Gettin’ Er Done

I actually read everyone who is on my blogroll.  I’m caught up!  Whoo hooo.  Of course, some of you haven’t posted yet.  But at this moment in time, I’m caught up.  And it’s only 8:20 am.  No guilt yet from ignoring the kids.  I might even emerge from the basement before 9 am.  And I won’t have a numb bum from sitting for two hours.  Numb bum.  I love saying that!  hee hee.  I got it from Joy, I think, awhile ago.

So, in my last post I was complaining – again – about my messy house.  I did manage to tackle my basement yesterday.  It’s looking really good.  Don’t ya love that feeling of walking into a recently cleaned room that previously was a complete tip?  Please, say that some of you can relate.  If not a whole room, then perhaps a closet.  Or a cupboard.  At any rate, I feel happy whenever I turn the light on and walk in the room.  Of course, my front entrance-way is now a tip because of all the bags and boxes I’ve gotta take out to the van.  I will get to that today.  I WILL!

A friend and her children are coming over after lunch for sledding.  She’s new to homeschooling this year and is feeling low because she hasn’t been able to get out as much as she would’ve liked.  And she’s stressed because she thinks they’re falling behind in their studies.  

Her and I think about homeschooling a little differently.  She’s very focused on what gets accomplished while I’m trying to get away from that.  I want to focus more on my children’s enjoyment of what they’re learning.  I want to foster that love and excitement for learning.  It’s hard some days because I get insecure that they’re falling behind “school” kids.  So, I try my best to find a balance and definitely not panic if they need more time on a concept or even if we veer away from it entirely. 

Who’s to say which way is “right” though?  We all do what we think is best for our kids.

Anyway, I find that my “words of wisdom – HA!” don’t help her very much.  I want to say: Slowwww down.  Don’t worry about it.  But that would just stress her out even more.  She was still trying to drill a concept into her son at 8:00 last night!  So, instead, I said:  Why not get outta the house, give math a break, and come sledding with us?  So she is!

After sledding the kids and I have to go into the city and pick Adrian up.  His vehicle has been acting up for a couple of weeks.  He’s taken it into the shop twice now.  Each time they think they’ve fixed it, but it turns out they haven’t.  What a pain. 

This reminds me that I better get something going in the crock pot.  We’ll be busy all afternoon and then not home until 5 pm or so. 

On that note, I better go.  Whoo hoo.  8:37 am.  Gotta be a record.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Gettin’ Er Done

  1. Pamela says:

    “numb bum” is a keeper. Sounds like a great name for a blog.

    Most of the home schoolers I’ve met are far more advanced and study more things than kids in public school.

  2. Joy T. says:

    LOL Pamela’s “great name for a blog” LOL I get numb bum a lot sitting at this computer. And since I have a really big bum, that’s a whole lotta numb in one place.

    Glad to hear things are coming along and YES I can relate. My house is still upside down and I’m slowly plugging away at it. I’m also threatening everyone within an inch of their lives that if they put something down they had better be picking it up. Give me 12 days people, just 12 days of picking up after yourselves!

  3. robinellablog says:

    Numb Bum *snicker*

    I started taking it easy during my first year home schooling, but still have that uneasy feeling we aren’t
    “getting ‘er done”. So I set up a little schedule and we stick to it for about a day and a half and then I loosen up again. I mean it’s second grade, for goodness sakes.

  4. Dawn says:

    Wow, sounds like you are getting things done. I think I am, but I look around and it seems like ‘not so much’. I know in my head, but my eyes seem to be dismayed. Perhaps tomorrow will be a bit smoother. Glad you had some sled time today and I hope your friend can figure things out for her family so she is not so stressed.

  5. Sirdar says:

    Congrats on your success of getting the basement done. It must make you feel pretty good.

    Homeschooling is always an adventure. There is always that uneasiness in the back of your mind that questions if you are doing the right thing. But I think you have caught what is important. I know I would feel comfortable if my kids decided to go to “real” school. They would know how to learn and ask the right questions and that is very important. Remembering facts and figures is only for getting marks. Learning, and learning how to learn is way more important.

  6. debsgr8r says:

    As usual, I tend to advise based on how things used to be for me. And I remember (all those years ago) that I barely paid any attention is school. Even though I weasled enough to get into honors. I must’ve learned enough to get into college but honestly don’t remember much of high school studies. It wasn’t until college that I found anything interesting. And it is only because of college that I found beauty in poetry & writing, why I can grasp science & math and actually know enough of history to understand my roots.

    I say, teach the studies the best you can but know that the best lessons that are learned come from our parents/guardians and through our upbringing.

  7. Janet T. says:

    Um….EXCUSE ME? I just noticed that I am NOT on your blogroll! What is UP with that? Aren’t I cool enough for you. I mean, I know you play a mean game of soccer, but can’t I be cool just ONCE!!!

  8. Debbie says:

    Janet – Huh. I did not even notice that. Sorrrrry. Just an over sight. 😀 Hey! You’re in my Favourites, though. That’s good right? “Faaaaavourites” is better than “Blogroll” in’it?

    Okay. Yes mam. I’ll get on it. 😉

  9. bbZuSh says:

    Ah! I know what you mean. When I finally get to clean my room (which would be as messy as it was a few minutes later), I always feel this deep satisfaction =P

  10. Heather says:

    I’m glad to hear you are feeling more relaxed with homeschooling. It’s hard not to worry about getting enough done. The Holidays is horrible for us doing anything. With doing 3 Christmas parties at our house it is just not on my mind. I guess we are kind of on a break this week. Next week no parties so maybe we’ll get something done. I don’t worry too much for my 1st grader and 3rd grader but my 6th grader it worries me!

    I agree with Debsgr8r comment. I don’t remember much from highschool. I got great grades but I studied for all the tests and did what was required of me but I feel I didn’t learn anything. Now I truly learn things because I am interested. That is my goal with my kids when they spark an interest for something to learn as much as we can about it and then move onto the next thing and the next….that’s real learning.

  11. Heather says:

    Once again I should have read my comment before submitting…I *REALLY* am capable of homeschooling my children even though I can’t write correctly!!

  12. Melanie says:

    Hia Debbie, thanks for the link to another crafter’s site. There are days when I need all the inspiration I can find. So appreciated.

    Hey don’t be too hard on yourself over a messy house. You are a full time teacher as well as cook, cleaner, wife, mother, gardener, interior seasonal designer etc. and when you add up how many hours each task should take, you’ll realise there is a massive shortfall of day!

    You may be under the weather too- everyone I know has had something this Autumn. Look after yourself and take extra vitamins etc.

    Take Care,
    Melanie

  13. Sirdar says:

    Janet is bossy 😆

    Since you are fixing the blogroll…I’m just Sirdar, not Sirdar Inc. 🙂

  14. my4kids says:

    My house is a mess pretty much right now. I’d love to get it looking decent but since we are moving to another house in a couple of weeks it just doesn’t seem worth it at the moment.

    I lean more in the same direction as you when it comes to homeschooling. Izzak especially. Since he has had such bad experiences in public school I’m just trying to get him to like learning again. I’m not looking for anything special to show me is doing so much greater just seeing him enjoy learning is good enough for me. Did that make any sense? I really need to read and comment on blogs earlier in the day.

  15. bergerac says:

    Alas one’s rear posture – has a status 😆

    The joys of a clean home – perhaps one day I shall focus on the dusting – perhaps 😯

    Keep blogging 😛

Leave a Reply

