The Weekend

Whew. Sorry about the rudeness on my last post. Short and to the point or what. I was feeling better last night so I was hoping to write a longer post but as soon as I looked at the computer screen I got an instant headache.

What’s funny when you’re sick is that life doesn’t stop. You know? You still have appointments and obligations.

Yesterday I went to Costco with my mom and J. I bought something for R last weekend for $70.00. We found out that it went on coupon for $50.00 just for this weekend, and if we brought our receipt in we could get the difference back. So, I just had to go into the city and get that done. And if I’m in Costco I might as well buy a few things right? I mean, that’s how Costco works. I got myself a nice big poinsettia for my table. And those fuzzy socks were on coupon too, so I had to get me some of those.

We went for lunch afterwards but that took longer than expected because it was so busy in town! T’is the season. Busy busy and cranky people who don’t like to wait in line. Anyone who lives in this city knows that all of the stores are short staffed yet they’re still surprised that they have to wait in line! It’s even been advertised on the news: Get your shopping done early because the stores will have a hard time meeting the Christmas rush. There’s a sign posted at Tim Horton’s that says: “Please, be nice to our staff – we have hard enough time keeping them.” How sad that some people need a sign to tell them to be nice! Everyone should work in the service industry at least once in their lives so that they know what it’s like. Then maybe they wouldn’t be such a%$holes.

In the afternoon I had a appointment to get my hair cut. My friend, L, does my hair and we’ve been trying for weeks to get our schedules to match up so that I couldn’t cancel. I’ve been looking forward to it, too, because I felt like getting a big change. And ohhhhhhhh did I ever get a change. I have a nice short bob, and it’s……..red! Yeah baby. You’ll see me comin’! I’m still shocked every time I look in the mirror but I’m sure I’ll get used to it. Actually this morning, in the bright light of my bathroom mirror, the colour looks a bit more orange than red. So, we might have to do some adjusting. Can you do that I wonder? Add colour on top of colour? I’ll have to ask L.

J was with me while I was getting my hair done so she saw the whole process while it was happening. Adrian and R, on the other hand, were away for the whole day. Adrian seemed to like my hair when he first saw it, although he couldn’t resist calling me carrot top. R just stared at me. I asked him what he thought, and he said, “You don’t look like my mommy.” Awww. I told him that he’ll get used to it.

Today J and I worked the bake/craft sale for the Junior Forest Wardens at our local community hall. It was a nice event and we made a little money for our program.

And that’s my weekend. How was yours?

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Weekend

  1. Janet T. says:

    Mine was great until tonight. When we were getting ready for church and my son crawled onto the couch and told me he was sick. Peeeeachy keen.

    Glad you like your hair! Can’t wait to see it tomorrow night!

  2. robinellablog says:

    I bet your hair looks great. I have toyed with changing my color and would love to try red. I already have these crazy wiry auburn hairs scattered throughout, so it should look natural on me. One day.

  3. Dawn says:

    I am looking forward to seeing your hair tomorrow morning. I haven’t coloured my hair yet. I will be cheap until I have enough grey hair that people can see it, which I am guessing is the case with that old guy that comments on your blog, not mentioning any names. Perhaps if he boiled his hair, it would be less grey. Nah, it probably would help him.
    Anyway, see you tomorrow.

  4. Joy T. says:

    Oh I can’t wait to see it!! I went from my very grey hair to quite dark so the next time we meet we just might walk right past each other LOL I bet red looks really good on you with your skin coloring. Glad to see you’re feeling better 🙂

  5. bergerac says:

    Now do you not feel at all ‘GUILTY’ 😳

    After all, here we all were concerned for your well being and at not being able to come over to view our blogs 😳

    And all the while you were 😯 shopping, dining, and to top it all 😯 a “carrot top” 😯

    Now someone will have to find a good excuse for not popping over to view me thinks 😳

  6. philosophyoflife says:

    As for the comments from the ‘Rocking Chair in Edmonton’ – grey hair is a sign of distinction – especially when it goes with a grey beard 😆

  7. G says:

    HeyTHERE you are!
    I was looking for you while I was doing my laundry and cleaning up on Saturday.
    I wish you’d post a picture of your haircut so I could get a visual….I bet it looks good.
    Right now I’m eating the salad that won’t end, tried to call you on my cell but I need to change the battery.
    Take care
    Love
    G

  8. Sirdar says:

    Dawn was telling me about your red hair. Look forward to seeing it.

Leave a Reply

