Science Museum

Last week we met with another homeschooling family at the science museum for the day. I met the mom a few years ago when we first started homeschooling but because my kids went to school part time we didn’t have much chance to get together. I’m happy we have the opportunity now because I really enjoy their company. She has a boy the same age as R and a 15 yr old daughter who J likes to follow around.

Homeschooling 098

R loves to go on this power generating bicycle every time we go to the science museum. The faster he pedals the more things he turns on. You can see the radio on the right and a light bulb you can’t see, and if you pedal fast enough you get the train in the middle going.

Homeschooling 111 Homeschooling 109

There was also a Lego Star Wars exhibit showing. I didn’t get the best pictures, though.

A day at a museum is the best kind of homeschool day. Except I rushed out of the house because I was running late (as usual) and forgot to pack a lunch. This meant that I had to buy lunch at the museum. It made me a little cranky to pay $18.00 for three sandwiches and three drinks. Especially when the kids didn’t eat all of the sandwiches! Sheesh. I won’t be forgetting again…at least not soon.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Field Trip, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Science Museum

  1. philosophyoflife says:

    Wow, that is a ‘costly experience – you will never forget!!!

    Must admit the exhibition photo’s look cool – certainly would be an enjoyable experience as well as a ‘homeschool’ study project.

  2. christine says:

    I get really cranky, too, when I forget to pack ahead and have to shell out big bucks for fast & greasy!

    Looks fun. My family will be heading to a Firefighter’s Museum on Friday. Can’t wait!!

  3. Sirdar says:

    I assume that is the Telus World of Science? Is it still called that? They change their names so often. It is good that they go there. There is a lot to learn about and many things to do. Looks like the kids don’t tire of the visit there.

  4. Dawn says:

    That is a good day of home schooling. I find we don’t do those as often now that the kids are older and have all the other things on their list to do. We do fit things in here and there and I sure appreciate the freedom to get in things that others might not have the opportunity to do.

  5. Steffi says:

    That´s a nice idea to make a trip to such museum.Especially for boys it must be a exciting day there!

  6. Heather says:

    We have a similar science museum less than an hour from us. The kids always love going to it. I think it is a great way to spend a homeschooling day! Just plan on going when there aren’t school field trips!

  7. robinellablog says:

    We are museum hounds and my Pete would have loved seeing the Star Wars Lego stuff.

    Lunch out? That’s where all my money goes. Sadly. But I’m working on changing that habit.

Leave a Reply

