Bye Bye Bookstore

You know what sucks about having a part time job?  It gets in the way of my blogging family time.  That and I have a disaster of a house come Monday morning.

Having said that, I think I’m going to quit the bookstore.  It doesn’t make sense for me to be driving all the way into the city when I could get a job in the smaller communities closer to home.  Plus, I guess I’ve really become a country girl because I’m just not used to the traffic!  By the time I get to work after driving through the city on a Friday night during rush hour I’m frazzled and twitchy. 

I do enjoy dealing with the customers.  Helping someone find the one book their looking for can feel really good.  Especially when they say things like: 

“Oh!!  You’re such a sweet heart!” or “I love you!  Thank-you, I could NEVER have found this on my own”. 

Some people, however, come in with the funniest requests.  Like the lady who said that Oprah was talking about a book where all you eat is green food and did we have it.  I asked, of course, if she knew anything about the title or author, but she didn’t.  It was on OPRAH, she replied.  (As if that’s enough for me to find the book.)  While I was doing a search on the computer entitled “green food” she said it two more times.  “It-was-on-O-prahhhhh”.  I simply said: “I-heard-you.  Unfortunately there isn’t a category in the store just for Oprah”. 

I had another guy come up to me holding a computer book, and ask: 

“Is this book about programming?”

“Uhhh.  Well, lets’ see.”

So I look at the book and notice the title:  Computer Programming.

“Hmmmm.  Well, I’m pretty sure it would be, sir.”  As I run my finger along the title.

“Okay.  Thanks”, he says and walks off.

😯

And two or three times a day you have someone ask:

 “I’m looking for a book.  I think it’s called…um…The – uh – Secret?  Have you ever heard of that?”

A conveniently placed sign would solve that issue.  🙂

I’ll miss working there because it was fun, but for the money I was being paid, it just doesn’t make sense.  I underestimated how much of a pain the drive would be.

Ah well, so, I’m back in part-time job hunting hell. 

Unless, I convince Adrian that I don’t need to work outside the home at all! Now THAT would be great.  🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bye Bye Bookstore

  1. G says:

    So sad that I have to read about this on your blog but glad that I have a reference if I can’t get you on the phone:)
    a couple of things; Glad that you’re done at the book store as it was really cutting into our time and hopefully you can get a job closer to home (or not:). Also I think there should be an Oprah section AND that guy with the computer book? He was hitting on you;)
    G

  2. Dawn says:

    That guy about the computer book, too funny. Mind you, I know guys who state the obvious, just to make conversation, so G may just be onto something. Good luck with finding a new job, or not.

  3. Debbie says:

    G – I know. We don’t talk enough! 😦
    They used to have an Oprah book club section, but they don’t anymore. Maybe because she doesn’t do them as regularly? I dunno. Also, she features many more books that aren’t an actual book club selection. Like that Jessica Seinfeld cook book. That was gone in two hours!

    Dawn – Hmmm, I really don’t think he was hitting on me. I think he was just “simple”. 🙂 And thanks for your encouragent as of late.

  4. Janet T. says:

    You could come and work for me. I need my house cleaned. I don’t pay, though. It’s pro bono work. 🙂

  5. Heather says:

    Oh darn…no more book discounts!!

    If there is a way you don’t have to work…I hope you guys can swing it! I can see how it could easily just be too much. Being a mom is a full time job in itself, homeschooling your children at 2 different levels is practically 2 more full time jobs…anyways…wishing you the best…hope it all works out! 🙂

    Love the ooooprahhh lately. I bet you could of googled Oprah books and found it for her though!! ;0

  6. Joy T. says:

    Well I should have come to your bookstore with my list of 10 books then because the lady who helped me at the store I went to was some ticked off that I had “THAT many books to find.” Quite rude. I didn’t call her a sweetheart and I didn’t tell her I loved her. I did however mumble ‘bitch’ under my breath.

    Hope you find something closer to home. Or I hope you don’t. Or yes I do. No I don’t. Yes. No.

  7. Sirdar says:

    Funny customer stories. Too bad it doesn’t work for you. I’m sure you will find something in the other two towns. Maybe you could get Adrian to get a second job so you could stay home 😆

  8. Steffi says:

    Funny customer stories and I know funny and of course bad customer stories from my work too.Sorry to hear about your job! I wish you find soon a other work again!

  9. Debbie says:

    Janet – Uhhh. Tempting…buuut…no…thank-you. 🙂

    Heather – I was spending too much anyway, and, unfortunatley, they don’t have online acsess at the stores.

    Joy – I would have been pleased to help you! I’m not just saying that to suck up either. I’ve helped a few people with big long lists. Like I said, helping the customers is my favourite part.

    Sirdar – I’m sure I’ll be able to find something. Thanks! And, hey! Good idea. I’m sure Adrian will think so too. I’ll just tell him I got it from you. 😀

    Steffi – Thanks! And yes, I’m sure anyone who works in retail can relay a story or two.

  10. Debbie says:

    I would be in trouble if I worked in a bookstore. I would have no paycheck to bring home. 😉

  11. robinellablog says:

    Hopefully, you can find ways to cut corners. We just dropped cable to a tune of $74 per month and we are getting ready to switch to DSL from cable internet. another $33 savings. Woohoo, who knew it’d be so easy to find 100 bucks!

  12. my4kids says:

    I hated the traffic when I lived in the city and I’m already used to not having traffic. The drive through traffic would drive me nuts. Hopefully you can convince Adrian that you don’t need a job so you can stay home and blog more! 🙂

  13. beccy says:

    Ha, I’m one of those people who forgets the title and is very vague. Mary in my local bookshop has never failed to find the book I’m after then I was in once on her day off, the young shop girl was clueless and I came away without my book!

    I Hope you can persuade Adrian about not working otherwise good luck with the search.

  14. Emma says:

    Debbie! Ask for a transfer to the store near you. Or if not a transfer, then a positive recommendation. And the Oprah thing…usually head office will email the stores saying that Oprah is featuring a certain book. Least they used to. Ages and ages ago!

Leave a Reply

