The Holiday is Over

It’s January 9th and you’d think I’d be totally out of the holiday frame of mind and back into the swing of things, but this year seems to be taking the kids and I longer than usual. No more staying up late and sleeping in. No more doing whatever we want all day. No more chocolates. No more tv or computer (uh – for the kids!) during the day.

Yesterday and today R and J have been working on a big Lego(I wish it were Lego because I’m learning how cheap and frustrating Mega Bloks are!) Mega Blok building project that R got for Christmas. I just love to watch them working so well together and using their imaginations that I hate to interrupt them for something as inconsequential as school! Well, that’s my excuse anyway. Really I’m just feeling incredibly lazy. Awwww, let them play, I tell myself.

Today, though. Today I must pull out the math and Social Studies. I’ve got to give them some sort of writing assignment. We also have to work out a routine for Music. J, in particular, is having a hard time getting her homework completed. She needs to do a bit everyday. I’ve also got to get them back in the habit of doing chores. For some unknown reason I slacked off on that over the holidays. It makes no sense. There are still dishes to do when it’s Christmas! And vacuuming and dusting. Sigh. And so on.

So. Today. Today we will get back on track. Yup. Today. Today. Today.

PS Congratulations again, J, on the most wonderful news that you told us last night. The photos were beautiful. I’m so happy for your family.  🙂

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Holiday is Over

  1. Heather says:

    We started up again last week so I know how you feel. We still aren’t in our groove yet…but then we have never really had a groove! 😉

  2. beccy says:

    We’re finding it very hard to get up in the mornings. Poor Ben begs for a lie in every morning and he’s going to bed early as well. The wind and rain don’t help…I really dislike January and February.

  3. bergerac says:

    Sometimes ‘Tomorrow’ – has more of an appeal – than “today” 😉

    Enjoy the sleep-in and tranquility ……

  4. Steffi says:

    I agree with Beccy.I don´t like the months january and february and the cold and windy mornings.It´s always hard to start early in the morning after a longer break without school or work!

  5. robinellablog says:

    I’ve been gritting my teeth since Monday, but then that’s the norm for school in our house. I swear I should just throw in the towel and send him to school and then just relax. But I know I won’t. Dumb me.

  6. Dawn says:

    It is tough to get back into the swing. This week is a little lax again with my hair appointment today, my order coming in yesterday, so I wasn’t bugging them and skiing on Friday. I guess we are just making up a few hours of phys ed this week. Next week will be better.

  7. Sirdar says:

    It was tough going back to work this week. But, one must unfortunately. Hope the transition back to reality isn’t too hard.

  8. Steffi says:

    Debbie, I TAGGED you in my blog …. ;O)

  9. Janet T. says:

    HUGS to you, thanks! We really are happy about it!

    I know, it’s SO hard to get into the swing of things. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

