It’s a Matter of Conscience

Fricken, fracken, #%^%*%*^%$$^%$$#%$#^%&!!!!

Yes, I missed a day of NaBloPoMo. By 30 minutes!!!

I woke up at 12:30 am for a pee, and when I was settling back in bed, just about to drift off into sleepy land, my eyes popped open. And I remembered. Then for the next half hour I lay in bed grappling with my conscience.

11472-6

 Angel Debbie: Sigh. Oh well. It’s just a silly computer thing. Nothing to get worked up over.
Devil Debbie: Go down, write a post, and just set the time back when you publish it.
Angel Debbie: Nooooo. That’s not honest.
Devil Debbie:  Honest – Shmonest.  You know you want to.
Angel Debbie:  No, no, no. It wouldn’t be right.
Devil Debbie: No one will know.
Angel Debbie: I’LL know! And it really doesn’t matter.
Devil Debbie:  Yes it matters!  You want to be perfect don’t you?
Angel Debbie:  No.  No one’s perfect.
Devil Debbie:  But YOU can be, and it just starts with posting every single day in the month of November.  You don’t want people to think you can’t even do that…do youuuu? 
Angel Debbie:  Oh Shut-up Devil Debbie!!!  GO AWAY!

What can I say? Angel Debbie won, as she always does. Damn her!  😉

But I still couldn’t sleep.  This is what blogging has reduced me to.  Sitting up at 1:00 in the morning typing – freezing in my pjays down here in the basement.  And now I have that gaping black number on my calendar to remind me – from now on – that I missed a day of NaBloPoMO during the very-last-few-days. 😦 Last week, I was sick as a dog and STILL I managed to get my posts in. This week. Just forgetfulness. Bleh.

Grrrrrrrrr!

Oh.  What-evverrrrrr.

I’mmmm breezy.  🙄

😥

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s a Matter of Conscience

  1. Carla says:

    It happens to the best of us. A couple weeks ago, I was so busy that I missed a very important meeting that I had an obligation to be at. It completely slipped my mind. Simply too many things on my plate. In any case, I’ll still come around and read 😉

  2. Dawn says:

    I am so sorry I didn’t call you at 11:00 last night and bug you. I will be a better friend in the future. I thought perhaps you were working on it, and thought I wouldn’t bug you. Now, I have the little voices in my head saying “why didn’t you call?” and all the other dumb things that go along with it. Oh well, there is always next year to prove you can do it.

  3. philosophyoflife says:

    I feel guilty too 😦 Cos you responded to my posts and now if only you had spent time on your your own post – this would not have happened 😦

    I could add a few days to your vocabulary – in Gaelic…

  4. Janet T. says:

    That’s it! I’m calling the NABLa Mo or whatever nazis and telling them that you didn’t do it. Then you’ll go to NaBloMo jail and you’ll have to do 20 posts a day……mmmmmwwwwwwaaaaaaahhhhhhhhaaaaaaaahhhhhhhaaaa
    aaaaaa

  5. robinellablog says:

    I keep hitting that Logout button next to the comment box and I am getting very very upset about it!

    Okay, I’m better. I’m not rewriting the whole comment I wrote because it was lengthy, but let me just say that I doubt there are many people who haven’t cheated. I future post every night because I don’t have time during the day to write and I want to make sure the post is up and running on time. Which now that I think about it doesn’t really make sense, because I could just as easily be writing the same day at 11pm and still it’ll be up and running for the next days viewing.

    Hang on, I’m confused and I am a cheater. I never win drawings anyway. I say backdate just so you have have all blue days. It so matches your background color.

  6. giveitatry says:

    Bummer. I say that only because it happened so late in the month. (sh)It happens. I have posted faithfully and I am not sure why.

  7. Janet T. says:

    Debbie….you coming to my PC party tomorrow night (that stands for Pampered Chef, not Progressive COnservative…..:-)) Maybe you and “The Dawnster” could come together……we’ll try to get her “happy dance” on tape…..

  8. bbZuSh says:

    Awww… it happens… 🙂 Don’t be so depressed about it 🙂

  9. Heather says:

    Ahh that stinks!

    Maybe you could do 2 the last day for make-up??? 🙂

  10. philosophyoflife says:

    I agree with Heather – I think that is a great idea 🙂

  11. Sirdar says:

    Sorry to hear you missed a post. You were soooooo close too. Oh well….next year!!

  12. Steffi says:

    I agree with Heather and Peter! NaBloPoMO is very exciting and it´s lot time to write every day in the blog. You can do it next year again ;O) !

  13. debsgr8r says:

    Sorry for the late comment, I’m only catching up on my reading now. But I loved this post. It reassures me that I’m not the only one battling the voices that constantly battle in my mind. Hmmm…only I usually have more than two voices…and my close friends call them the bi-polar sisters…who sometimes lock up the sane version debbie and take control…and uh…LOL, I think they may have taken over again. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

