Waaa waa waa. ;)

Yesterday was…not a great day. I got mad at the kids. Not just a little mad, but feeling-guilty-later kinda mad. It began with homeschooling.

We started late. 10:00 am rather than 9:00 am. And that’s because I was on here. Reading blogs. 🙂 When I came up (my computer is in the basement) the kids were playing play-dough at the table. I announced that they needed to clean up because it was time to start school and they responded with much whining and complaining. Now. I know what you Unschoolers are thinking. Why not just let them keep playing play dough? While they were whining and carrying-on, this thought crossed my own mind. In their own way they were learning a lot through this imaginative kind of play. BUT, I had already told them to stop and I went through this power struggle in my head. I couldn’t back down in response to their whining…even if I had wanted to. I just can’t set that kind of precedent. Not to mention that they’d already gotten an extra hour of play. It’s also not like we do school all day. They get plenty of playtime. And now was the time to do school, damn it!!

J, conveniently had to go to the bathroom at that point, and R was crying because he had to clean up the play-dough, and I…well I lost it a bit. After I had a small tantrum and then a breather we met at the table and started school. We were in better spirits by then so the lessons themselves went fine. But then on and off through-out yesterday (and today, frankly) the kids have been pushing my buttons. I just don’t have the patience for them right now. They’re arguing, being competitive with each other, and demonstrating defiance to me. I need a breather!

And I’m tired. And do you know why I’m tired? I snore. There. I said it. It’s embarrassing. I don’t snore in a dainty way. In Adrian’s words, it’s like a chain saw going in the night. I’ve snored my whole life but not always this badly. Three years ago I put on some weight, and now I snore like a big old fat guy. It’s not fair! Adrian’s bigger than me and he barely snores at all.

I know it’s effecting my sleep. I need to go to the doctor and get one of those sexy breathing machines that stop you from snoring. I keep putting it off, though, because I think I’m going to lose weight soon. But it ain’t happening.

Let’s see. What else can I complain about? Oh yeah! My house feels outta control at the moment, too.

Sniffle.  😥

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waaa waa waa. ;)

  1. Janet T. says:

    Sorry you’re having a bad time of it…..some days can be just plain CRAPPY! We all “get” it….hang in there….it’ll get better soon. And if it doesn’t, there’s always chocolate…..

  2. Dawn says:

    I think it is partly the weather. If we would just get some snow already, and some bright sunshine in between, I think people would have a cheerier outlook. J said the other day, if didn’t snow soon, she is going to leave the country. It snowed the next night, but not enough. I have been feeling the same way, and rather run down. Today I was at the kids for not doing enough. I am with you on your decision to have them quit with the play dough, I would have done the same thing. Today was feeling a little crappy for me too. I had done some laundry and work on the computer not blogging, but I still felt crappy. At 3 I put a roast in the oven, and got our family reading book out about Frank Slide, and we read for 1 and a half hours. I got a chocolate coffee in that time, and now I am feeling a little out of my funk. I will be making supper in a couple of minutes and will hopefully get a few more things done. Tomorrow I am out again.

  3. robinellablog says:

    Oh Debbie~I know! Get those little strips like the football (american) players wear. My hubby bought them and they did help a bit. You may also want to try propping yourself on a pillow so you are slightly on your side and slightly on your back. BN only snores when he is flat on his back.

    I’m with you on the school. I want to unschool so badly but not everyone is onboard with that. I have to fight to start school everyday! I think if Pete was an independent reader and liked to read, unschooling would be an easy choice, but until then, we’ll keep plugging away. Hang in there, I’m here for ya! 🙂

  4. giveitatry says:

    Ah Debbie – I agree with Robinella – try the strip thingys until you feel like you want to go to the doc to get the breathing machine thing. I know people who have the breathing machine thing and they love it. They say they have never felt better…it might be worth it.

  5. Maria says:

    I agree with Dawn, it’s gotta be the weather, ’cause we’ve been feeling the same way around here. The kids have been whining and fighting and jumping on furniture, I feel like sleeping all day and am always cold, and even my dh this evening pulled out the Halloween stash and said “I just can’t help myself, I have no self control right now, and I can bearly drag myself out of bed in the morning” and he sat down and ate chocolate — this from a guy who usually walks his dogs at 5:30 every morning.

    And you don’t want to see the condition of my house right now, and I’ve put on 30lbs in the last four years — sniff

  6. philosophyoflife says:

    😦 You have my sympathy – it seems as if we are all waiting for something 😯

    Alas, I have no one to whine against – being alone 😦

    So I pick on Dawn – well somebody has to be in the firing line – right 😉

  7. Joy T. says:

    Sooo many blogs I’m reading now where people are in a funk. I really do think it must be the weather/season. Maybe once December hits and the twinkling lights of Christmas start appearing and the white fuffy snow appears and…I know…shut up Joy. But this too shall pass and soon J and R will be laughing and giggling and hugging and….I know….shush Joy 🙂 You hang in there. It’s a funky time of year and a whole lot of people are feeling the same funk. The good news is there’s no where to go but up in this kind of funk!

  8. Sirdar says:

    Sorry to hear that you are in a “mood” with the kids. I understand completely though.

    As for the breathing machine…it is mostly for Sleep Apnea. That can make you very tired. I’ve had mine since 1995. I am thinking of getting one of those new ones that self adjust. I found the strip didn’t do much for me. However, it might help with snoring. Give it a shot…if it works great. If not, you are not out the $1000 to $2000 for a machine.

  9. my4kids says:

    I’ve kind of been in a funk myself lately but i thinkk it’s partly the holiday season starting and knowing we are away from our families for the first year.
    I would have done the same about the play dough thing, though making them stop when told.
    I’d love to do the unschooling thing but hubby wouldn’t be on board about that and I don’t think it would work with Izzak and his disabilities siince he really has no desire to read.

Leave a Reply

