Pre-Guy Fawkes Post

We’re gearing up for annual Guy Fawkes party this weekend.  We have a huge bonfire and fireworks. 

Saturday will be busy because there is a lot of setting up to do.  Adrian puts up his outfitter’s tent with the wood burning stove so that there is a warm retreat.  I make a large chili and we put it in there as well along with hot drinks.

On Friday we’ll be making the Guy Fawkes effigy that we throw onto the fire.  🙂  Cheery celebration, heh?  It is fun, though.  Last year, we even think the spirit of Guy came to visit?  You never knowwww.  

We started doing this party the first year we moved out to the acreage (11 yrs ago), and it’s just grown and grown.  So, look for Guy Fawks photos on Sunday or Monday!

Now to tie up some loose ends:

Robinella and a few others asked about the word “acreage” on a previous post.  Dawn and Sirdar were kind enough to offer explanations in the comments section, but I thought that I’d post them here for curious readers:

Dawn said:

For those who are not Canadian, I will answer before Debbie and say it is a portion of land in the country usually in a subdivision, and is usually 1 or more acres and less than 160 (a quarter section), in which case it would be called a farm.  Some people with 40 acres or 80 acres may call their place a farm or hobby farm if they have a farm set up.  For instance, if they have cows, chickens or horses or if they do some crop on their property.  Sometimes people with larger pieces of land will rent out the field to farmers.”

And Sirdar said:

And to add to Dawn’s answer about the word acreage, I’m not sure if there is a number of acres that takes it from an acreage to a hobby farm.  We have 7.2 acres.  That is still called an acreage.  If we did the metric thing, it would be called a hectarerage. It just doesn’t have the same effect…. :-)”

So there you have it.  We live on 4.7 acres of land.  So, it’s an acreage. 

And thanks, Heather, for the suggestion about the black light!  I’m kind of scared to use it, though.  Our dog pees in the basement sometimes.  I THINK we catch her most of the time, but we’re not sure.  Heather says using a black light will make the pee stains show up.  And I’m not sure I do want to know.  Yes, I do.  No, I don’t.

Regarding my pics from the prevous post.  They are nice.  But, it totally sounded like I was vying for compliments when I said that they weren’t as pretty as I wanted them to be.  That wasn’t my intention!  Eek.  No.   Never.  That’s like finger nails down a chalk board to me.  So, thanks for the compliments, but I was just meaning that I want to learn more photography skills.  Thazit.  😀

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Guy Fawkes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pre-Guy Fawkes Post

  1. giveitatry says:

    You are so humble. The pictures were great!

    That must be some subdivision. Where I live the biggest lots in a subdivision are just one acre. We live in a 70’s subdivision with quarter acre lots. There are lots of trees so I don’t see much of my neighbors.

  2. robinellablog says:

    Thanks for more clarification. I love the different words we use depending where we live. Heck even in the US it varies from state to state.

  3. my4kids says:

    Hmm I can understand your thing with the black light. I don’t think I could do it either. We don’t have carpet in our house now but I know if previous houses we have and since other people lived in them before us I really dont think I’d want to find out just how bad it was!
    Your pictures were good and it didn’t sound like you were looking for compliments. I love the snow and I find it hard not to look at one and say its pretty. I did however love the one with the cat though. Really they were good pictures. I do know what you mean though.
    I’d figured that about the acreage thing but wasn’t sure. I knew it meant you had land and figured it meant at least and acre but thanks for clarifying what it meant.

  4. Sirdar says:

    Looking forward to Guy Fawkes night.

  5. Dawn says:

    I am with Sirdar, we are all looking forward to the event. As to Giveitry’s comment, we have subdivisions like that too, usually closer to a town, or in the town or city, but I think they are called lots. I don’t know if I would want to know either, and we don’t have carpet so it should be easier to clean up, if one is a Crime scene janitor.

  6. philosophyoflife says:

    Your photography skills – enable us to enjoy such delightful photo’s….

    You can be PROUD of your achievements 😛

Leave a Reply

