The Great Rescue

Several nights ago I went outside to call Max (the cat) in before I went to bed.  Instead of Max, however, I was greeted by a strange dog.  I told it sternly to go home but it just sat there wagging its tail and whining.  I went back inside knowing that there was no way that Max was coming to the door while that strange dog was out there. 

I gave it a half hour and went out again to call for Max hoping the dog had left, but nope.  Not only was the dog still there but it’d also come through our cat flap up onto our screened-in deck.  It was still wagging its tail and whining.  I went around to the front of the house hoping to call Max in – quietly – while the dog was on the opposite side.  Max didn’t come, however, and the dog must’ve been alerted because I heard it running down the deck stairs.  I shut the door and then ran back to the deck to close the cat flap.  I didn’t want it camping out on our deck all night.

I had to finally give up on Max and go to bed.  I don’t like leaving him out all night especially when it’s cold.  Adrian could care less but I worry.  After-all, last year we lost our other cat over night and it was me who had let it out.

The next morning I was sure the dog would be gone and I could finally find Max, but – again – nope.  The damn dog came running to greet me as soon as I opened the door.  She had a collar with a tag and appeared friendly enough but I didn’t want her hanging out in our yard.  I was going to tie her up and call Animal Control but it was Thanksgiving Monday and they weren’t open. 

The funny thing about the dog was that every time I approached her, she went trotting off towards my driveway while looking over her shoulder and whining.  She obviously wanted me to follow her. 

Do y’all remember The Littlest Hobo??  Well, I didn’t want to be one of those stupid people on the show who didn’t follow the dog while there were people in danger.  So, Cleo (our dog) and I followed her.  At the very least, I was hoping she’d take us to her home, but I couldn’t help thinking this dog was going to lead me to someone in trouble.  (yes I did watch too much TV in my youth!) 

So, around the subdivision we went at 8:00 in the morning led by this stray dog. 

A…hobo…if you will. 

She set a quick pace and I had to work pretty hard to keep up.  She continued to look over shoulder periodically to be sure I was following.  3/4 of the way around I was beginning to re-think my people in trouble theory but still wasn’t sure.  Finally, however, my suspicions were confirmed when we ended up back at my own house.  I was tired, but Cleo was thrilled.  She had fun.  Maybe the two dogs were in cahoots.  Anyway, it was clear the dog was just looking for some gullible person to get up and take her for a walk.  Orrrr, maybe, in the dog’s eyes, I was the person in trouble…of getting a chubbiER butt.  Maybe she came to rescue me from myself. 

Ah well.  Cleo and I said good-bye to the dog and I closed the gate to keep her out.  Then I spent the next 15 minutes calling my cat.  Max eventually emerged from the trees unharmed if a little indignant.

As for the lost dog?  I’m sure she’ll just keep movin’ on. 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Great Rescue

  1. philosophyoflife says:

    Luv the title “The Great Rescue”.

    Alas for whom???

    As you indentify the dog’s determination – perhaps success was achieved – but for whom??

    An enchanting post – and a rescue with a differerence.

  2. Sirdar says:

    Too funny!! I used to watch The Littlest Hobo. Not sure why. It wasn’t that good. Funny how this new dog kept doing that look and whining thing. Oh well…at least you got out for a walk 🙂

    Oh, and glad Max was OK too.

  3. robinellablog says:

    Glad you found Max. Funny story, Debbie.

  4. Joy T. says:

    Ah jeez! I was hoping for a rescue! Yes, I too watched too much tv as a youth. Loved the Littlest Hobo as a kid but like Sirdar, not sure why? Great story though. Lil exercise and the cat came back. All good 🙂

  5. Pamela says:

    that would make a wonderful childrens story book.

  6. beccy says:

    I was expecting the dog to lead you to Max!

    I loved the Littlest Hobo when I was younger!

  7. Debbie says:

    Yeah. It’s the long version of: “I followed a stray dog around our subdivision for no reason”. 🙂 What can I say? I didn’t feel like writing about my day.

  8. my4kids says:

    Like Beccy I thought he was going to lead you to Max!

    Never saw the littlest Hobo.

  9. giveitatry says:

    I was thinking more along the lines of Lassie – you know, “Timmy’s fallen in the well”. Maybe you don’t know.

    Great story!

  10. Dawn says:

    That is very funny. How our imaginations run with us, and so we run with the dogs. Yep it goes to the dogs, but you did get a brisk walk in. Funny story.

  11. debsgr8r says:

    Too funny. I prolly would’ve followed the dog too. But then again I prolly would’ve stayed up all night trying to make sure my cat (or dog in my case) came home…just to quiet the blaming voices in my mind and calm my guilt. You’re a much stronger woman.

Leave a Reply

