Back at it

It’s been slow going and a little rough around the edges in some spots but we seem to be getting back into the homeschooling groove again.  It helps that our activities have started up.  Music, Phys-Ed, and now they’ve started swimming lessons.  We have a Junior Forest Warden over night event this weekend.  And, yes, we’ve even gone back to Math, Language Arts, etc.  That’s where the rough spots were.  I don’t know if we’ll take so much time off next holiday.  Three full weeks has a way of  promoting forgetfulness and now we’re in review mode.  Not just educationally.

R seems to be going back to some of his old ways in terms of defiance.  When we first began our homeschooling journey three years ago we struggled.  If he didn’t want to do something then I had a very hard time getting him to do it.  That’s why I put him into the part-time homeschooling program (school 2 days/week and I homeschooled the rest of the time) for the past two years.  He had definite structure there, and a teacher he didn’t cross.  At home, I’d simply say, “Do you get away with this behaviour at school?  Do you treat Mrs. So and So this way?  No?  Well, you won’t here either, Mister.”  And it seemed to work.  On Tuesday, I found myself saying those words again.  He was crying and carrying on because I’d assigned him a page of multiplication facts to complete.  I’m so mean, aren’t I?  Yes, I’ll pull out some games and such to make the tedious task of memorizing the multiplication table more fun, but in the meantime I shouldn’t have to put up with this behavior.  Right?  I try to make homeschooling fun, but sometimes you’ve just gotta sit down at a table and fill in a boring worksheet.  Welcome to the real world, kid, where not everyone is dancing around trying to entertain you!  We all have aspects of our jobs etc. that we don’t like.  Some boring task that we just have to get through.  Even if it’s our dream job. 

Whew.  I seemed to have slipped into a rant there.  🙂  Anyhoo, my point is that we’re getting back into it.  R has a friend coming over this afternoon (if he doesn’t pull any nonsense!!).  So, we have to get at our school stuff a bit earlier.  We’re doing a Language Arts project called Sound City.  I showed a PICTURE of it awhile back.  We haven’t done much with it for awhile and now we’re picking it up again.  It’s a fun way to learn phonics.

Have  great day, everyone.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back at it

  1. Joy T. says:

    I didn’t think that sounded like a rant. Just the cold hard facts of life. I don’t know how many times over the years I’ve told my kids “Do you think I like cleaning toilets? No I don’t like cleaning toilets. But they have to be done and that’s just the way it is. We ALL have to do things we don’t want to do. Now get your ass outside and get those walks shovelled!” Ya. I say ass. I’m one of those horrible moms 🙂

  2. beccy says:

    Sounds like some days are tougher than others but I’m sure you’ll pull through. The over night event looks like something to look forward to.

  3. kootenaybliss says:

    You’re really brave to be doing the homeschooling. I have some friends who do it and I know it’s no walk in the park. Sometimes it’s hard for kids to differentiate between the “mommy” hat and the “teacher” hat. And of course if they think they can get away with something…they will try. Good luck. I’m sure you’re doing a fabulous job.

  4. Melanie says:

    I think you are so courageous homeschooling. I know I couldn’t do it with my son as he would just want to play all the time. Trying to get him to do something he didn’t want to do on a daily basis, would effect the relationship I have with him.

    I’m glad you tell it like it is. Some people I’ve met with babies think of home schooling as an easy option for them as they wont have to do the daily grind of dropping off or picking up on the school run twice a day for years, or have to deal with bullies, deal with parents waiting in the playground playing power games themselves etc.

    Well done hun for homeschooling. It isn’t an easy option by any stretch of the imagination when it’s done properly.

  5. robinellablog says:

    I have one of those. Let me know when you find the trick that makes it stop!!! 🙂

  6. bergerac says:

    Such is the ‘wake-up’ call of education and age realisation – even while young. To the reality of subjects we don’t enjoy – but they have to be achieved.

    Keep at it – and I am proud of all – who homeschool

  7. Janet T. says:

    You’re so right. HOmeschooling isn’t always fun. You have to get down to the nitty gritty sometimes and the kids just have to deal with it.

  8. Pamela says:

    My mom home schooled me for my first year – way back in the ..uh..I won’t tell you how long ago.

    Anyway, she had “the face”

    If I could send that to you, I’m sure it would help.
    One glance from “the face” and no one dares to disobey.

  9. my4kids says:

    We took some time off for the holidays also since the other two were home and this week has been a bear with Izzak getting him back into doing and before he was doing so well. Madison is no problem she loves doing school work so she had been asking for work during the break!

  10. Dawn says:

    Oh, we have our days. I have one who isn’t so openly or rudely defiant, just passive defiant. It is not an easy task any way you cut it. There are so many personalities involved and it is especially hard after the winter holidays because of the late nights and eating and sleeping in and it is only 2-3 weeks so there is no excitement about starting school anew. I’m with you on this one.

  11. Heather says:

    We all go through it Debbie. Now that the boys are older (11 & 9) I write out their lists for the day. This includes chores & school stuff. They know it has to be done before tv, video games, computer games, phone calls. Usually they get their stuff done by 1 or 2 eveyday. Some days they will argue and I just say it has to be done. Yesterday one of them had to write out math definitions. He thought it was pointless. But it wasn’t… he learned new terms, wrote them out, looked them up in a dictionary, all necessary skills to know and practice at. I remind my kids that I have them learn things for their benefit to be successful later on. It’s not for ME. I want them to be successful in this world and I am here to share with them and give them the tools to help them *be* successful.

  12. Sirdar says:

    Answer to your problem….big stick 🙂 Ok…not really but in the old days that was how it was dealt with.

    Glad to hear you are getting back into the swing of things.

  13. Steffi says:

    You do a great job! I have much respect who do homeschool! And I agree with Beccy´s comment!

Leave a Reply

