A Lack of Sleep = A Cranky Debbie

Last night I slept on the couch.  Well, actually, I wouldn’t call what I did sleeping.  It was more like coughing…and coughing…aaaaand coughing some more.  You see how considerate I am?  I didn’t want to keep Adrian awake. 

At midnight, I finally resorted to taking some powerful cough medicine that had been prescribed to J awhile back.  It knocked her out for 12 hours straight, and although I didn’t want that necessarily, I was getting desperate.  Unfortunately, it didn’t help as quickly as I would’ve liked because it took until about 2:00 in the morning for the coughing to cease.  I’m not even sick, really.  This cough has been haunting me on and off for about two months now.  Go away, Cough!

Needless to say I woke up a tad cranky.  Little things like my kids taking their time getting ready while we were running a little late for music class made me – shall we say – ticked off.  I wouldn’t have wanted anyone eavesdropping on our household this morning, that’s for sure.

Then I was sitting at music class waiting to pick up the kids and listening to three of the moms talking.  Just listening because I was in no mood to participate.  Then, wouldn’t you know, one mom started to seriously “down” people who write in blogs!!  “People who write their personal business for the whole world to read” as she put it while she mimicked someone tipping and tapping at their keyboard.  “I just don’t get it”, she said. Now, I normally would’ve cheerfully admitted my blogging hobby, and pointed out the various benefits.  As well as asked her if she’d ever enjoyed reading a biography.  Because, personally, I don’t think blogging is much different.  Well, except that I’m not famous and no one would pay to read my blog.  At any rate, with the mood I was in it would have likely come out in a snarky tone along with a bitchy expletive throw in for good measure.  And then I’d be ostracized because these are very nice religious ladies whose ears might have burned off at the sound off my mean spirited cursing.

Have you ever found yourself in a position where you’re defending your blogging addiction habit hobby?  If so, out of interest, whaddya say?  It’s a happened a few times to me.  Sometimes I go into my reasons, other times I don’t.

Thankfully, this time, I managed to keep my mouth shut and after class, the kids and I went sledding with friends.  It was nice to get outside.  It even cleared my head a bit.   It was good for the kids as well because they’re tired, too.  They played hard this weekend during our sleep-over Junior Forest Wardens event. 

I’m sure it’ll just take a couple of night’s sleep to for us all to catch up and be back to normal.  Then, I might even provide a nice cheery post and not the complaining sort that I have been writing lately.  Hey, you know what I need?  One of those purple complaining bracelets but in blogger form.  If you haven’t heard of them go here:  A Complaint Free World.  I could switch the logo (that doesn’t exist) from one side of my blog to the other each time I complain. 

But then I wouldn’t know how to make the logo, and my blog only has one sidebar, and it’d take too much effort, and….hmmm.  I would’ve had to switch it three times with just that one sentence!!  I guess I need to get me one of those bracelets.  😉

Well, I’m off to pamper myself with some chocolate and fluff tv.  Mmmm.  My comfy chair and cozy blanket are calling to me.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Lack of Sleep = A Cranky Debbie

  1. Dawn says:

    Well, the moment I saw you this morning, I remembered you were going sledding with that ‘other person’ ;-), and was I glad because you looked really grumpy. Just kidding. I know what you mean about saying things when not in the mood. Unfortunately, I sometimes come across that way even when in a good mood.

    You should get that cough looked at. Our friend from Australia, a non smoker had a cough, then coughed up blood, got it checked and two months later got part of her lung removed. She was just over 40. I don’t want to alarm you, it may be allergies. When T and C were each 2 years old they started this hacking thing at night. It began in the beginning of November and ended in the middle of December, only 6 weeks, but six long weeks of sleeplessness, especially when I had 2 doing it. They would cough in the night and every 3rd night cough until they threw up, then they would progress from there. There was a fair amount of mucus in the puke. Through the day they were fine. The doctor said it was likely allergies, but we didn’t get it tested. When C was 3 (T-5), I started on these vitamins drinks. T would take them, and I told C she didn’t need to take it unless she did the coughing thing and T wasn’t. Well, T didn’t cough, C started so I put her on it (force fed, threatened, etc) and she stopped within two nights. They stayed on that for a few years and they take vitamins now and do not have a problem.

    I guess I could have told you all that in person, He he.

  2. Janet T. says:

    I really don’t care WHAT people think of my blogging. I have had someone tell me that it’s egotistical. Maybe, but is writing a letter to someone egotistical? Is sending out a CHristmas letter? I think it’s just stupid when people make those comments. I stick my tongue out at them…..pppppbbbbbbbttttt.

    Hope you can get some sleep, dear. Hang in there.

