Happy New Year, Folks!

I hope you all had a safe and happy New Year’s Eve. 

We were just going to be hanging out at home but ended up getting invited next door along with another set of neighbours.  It was a great evening.  We started off by playing some Uno Extreme.  A fun version of the classic game of Uno that the kids got for Christmas this year.  Afterwards, we ate and ate some more.  The kids went and played, and considering there weren’t any other children present they were awesome.  I’m so proud of them.  Meanwhile, we adults stayed in the kitchen talking.

At midnight, we moved to the living room, drank some champagne and rung in the new year.  Talk briefly turned to resolutions.  One person’s list was fairly long which, actually, made me sad.  Yes, it’s valuable to look to the future and set goals, but I don’t think it’s good for us to focus only on what we want to change about ourselves.  Looking back on the year and acknowledging our accomplishments is just as valuable.  In a way a long list of resolutions just feels like I’m beating up on myself.  Especially, if I don’t succeed at fulfilling them. 

I prefer to make intentions.  Maybe it’s just semantics but the word “intention” feels different to me.  Stronger. 

I intend to keep focused and maintain a productive daily homeschool routine.

Intentions, actually, are something I like to do on a daily basis.  How do I intend to create my day?  When I do this I find my day goes smoothly and productively.  It’s not that my days are always bad when I don’t set out my intentions, I just tend to spend my time more re-actively rather than pro-actively.

Hey!  Here’s a good beginning of the year intention:

I intend to set intentions daily for what I – uh – intend to occur…intentionally.

Hmmmm.  Too much??  😉

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Happy New Year, Folks!

  1. bergerac says:

    May your intentions prove all the more intent – as the year releases its intentions on you….

    Great post and delighted you all enjoyed the evening.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND THE FAMILY 🙂

  2. Dawn says:

    Sounds like a good idea. I just do my intentions as I go, no resolutions here, but this might be a good year to get to the exercise. Happy New Year.

  3. Melanie says:

    Happy New year!

    Someone once said to me that it was more stressful reacting to situations all the time, than being proactive and being in control of the upcoming situation. Sounded good at the time. The trouble is that life is full of all those little toe stubbers (usually called children) that make you fall over just when you think you were sorted. LOL 🙂

    Hope the New Year is all you wished for,
    Melanie

  4. Heather says:

    Happy New Year….

    It’s good to have intentions… 🙂

  5. Joy T. says:

    Good resolution….I think LOL Happy New Year to you and your family!

  6. robinellablog says:

    Excellent! Love that “intent” line. Good Luck.

  7. Sirdar says:

    Glad you got out. If things weren’t planned on our end, we would have been with you. Glad you had a good time.

    Resolutions can be broken. Goals can be changed. Just need to make them realistic to work.

  8. Pamela says:

    so much healthier to think of goals and intentions. We set ourselves up for failure with those long lists.

  9. Janet T. says:

    My resolution…not to spy for the Russians anymore. When WILL they learn that the Cold War is OVER?!

  10. my4kids says:

    “I intend to set intentions daily for what I – uh – intend to occur…intentionally.”
    hehe rofl…………..:)!!

  11. beccy says:

    Intention is a much better word than resolution. Good luck with yours.

  12. Steffi says:

    A very Happy and healthy new year to you and your family too!

Leave a Reply

