Where’s My Christmas Spirit?

We don’t have our tree yet. We were supposed to go on Saturday with the JFW to cut one down, but it looks like it’s not going to happen.  Instead, we’ll have to do the traditional trip to the grocery store.

I love the smell of a fresh tree. And the needles aren’t THAT big of a deal. They vacuum up easily enough.

So, we don’t have our tree and I haven’t pulled out any other decorations either. I’m just not in the mood. My house is a mess and I don’t feel like doing anything about that either. It’s weird. I feel…nothing. Not happy. Not sad. Nor filled with excited anticipation like I usually do at this time of year.

Maybe it’s the no tree thing. I know Christmas trees are pagan and commercialized, but I love ’em. The twinkling lights make me feel all warm and happy inside.

You know what, though? I’ve been feeling this way for awhile now. Back in November this bla feeling folded itself around me and hasn’t let go. Don’t get me wrong. I do have periods of happiness. I recently went for coffee with Dawn and Joy. I had fun then. Lots of fun, in fact. I went to my friend G’s house for a jewelery party this past Saturday. That was fun. And she did reflexology on my hands which felt divine. Another day, I took the kids sledding, and then Dawn’s kids ended up coming along which meant I was freed up to hang out at her house and drink hot chocolate rather stand out in the cold. I enjoyed that time chatting and laughing. Watching Dawn put out her winter decorations. I started to feel a little in the spirit that day.

Hmmm. I’m seeing a pattern. Everytime I’m happy I’m with friends. Maybe I’m just lonely. I need to make more playdates…for myself!

I saw this card while I was searching Google for an image to fit my mood.

c mousefriend

So, I dedicate this to my friends.  Thank-you.  🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Where’s My Christmas Spirit?

  1. Heather says:

    I think Winter sometimes can bring out the blahhhhs. Especially when it is DARK all the time like here!

    It’s great you have Dawn so close to you to do things with! I miss having a close neigbor. My neighbors scare me.

    Get a tree soon! It’s so fun to relax by the Christmas tree and it smells so good in the house. I really don’t mind the needles either. It’s just part of the tree experience. 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    Love the mouse card! Cute!

  3. Debbie says:

    Your right, Heather. We’ve gotta get on the tree thing.
    And I’m very lucky to have Dawn as a neighour. We’ve been neighbours for 7+ years and it’s only been in the last 2 that we’ve gotten to know each other. Weird. But that’s life sometimes.

    Actually now that I think about it – I THINK it’s blogging that kinda brought us closer. It started with her husband Sirdar. It helped to break the ice because even though we’d only met once in person, we were getting to know each other quite well through our blogs. I think that’s pretty cool. 🙂

  4. G says:

    2 weeks, girl. that’s it….then it’s over. 14 days to grab that spirit. Go back and watch that ‘free hugs’ video, you’ll be gettin’ some then.

    Buy a tree, eat some chocolate, decorate over ‘the mess’ and drink some eggnog (maybe with a little spiced rum), invite me over and we’ll get there:) Ha Ha.
    G

  5. robinellablog says:

    It’s probably a combo of the winter SAD and needing “me” time. As a fulltime stay at home mother and teacher, you NEED it. Take it, girlfriend.

  6. Janet T. says:

    I agree with Robinella…..I think for your “me” time, you, me, and Dawn should go out for nachos….SOON! Are you in?

  7. Debbie says:

    Sweet G – Good advice as usual. And I hope we can get together again before Christmas.

    Roninella – I will!! 😀

    Janet – I am SO in.

  8. Sirdar says:

    Hope you start feeling happy again. Glad you have some people near you that you can feel happy about. I think I need to find some people near me to do the same……

  9. Dawn says:

    It is great to have blog buddies close and neighbours who are friends. I think that the schedule can get a person feeling a little blah. I was so happy there was no phys ed tonight. I got a bunch of papers organized, and I baked the cookie dough I had in the freezer. I am glad drum is over for a few weeks and bells will be done this week and next Tuesday is the last piano for a couple of weeks. Of course we are filling in the spaces with other things like friends and family and J has driver training too. It is going to be busy again, but with different things. You have lots to look forward to, like nachos, and then coffee again in January, besides the holidays. As soon as the days start getting longer it gets better too. And I won’t be out as much in the next couple weeks, so there is always coffee over here so the kids can sled.

  10. Steffi says:

    I know what you feeling and I wish I had such neighbours like you and Dawn & Sirdar. Unfortunately I live here in a big city and it´s sad to say the most neighbours I don´t know!I wish I can move!I wish I can live more in a little town.
    That´s why I am after my work the most time alone. But it´s nice to have blog friends.Thank you!

    I love christmas tree´s. The lights is very nice and warm.

  11. Joy T. says:

    Aww what a cute card. I hear a lot of people say the same thing. Not sad, not happy, just kind of going through the motions. It has to be the time of year if so many people are feeling it. I think anyway. Now get out and eat some Nacho’s with your good friends and all will be right with the world again! 🙂

  12. bergerac says:

    Hope you are now in the Festive Spirit 😛

    A Christmas Tree is a must – even my wee tree is proudly displayed with lights and decorations 🙂

    I agree – you need more time out with your friends – although with the 👿 Dawn – might be questionable – just wear sunglasses as you arrive and leave the location 😳

  13. Emma says:

    I totally know that feeling!

Leave a Reply

