A Great Day…for ME!!

I had a fabulous day yesterday. 

I went to a card-making workshop from 9 am – 1:30 pm, and the kids….weren’t with me!!!  Since I’ve taken on full time homeschooling I really haven’t had any time to myself.  And if any of you say, “but Debbie, what about when you’re working at the bookstore?” I’ll reach my hand through the monitor and strangle you.  Working does NOT count as time to myself.  Okay? Okay.

I’m not even a big card-making aficionado.  It was just a chance to get together with the moms from our old homeschool program.  I laughed and talked and just plain enjoyed myself.  Of course, we did talk about some kid stuff.  As moms, we just can’t seem to help ourselves, but it was in a funny venting kinda way.  Good good times.  It showed me that I need to do that more often.

I came away from the workshop with 15 delightfully homemade Christmas cards and a relaxed spirit.  Afterwards I went and picked up my kids from Dawn‘s house.  As I mentioned in my previous post her children (the two oldest) baby-sat for me.  I got a nice report about the kids’ behavior from Dawn which was the icing on the cake to my “me time” excursion.  Talking about cake…while I was chatting with her in the kitchen a lovely aroma assaulted my senses.  Dawn-was-baking.  Whoohooo!  Yumm. But, “It’s for tonight”, she says cheerily.  Oh yeah!!  Her Pampered Chef party.  (Truthfully?  It had slipped my mind.  But shhhhh – don’t tell Dawn.)  With the promise of that yummy smelling cake, however, I was IN!  “I’ll be here”, I tell her.

So, then I got to have some more “me time” that evening!  More talking and chatting.  I even met another fellow blogger.  Janet from Tuininga Treasures.  It was a lovely evening.  Grrreat food.  Dawn’s cake was awesome and she even sent some home with me for Adrian and the kids.  Int she nice?  The Pampered Chef lady also made a Sun-dried Tomato Pesto Brie as part of her presentation.  It was verry good.  Now, I’ve never actually had brie before.  Adrian and the kids eat that kind of cheese all of the time.  Well, they actually have Camembert but it’s still that white squishy looking cheese.  I’ve never had the desire to eat it, but last night it smelled so good I couldn’t resist.  And I ended up have two big slices and then I ended paying for it all night.  It felt like those two slices had melted together and then decided to hang out in my gut.  Ohhhhh, I had a painful cheesy tummy all night.  Have I grossed you out enough?  Well, it didn’t feel good either!  I guess it was my little bit of penance for pigging out.  🙂

Anyway, it WAS a great day despite the tummy ache.  Dawn and her kids were instrumental in making it possible.  Thanks guys! 

But now I’m selfish.  I don’t just want one day to myself.  I want morre.  Sooo, I just might be calling on you guys again.  Regularly. 

No. 

T?  J?

Don’t run away.  

Dawn?

Come baaaaack!!!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Great Day…for ME!!

  1. beccy says:

    Sounds like a great day, I hope you get many more.

  2. Steffi says:

    I agree with Beccy´s comment…sounds like a great day and hope you have more great days more often!

  3. robinellablog says:

    I can “hear” the change in your writing. Me time is very very good.

  4. Dawn says:

    Thanks so much for the kudos. I had a great day too. Now that the kids are older, I seem to have more time to myself without them but it isn’t usually doing fun things except when I go for coffee with friends. Glad you had a good day and you can call anytime, but we may not answer 😀 .

  5. Joy T. says:

    Glad you had a great day, I say more are obviously needed. Well. Minus the cheese part, you might want to take that a bit slower LOL 🙂

  6. Sirdar says:

    It is good to have so ME (you) time without the kids. Dawn takes a few of those now because the kids are old enough to stay home by themseves.

    Glad you had some Debbie time.

  7. philosophyoflife says:

    Quality time for oneself – is so vital – and perhaps even more so for those with children…

    A creative choice of hobby to undertake – and worthy of praise….

    I am always so impressed when I see the quality and creativity of homemade cards 🙂

  8. Heather says:

    Good for you Debbie!!!!

  9. Carla says:

    Isn’t it great when we have time to pamper ourselves a bit. I don’t think we do it nearly as often as we should. Sounds like you had a lovely time. I’d love to see photos of your cards.

Leave a Reply

