nick name and I can’t remember how he got it either. And as odd as his name is, it doesn’t stop my kids from loving him to bits. He plays and plays with them. In fact, he occupied them all evening. It’s a little unfortunate for my kids that there aren’t a bunch of young cousins for them to play with. The cousins they have are all too old and cool to play. Ah well. They still had fun.  And I got to have a delicious meal that I didn’t have to cook. Mmmm.

I had to work again on Monday and when I got home I was very happy to see that Adrian had vacuumed out and put away our pool! Hooray!! I’ve been stressing over the thing for weeks. It’s such a pain to put away. It even put him back in my good books after the staying home at Thanksgiving thing.

Well, I’m sorry to cut this short suddenly, but that’s actually all I feel like writing for now.

Hope you’re having a good day!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Belated Thanksgiving

  1. philosophyoflife says:

    Belated ‘Thanksgiving’ Greetings – and I only wish we had the same over here….

    Pleased you all had a wonderful time and it does make all the difference when a meal is cooked for you…

  2. Sirdar says:

    Glad to stop by and visit you at work. We didn’t know if you were working but since we were at the Keg next door, we thought we might as well take a look around. Glad we found you. Also glad to hear you are enjoying the job. It’s not fun to work when you don’t like doing what you are doing.

    Sounds like you had a great time at your aunts. Adrian…sigh…. 🙂

  3. Carla says:

    Happy “belated” thanksgiving to you. I only just posted my Thanksgiving post today…so you’re not the only one a little late. Lovely picture, by the way.

  4. Dawn says:

    That is a awesome photo. Belated Happy Thanksgiving to you. Sounds like you had a busy weekend. I hate when work gets in the way of doing the things we want. I would prefer to live in the lifestyles section too but I would have less temptations in the fiction section.

  5. Steffi says:

    Belated Thanksgiving greetings from me too! Your pictures is fantastic,wonderful colourful! It´s nice to hear that you had a nice time with your aunts.

  6. Heather says:

    Hope you had a great Thanksgiving. Ours is end of next month. LOVE the picture. What gorgeous colors!!

  7. Pamela says:

    we missed you of course on fun monday. I was hoping to see some book store pictures…

  8. my4kids says:

    Happy belated Thanksgiving to you!
    Sorry the hubby didn’t want to go to Thanksgiving dinner but at least he cleaned up the pool. My hubby sometimes decides he doesn’t want to go to things like that also.

  9. beccy says:

    Happy belated thanksgiving. It’s funny because I live in my husbands country it’s always me going to his family things and I always go even when I really don’t feel like it. I guess that’s my dutiful wife thing coming out.

  10. robinellablog says:

    How do you get any work done? I would be staring t books and using your hiding technique all day long!!

  11. Emma says:

    I never liked working in lifestyles, but my most hated section by far was computers. Seriously, how is a computer moron like myself supposed to help someone find a book on computers?

    I think William would much prefer hanging out at home on his own rather than getting together with my relatives. Wait. He has done it, but when we’ve gone to friends. Ah well.

Leave a Reply