  3. Emma says:

    I’ve heard some pretty nasty comments about blogging from so called friends but there is obviously a reason why they don’t have my address. I really don’t care what people say, it’s something I enjoy and I’ve made some great friends out of it.

    I’ve thought about getting William one of those bracelets. Somehow, i doubt it would work!

  4. Sirdar says:

    I’ve had a few people tell me what they think about blogging. Mostly it is ignorance of what a blog really is. Now some of them read mine but never comment. How do I know they read it? They bring up things I said and tell me they read it on the blog. Next time just tell them that you thought the same way once, but now that you have done it for a while, you really enjoy it and that they should give it a try.

    Sorry to hear about the cough. Hope it goes away soon.

  5. Sirdar says:

    I’ve had a few people tell me what they think about blogging. Mostly it is ignorance of what a blog really is. Now some of them read mine but never comment. How do I know they read it? They bring up things I said and tell me they read it on the blog. Next time just tell them that you thought the same way once, but now that you have done it for a while, you really enjoy it and that they should give it a try.

    Sorry to hear about the cough. Hope it goes away soon.

  6. Joy T. says:

    Look after that cough you, 2 months is way too long to still be dealing with it. Ok that was the mom coming out in me….or someone who has had pneumonia twice in her life and knows all too well what a lingering cough can turn into. After all, we want you up and healthy and blogging, no matter what those holier then thou mothers say about it.

  7. bergerac says:

    Damm 👿 I miss all the action 👿

    I would have been like a Rottie – eager to go for the ‘jugular’ at that woman – and I would not have let go – for sure…..

    I guess its just as well as I don’t live near you all – otherwise – folk would be saying that Scot’s guy is lethal – when he get’s going and avoid me ……

    Everyone of course is open to their opinions – but when ignorance enters – I just have to zero in on the individual …..

    Have to agree with Dawn, do get that cough seen too, as any length of time and still persists does require further examination – or else 😯 I would have to pop over – and I can be lethal with the frying pan 😉

  8. Melanie says:

    Like others have said -get your cough checked out. I thought I only had flu but it turned out to be double pneumonia. The anitboitics work fast and save weeks of weakness and lingering unwellness.

    On the bloging front, I keep one so I have a record of the things I’ve made. I do add odd bits of house-gossip as and when too. This is how I explained bloging to a fellow crafter. She understood.

  9. beccy says:

    I’ve never heard anything bad about blogging here. I don’t know anyone else who blogs (that’s not to say that they don’t blog) and I love getting to know people from all over. I do have to curb my time spent blogging so that it doesn’t encroach on family life.

    Which reminds me that I now have to go and collect Ben from tennis!

  10. G says:

    I know, I know. we’ve talked about the detriment of lack of sleep.
    As far as the blogging thing, I think it’s a personality trait. Being open, honest and a real opened book isn’t for everyone and there is some uncomfortable feelings when it’s too intimate or close to home for some.
    I like that you blog as I have integrated your blog into my life at lunchtime. I love it as it keep me in tune with you when we can’t speak each day:)

    Love, health and happiness,
    G

  11. robinellablog says:

    My friend has “walking pneumonia” that sounded a lot like yours. GO GET IT CHECKED.

    I’ve only had good feedback so far about blogging. Except from my Mother. But she doesn’t get the www and is terrified of her personal info getting out. It’s that old lady paranoia thing. haha

  12. Steffi says:

    Debbie that´s sounds not so good with your cough!

    Yes- I agree with Sirdar about blogging!I like to read in blogs.Of course in yours too!But blogging have sad sites too because I lost now a good Blogfriend (Peter) and I don´t know why…

  13. Carla says:

    I hope your cough goes away soon. It sounds like a real pain.

    I haven’t been around anyone who really downs blogging, but then I don’t tell most people that I blog either. Not that I wouldn’t…it just doesn’t usually come up.

  14. Pamela says:

    I am one of those blessed people who rarely catches cold, and even less gets a cough.

    two years ago I did. I coughed for two months.
    Then my GP prescribed that little inhaler – spireva (spelling)

    It requires a small capsule which you place inside and it gets mashed into powder. Inhale.

    I think that cleared me up in 48 hours.

  15. my4kids says:

    I would say that you should get it checked out but I’m late on this and looks like from your above post you already are! Could just be allergies though. I have had that happen in the winter before.
    I haven’t had to many bad comments about blogging. Mostly good and people are usually interested in why I do but think it’s great. When someone says it negative I just point out all the great friends I’ve made doing it and how to some degree (a big one) you were all here for me even more then some of my other friends when we were having a hard time when Kelly was gone this summer. I felt like I could complain all I wanted and always get helpful comments from everyone, not so much with the people I saw everyday.

Leave a Reply

