Just in Time

AGAIN, I’m getting this post published just in time. Sheesh.

I just got back from a homeschooler’s support group meeting. It was an interesting one where a lady gave a lecture on Phonemic Awareness. She talked about about breaking words apart by their sounds rather then by the letters. She also spoke about the shapes your mouth makes when voicing various phonetic sounds. It’s just another way to really bring home the concepts of sounds home to your children. She incorporates the use of a mirror so that you watch while you say words. I was already aware of some of the information she was teaching but some was new – like the mouth shape thing. I enjoyed the presentation.

After the meeting some of us went to Tim Horton’s for coffee. I’m new to the group, but this is becoming my favourite part of these monthly meetings. Dawn goes to them as well and gives me a lift. Janet from Tuininga Treasures attends too, which has given me a great opportunity to stalk her 😉 get to know her better.

Miscellaneous 9952

Here’s our cat, Max, having a snooze on J’s bed. What a cutie. 🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just in Time

  1. Dawn says:

    How did I know you were going to have a post up here now so I would be first to comment? That is a great photo of Max. It was an informative meeting and a fun coffee time. See you tomorrow.

  2. Pamela says:

    the cat picture has such lovely colors… it would paint beautifully

  3. philosophyoflife says:

    Wow, amazing photo of ‘Max’

    At least the birds can now relax 😉

  4. bbZuSh says:

    Oh my goddddd! He is shoooooooooo cuteeee! Meow 😛

  5. robinellablog says:

    Our group meets at Barnes and Noble and it a favorite activity here too.

  6. philosophyoflife says:

    In the next life – I am coming back as a cat 😛

    Although, then again I don’t fancy sitting up a tree – all night 😦

  7. Janet T. says:

    That is ONE cute kitty! i have always loved orange kitties….:-)

    I had a good time at the meeting too…very interesting stuff….the tea was fun too!

  8. Joy T. says:

    Awww on Max hugging his little buddy there! Sounds like everyone had fun. It’s the one thing I miss about the kids being older now. Moms getting together and discussing and visiting.

  9. Sirdar says:

    Max look pretty relaxed 🙂

    Dawn loves going to Tim Horton’s after that meeting. I’ve gone a few times too and visited with Janice F’s husband.

  10. Steffi says:

    That´s a really cute picture! Sorry my late comment but I am so busy at the moment!

Leave a Reply

