Men in Black, Grey, Blue or Pinstriped

Suits.  Salesmen/women in suits, specifically.  I don’t know what my problem is with them, but I don’t want them in my house!!  And they’re a necessary evil.  If you want life insurance you’ve gotta have a suit come visit your home and sit at your table.  And you have to give them coffee or tea, and talk to them about the family, and be nice.  Bla!  Same thing goes if you want to manage your investments and have a nicely balanced “portfolio”.  Want an RESP to secure your kids’ education?  Another suit.  Even if you want a vacuum.  Another damn suit.

I have a suit coming on Sunday.  My mom, who was very nice to think of us, gave the guy our name for some free insurance.  Free.  Now that’s a good deal, right?  I just wish we could do it through email or something because even though the suit says it’ll only take twenty minutes ya just know he’ll be sitting here for an hour. 

I don’t even like how they talk.  All smooth and salesmen-ish. 

I think it comes from my childhood.  (Ohhhh, the childhood is always to blame in’t it??)  My parents constantly had men in suits in the house, and they were always buying the next best thing from them.  My favourite was the Sodamatic.  A nifty machine with which you could make your very own pop.  It came with special bottles and different syrups depending on what kind of pop you wanted to make.  You put the syrup and water in the bottle, and then put the bottle in the machine for carbonation.  It was fun, actually.  The taste was…not like pop, really.  But it WAS fun.  I wonder if they still have it.  Now that’d be a great science experiment with the kids.

Where was I?  Oh yeah.  Suits.  Maybe if they came in jeans and a t-shirt I wouldn’t despise them so much…naaaah.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Men in Black, Grey, Blue or Pinstriped

  1. Sirdar says:

    Ya, suits are a necessary evil at times. Even vacuum cleaner salesmen wear suits. Fortunately we don’t have to worry about them anymore.

    I remember those machines that you describe. Never had one, but knew people who did. One even had one in their car.

  2. my4kids says:

    I’m not a big fan of people in suits either.

  3. philosophyoflife says:

    I do all my insurance over the internet and much less hastle and even no signatures – much easier.

    In this day of modern technology, I would have thought it more cost effective for insurance companies etc to follow this method.

    At least no men in white coats yet 😯

  4. Dawn says:

    I hate those appointments too. A necessary evil at times, but a pain none the less. I agree with philosophyoflife, “at least no men in white coats yet”. Of course too many men in suits, could lead to a couple in white coats.

  5. robinellablog says:

    Just be glad they aren’t in THOSE suits with a special one for you.

  6. giveitatry says:

    Suits don’t really bother me unless they fit the salesman poorly.

    The sodamatic sound interesting…I have never heard of it.

  7. Emma says:

    I thought that was an English thing only. My aunt had it and I loved it every time we went over. Though the coke…a little bit on the store brand side.

  8. Joy T. says:

    Wow. I read sodamatic REALLY wrong. And that’s all I’m going to say about that! I was thinking about all the fun you were having tonight at your party. Don’t give up on the invites because one of these years I swear I/we will make it!

Leave a Reply

