5 Hours of Fun

These are the times that I’m glad my butt can go the distance.  Some people can’t sit for that long.  I say they need to just keep practicing because I think they’re missing out.  For instance, if I didn’t have the kind of butt that could withstand that kinda sitting then I wouldn’t have been able to enjoy visiting with three friends this past Thursday.  The friends in question?  Dawn, Joy, and Emma.  Three women that, like me, can sit for five hours.  Our butts might not have had much exercise but the same couldn’t be said for our voices.  Yack yack yack.  The best type of exercise if you ask me.  I wasn’t even stiff and sore the next day.

Last week (Wed, Thurs, Fri) I enrolled the kids in a day camp at the local zoo.  It was called “Junior Zoo Keepers” and they learned a bunch about taking care of the animals.  While they were off having fun all day I enjoyed some rare kid free time.  On Wednesday, after having a short coffee with a friend, I finally got my winter tires put on my van.  I’ve been trying to get it done for the last month, but they’ve been so booked up.  On Thursday, I had my coffee marathon with the aforementioned ladies.  What a superb way to spend a kid free day.  Then on Friday, I went for coffee AGAIN with a friend, for a much shorter time (yes, I am coffeed out) and then for lunch with a different friend to a Greek restaurant that serves the best calamari I’ve ever tasted.  Suffice it to say, I got several months worth of socializing done in three days.  Lucky me!

So the next time you think you should get up off the couch, look at this way.  Your doing important preparation for visiting with friends.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 5 Hours of Fun

  1. Chick says:

    So jealous! That must have been so fun to meet everyone.

  2. Joy T. says:

    LOL well I did get up to empty my very full bladder once…I bet that counts as exercise somewhere in the world. Another enjoyable coffee date with the ladies!

  3. Dawn says:

    Great way to talk about coffee time. Next time I am sitting on my butt and feeling guilty by it, I will think of the endurance needed for coffee time with you people. It was such and awesome day and so much fun.

  4. Emma says:

    Haha…that was funny. It was a lovely, great time and I can’t wait until the next time!

  5. Steffi says:

    It´s really nice to have much friends to meet for a coffee!Enjoy it! I wish I can meet you too!

  6. bergerac says:

    I cannot possibly mention of all your “butts” 😯

    Even though the temptation is every present 😉

    Glad you all had a great time – and whilst all your hubbies are working hard – your partake of coffee x 5 hours does exceed what I would describe of a coffee break..

    Must admit I luv Greek food too 🙂

  7. Janet T. says:

    Well, it exercised your jaws, anyway. And your minds. And really, what’s better than that? 🙂

  8. Heather says:

    It’s so awesome you ladies can get together and chat IRL!

  9. beccy says:

    Lol, I read about your extra long coffee date on Emma’s blog and was very jealous!

    I’m delighted you got a few coffee and lunch dates whilst your children are busy and I love the fact that when I’m sitting around I can say I’m just practising for when I may be on my butt for hours!

  10. kootenaybliss says:

    That’s hilarious. I’ll keep that in mind when I don’t feel like getting up off my butt. Just practicing.

Leave a Reply

