Hump Day

It’s day 15.  Middle of NaBloPoMo.  Hump day!  And it sure feels like it.  I wasn’t inspired this morning so I thought I’d wait awhile, hoping something would come to me but nothing has, I’m afraid.  Must be because we’ve just been home the last two days.  Bear with me while I babble on about what we’ve been doing at home… 

We’ve been homeschooling.  R is beginning to learn multiplication which is fun, and J has finally found her groove with math.  It was a real struggle teaching her at the start of the year.  She just didn’t seem to understand anything.  But the struggle, for now, is behind us and she’s having fun, which makes it fun for me as well.

The kids both enjoy doing Story of the World, which is what we’re doing for Social Studies.  They love to listen to the story part while they complete the colouring pages included with the curriculum.  I need to get a bit better organized to make sure I have the craft supplies on hand needed for the projects suggested with each chapter.  But even without the extra projects I’m amazed at how much of the information they retain.

After we finish school I usually take a small break for myself to unwind.  Today, I took the time to finish the book I’ve been reading.  Ohhh, it was a good one.  The Other Boleyn Girl.  Set in the 1500’s during King Henry VIII reign, the story is about Anne Boleyn’s sister, Mary.  Full of intrigue, the book held me captivated from start to finish.  But now I’m sad because it’s finished.  I am soo going to go out and get this author’s other books.

Next I set about to tackling my basement.  I’ve been working on it the last couple of days.  It’s badly in need of organization.  I’ve got a huge pile of stuff that needs to be donated away or just plain tossed away.  By the way, I am not a skilled organizer.  When I put things away, it just looks all jumbled.  Inevitably, Adrian comes along and re-does everything.  I stand there watching, and thinking: “Huh.  I never thought of putting it like that.  Wow, that DOES work better”.  So, this has been a bit of tiring experience for me.  But fun, too, when I come across old photos or mementos.  Which then delays the cleaning process because I find myself sitting down on the nearest box travelling back in time while I leaf through a stack of pictures.  It was an odd feeling staring into my 19 year old eyes – my children not even a glint – and marvelling at everything that young girl has yet to experience.

Then the phone rang, and I got a welcome reprieve.  Unfortunately, while you’re in the midst of cleaning the place looks like a bigger mess.  Piles of things to be put in boxes, other piles to be put in garbage bags, and yet more piles to still sort through.  And that’s the way it sits now.  I just know that this is the time the gas meter guy will decide to show up and need to come down to my basement.  It’s always the way. 

Adrian just called to say that he’s going out for supper with his bosses from work.  Which means…I don’t have to cook supper!!!  Hoorah.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hump Day

  1. Janet T. says:

    I was beginning to wonder if you were going to post today….:-)

    That book sounds really good. I love historical fiction.

  2. Sirdar says:

    Ya…today was a tough posting day for me too. Guess what I posted about….the weather!!! Honestly, I did not read your last post before doing that.

  3. Pamela says:

    I was just over at A Spot of T, and she was talking about organization, too.

    I think I’ll go arrange my utensil drawer, ho hum…..

  4. philosophyoflife says:

    Sounds really interesting your post with a topic on ‘daily life’… See you can write a post… And remember only (15) days to go 😆

    A great idea of “Story of the World” … sounds fun too 😛

    Alas when you said your Adrian was “eating out” and you did not have to “cook supper” – does that mean that the poor ‘wee ones’ – would have to go to bed without supper 😥

  5. philosophyoflife says:

    Just noticed on the “Story of the World” site they have a book titled “Ancient World”..

    Save you some money – just ask your neighbour ‘Dawn’ – she fits the criteria beautifully 😉

  6. robinellablog says:

    I’ll have to check out that book. I love historical fiction too.

    We also use SOTW. We listen to the cds in the car.

  7. Steffi says:

    Really interesting post of your daily life,Debbie.I enjoyed to read it.

  8. Emma says:

    I keep looking at that book, bought haven’t bought it yet. I think you’ve sold me!

    My basement is a huge mess. I’m going to do a before and after post.

  9. Dawn says:

    Our kids are reading SOTW too. I think I would like the book you read also as I like historical fiction. I know what you mean about the basement, well we used to have one, but the same holds true for other areas in our house.

Leave a Reply

