The Plight of the Messy Kitchen

One of the on-going issues with my working has been the state of the house. Specifically, the kitchen. Every Friday night, before work, I leave the kitchen clean. In fact, this past Friday it was clean AND I left a lovely stew cooking in the crock pot so that Adrian didn’t even have to make supper.

When I came home Friday night the kitchen looked like this:

Miscellaneous 9886

This – drove – me – crazy! I’m not saying that I never mess up the kitchen, but Adrian is the not the one to clean up afterwards. So, I was determined not to clean up this time.

Saturday night after work the kitchen looked the same. So, I told him I thought it was ridiculous that I have to come home to that mess knowing I was expected to clean it up. He simply said, Okay. Sunday morning J and I went grocery shopping, and when we came home the kitchen was STILL a mess.

So, I surrendered, cleaned up, and then left this note:

Miscellaneous 9949

I added the photo because for some reason Adrian doesn’t know what a clean kitchen should like. I say “for some reason” because I do clean up from time to time! 

Last weekend when I came from work to a messy kitchen he proudly said, “Look! We cleaned up!” Huh? “Where?” I asked. “Well, we put our dishes away”.  😯

Thankfully, the photo DID seem to help. It wasn’t perfect but close enough to make me happy.

I’m keeping this note in a file for future use.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Plight of the Messy Kitchen

  1. Dawn says:

    I feel your pain. I did experience that once, as you have already heard. It wasn’t as bad after that time, but still it is so frustrating. I think you were effective in your pursuit of a clean kitchen.

  2. giveitatry says:

    It is always good to define your expectations!

  3. Heather says:

    It’s funny how mom’s expectations are always different from everyone elses!

    Last Saturday I did a scouting thing for Jeremy since he wanted to stay home. Since there was someone we knew stopping by later he had to clean up the kitchen. Well *SHOCK* he REALLY cleaned it! He cleaned the whole stove top and took apart all the burners. What a rare treat!! Other days it’s just a bonus to get the dirty dish to the sink or dishwasher.

    Love your note! Hope your fam gets the hint!! 🙂

  4. Janet T. says:

    That is hilarious! Good job! I wonder if it would work in my house?

  5. Debbie says:

    I am so stealing your idea. This cracked me up. I hate anyone who messes up my kitchen and then leaves the mess to clean up. 😀

  6. Joy T. says:

    Well at least your husband doesn’t want an award or trophy or something for doing the dishes. Because mine? He wants an award or trophy or something for doing the smallest littlest thing around the house. He doesn’t get it of course, but he sure does want it.

  7. robinellablog says:

    Yeah, my hub thinks putting dishes in the sink is cleaning up. My thoughts are, okay, you removed the dishes from the table, you rinsed them off (points for this) but that extra step of bending slightly to the right and dropping them in the dishwasher was going to far??? I’m with you on this bit. Work or no work. Who cooked anyway, right?

  8. my4kids says:

    I love the note. It wouldn’t really work here either. The hubby would have done the same thing and thought it was the same if just the dishes were put away.

  9. philosophyoflife says:

    Hope the note – did the trick 😉

    Alas, I have no one else to blame for the plight of my kitchen 😳

    Pipe ash – does get everywhere 😉

Leave a Reply

