Goin’ to the Doctor’s

What with your warnings of lung cancer and pneumonia I have taken heed and made an appointment to see the doctor.  This Saturday morning.  Okayyyy?  🙂 Nahhh, I so appreciate all of your sentiments of concern.  It feels good to be cared about.  And you’re right, of course.  A person shouldn’t have to deal with a cough for two months.  And it’s the strangest thing, too.  It comes and goes in severity.  After that previous night of coughing I had two good nights of sleep, and then last night I was up half the night again.  Ah well.  Hopefully, I can get some drugs or something on Saturday.

Yesterday was a slow day.  After school in the morning, the kids and I played some board games, and then just hung out the rest of the day until I took them to gym in the evening.  You’d think I would have gotten a lot accomplished but that just wasn’t the case!

After gym, we drove the youngest child of Dawn and Sirdar home.  We do this most gym nights because their three older kids take the later class.  My kids love having Z with us in the van.  So much so, that we have to work out a “taking turns” policy as to who gets to sit in the back with her.  She’s nearly eleven so I don’t know if she likes this or not, but we have to keep the peace in the van.  If we didn’t take turns there would likely be an all out riot.  Welll, no actually, because I wouldn’t allow it, but there would be some definite contention.  And poor Z would just be caught in the middle. 

Last night it was J’s turn to be in the back.  Unlike the previous week with R, Z allowed J to listen to her music and watch her play her DS.  My kids want a DS badly so they’re enthralled with watching her play. 

The funny thing about homeschooling regarding that infamous word “Socialization”:

Yes, they get it.  And lots of it.  BUT what they don’t get is a lot of teasing and jeering regarding their behaviors.  The good thing is that they remain kids a little longer.  The not so good thing is that some of the social nuances that other kids know, my kids don’t.

For instance, R doesn’t seem to get that a nearly 11 year old girl doesn’t think it’s cool to sit in the back of a van forehead to forehead with a 9 yr old boy, allowing him to watch her play a video game, but that it is at least okay to let a seven year old girl peer over her shoulder.  He honestly just wants to play and hang out with whomever is willing to play and hang out with him, but he is also a nine year old boy.  Which means he can be annoying.  Especially to an eleven year old girl!

It’s sad to observe this, I realize necessary, growing-up process.

Sirdar – I hope everything turned out okay last night.  You were having one seriously crappy evening.  We were thinking of ya. 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Goin’ to the Doctor’s

  1. Janet T. says:

    Socialization-shmocialization.

    And what’s up with Sirdar? He okay? Now I’M worried…..

  2. robinellablog says:

    I have an almost 8 year old with a 5 year old mentality and I love it. I always giggle a little at some of his naivety and I am glad that I’ve been able to preserve some of it for him. He’ll grow up soon enough and be out in the big bad world.

    That’s not to say, we shelter him. He knows about the big bad world, but it doesn’t infect his days.

  3. bergerac says:

    Glad you have booked with your Doctor and ‘DON’T FORGET THE APPOINTMENT’ – place notes everywhere 😯

    That way even the cats will not be soo “cranky” in the morning – the poor wee things – they must have go outdoors when you cough 😉

    You can pop over to read my blog – as long as you are not contagious 😉

    Poor ‘R’ – I know the feeling 😦 us guys are just not wanted 😦

    Bring back the Victorian era – that’s what I say 😯

  4. Dawn says:

    Glad you are going to the doctor. Thank you for taking Z. She is one of the less accommodating children I know. It is the way with home school kids as you say. Things turned out and Sirdar was concerned his evening was getting worse when he was walking back to his car and a van pulled up to it, then the flashers of the car went off and it drove away, but it was me, picking it up for him when Z called saying all was well.

  5. beccy says:

    My 14 year old can still be hanging over my shoulder if he wants to see something! They all learn social etiquette in their own good time.

  6. Steffi says:

    I am glad that you go on saturday to the doctor!

    And I don´t understand -what´s happend with Sirdar?He is okay?

  7. Heather says:

    I love the “teasing” socialization my kids miss. They’ll watch tv shows with kids teasing others and school and mean and they’ll ask me is it sometimes that way?? Unfortunately yes I tell them. Hope you feel better.

  8. Melanie says:

    Relieved you’re off to the Drs better safe than sorry. Well done.

    I don’t think your children are missing out on much. Teasing can so easily progress into bullying. It’s one aspect I don’t like about the education system in the UK. Schools say they have anti-bullying policies, yet when it comes down to it because exclusions and expulsions are written down as part of the schools’ report, they are seldom used as teachers think it reflects badly on the school. You have more protection in UK law from a bullying colleague than a child has in a school. Ridiculous! (Sorry soap box.)

    I think you’re right to let your children be children for as long as they can. They’ve got years ahead of adulthood.

  9. Joy T. says:

    They’ll get plenty of teasing and jeering as adults so don’t worry. Look at me. 44 years old and I got called a spazoid.

    AAAAHAHAHAHA sorry I tried to say that with a straight face but I still crack up every time I think about it!

  10. Carla says:

    I’m glad you saw the doctor about that cough. It was sounding like it was quite a pain.

    As for your children, I think most children grow up far too fast these days. What happened to just letting kids be kids. They’ll figure it all out in the end.

  11. my4kids says:

    I’m finding that the kids get plenty of “socializing” in home school. We have so many other activities they are going to I just feel I have more control over the bullying concern. Izzak had enough of it in school before and the teachers never handled it even when it ended in a broken arm last year.

  12. Sirdar says:

    Thanks for taking Z home with you. I was planning to be home…..but things happen. I hope that Z isn’t disrespectful to R when he watches. Home school kids do socialize differently because they are brought up to be with anyone no matter what age the other person is. It is actually fun to watch.

    Glad that you are going to the doctor.

  13. bbZuSh says:

    Glad you are going to the doctor 🙂

    Kids can be annoying sometimes 😛 But you just can’t not love them 🙂

Leave a Reply

