A Vent – Short and Not So Sweet

I’m going to be honest and admit something here.  And I’ll warn you.  Some of the things I’ll say will be politically incorrect for a loving mother. 

Sometimes, teaching my children can be so damn frustrating!!!  J, in particular, at the moment.  There are “simple” concepts that take her forever to understand.  When she counts by ten she continually wants to throw a number like ’23’ into the mix. 

What I SAY to her is: Remember, honey, the numbers will always end in zero when you count by tens.  Let’s go look at the hundreds chart again.

What I THINK is:  O-M-G!!!  How many times do I have to tell you????  23 ends with 3, right?  Does it end in zero?!? Noooooooooo.  Go look at the hundreds chart before I scream.

Now, before I get a bunch of comments on how everyone learns differently and at different paces…I know that!  I know that – eventually – she’ll “get it”.  Or at least I hope she will!  And, for the most part, I don’t let her see my frustration.  But I can vent here.  She won’t be reading it any time soon.

Sigh.  That feels better anyway. 

Now, I’m going to a card making workshop while Dawn‘s kids babysit for me.   

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Vent – Short and Not So Sweet

  1. robinellablog says:

    You’ll get no finger-shaking from me. I, of all people, understand and would you please send Dawn’s kids over here for an extended stay when you are done, please. I pay top dollar for sitters.

  2. Joy T. says:

    Um ya. I would have ‘said’ the part you were just thinking. And that is why I would never in a million years homeschool my children. My kids would need serious therapy after I was done with them. And after I just wrote that out I guess that would make me the horrible mother for the day. Which I’m ok with. Today.

  3. Dawn says:

    Oh, I can’t believe it. You actually feel that way. I am shocked. That n..e..v..e..r happens here. I hope no social workers are reading this. My kids know exactly what I mean when I mention ‘sack of hammers’, ha ha, and unlike Joy, I am okay with them needing therapy. I’ll show them therapy.

    My kids would gladly babysit for Robinella, what a great field trip travelling to where she lives. They are always up for business trips, especially if the pay is good.

  4. beccy says:

    I think you’re completely normal…well as normal as the rest of us. If I blogged about every bad mother incident I’d be here blogging 24/7!

  5. Debbie says:

    All very well put, ladies. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

