Another Beginning

Apparently all of my ailments can be explained because of my weight.  Which totally sucks because now that means I finally have to do something about it. 

Lately I’ve been experiencing quite a bit of heartburn.  I’ve been taking an over-the-counter heartburn medication called Zantec almost daily for the past month.  Fast forward to Saturday when I went to the doctor about my cough.  Apparently the heartburn medicine could be the cause. 

The doctor gave me different stuff for my heartburn, which won’t cause a cough.  (Although, two days later and my cough still persists.  She says to give it three weeks -so, we’ll see.)  In addition, she basically said that if I wasn’t overweight I wouldn’t get heartburn.  Actually, she said (in a diplomatic tone) that heartburn is caused because most of us carry a little extra weight (said she who is very thin).  Okay.  I get it.  I’m fat.  And, since I asked, it’s also the cause of my snoring.

So?  Thursday night, Adrian and I joined Weight Watchers. We are now both paper carrying Points counters.  Each of us have a significant amount of weight to lose, but we don’t want to do anymore crazy fad dieting.  Sensible and healthy so that we can keep it off for good.

A few years ago I lost fifty pounds and then systematically sabotaged myself back into being over weight.  Why?  Because I – got – issues!  It stings because I was there!  I was so close to my goal weight.  I was getting the compliments and I was feelin’ gooood.  I could shop anywhere I wanted – not just the tubby stores.  And then…I fell off the band wagon.  It started with ice mochas.  Oh they made me feel ill at first since I’d been eating healthy for so long, but I persevered.  Then I had potato chips, and…ah hell.  The list goes on.  It was barbecue season.  Which, incidentally, is much harder to live through than Christmas.  For me, anyway.  Hamburgers, chips, ice cream…and booze.  These are all standard guests at a neighbourhood get-together around the fire.

And now, I haven’t restricted my eating in at least two years.  Where other people say, “Ohhh, no thank-you”, I say, “Bring it on!”.  Butter pecan latte?  Yes, please.  French fries?  Yes, please.  Steak and potato?  Yes, please.  Ice cream for dessert?  Absolutely.  And yes, that could all be in one day.  A Points disaster.

You know, I wasn’t surprised when I gained it all back.  And not just because of all of the food.  In fact, I was foreseeing the possible outcome at the very beginning.  Even before I’d lost all the weight.  I have this underlying belief, I’ve discovered, that when a person loses weight they won’t be able to keep it off.  I see evidence of this all around me!  My mom for one.  My friends.  Me.  If you’ve got the kind of body that gains weight easily you’re basically screwed.

BUT.

I am going to disprove that theory.  I have to because this extra sixty pounds is not doing me any favours.  Heartburn and the possibility of Sleep Apnea are just the beginning.  Do I need something more serious to wake me up?

Micheal Losier, who wrote “The Law of Attraction”, says that in order to disprove a limiting belief I must just ask myself one question.  Is there anyone on the planet who has ever lost weight and then kept it off?  My answer is, of course, yes!  Which means if it’s possible for the thousands of other people on the planet then it’s possible for me too.

So, this is the beginning.  Or the middle.  Depending on which way you look at it.  But it’s definitely not the end. 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Weight. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Another Beginning

  1. Janet T. says:

    I wish you ALL the best on your journey! If I didnt have kids that needed me home during the day, we could go to the Tri and work out together!

  2. Heather says:

    I hope it goes great for you!!! I have a friend who had a lot of success with weight watchers. It’s good you and hubby are doing it together!! It’ll keep you both on track and motivated!

  3. beccy says:

    Good luck Debbie, you have the right attitude so I know you can do it.

  4. bergerac says:

    A journey of discovery for both you and Adrian – and sometimes a ‘wake-up’ call by one’s Doctor – is the start of the process….

    Support each other and enjoy walks on daily basis – outdoors – please 😉

    Give it time and self determination –

    Go for it – all the way…

  5. bergerac says:

    A journey of discovery for both you and Adrian – and sometimes a ‘wake-up’ call by one’s Doctor – is the start of the process….

    Support each other and enjoy walks on daily basis – outdoors – please 😉

    Give it time and self determination –

    Go for it – all the way…

  6. Joy T. says:

    Sounds like you have the perfect attitude for this new change in your life!

  7. Dawn says:

    So does that mean you will go biking with me come spring? Look at me, true to form, thinking only of myself ;-). This was an awesome post and you know Janet T is living proof of someone who can lose it and not find it again (even with weight;-)). Maybe we can start walking too. I certainly need to lose weight, and Jacinta is mentioning Howard needs to lose some holiday weight too, but I don’t think he will join us.

  8. robinellablog says:

    The fact that you have one another to cheer and boo along will be your winning factor. I think it is miserable to have to face this challenge alone. I’m facing the extreme. My hubby is super health conscious and it pisses me off to no end. 🙂

  9. Pamela says:

    I never thought that I would be this old and still not in control of my weight.

    I cough sometimes BECAUSE of acid reflux. Well, it isn’t a true cough. I just choke on it. It sprays up into the back of the throat and causes a reaction.

    I am doing better right now – and am off the daily meds. Sometimes you have to give them a little vacation.

  10. Sirdar says:

    Way to go!! Hope you and Adrian do well to get it off and keep it off.

    I should join you on your quest. I lost 65 pounds in 8 months once. Don’t want to do that again but I need to lose at least 25.

  11. Melanie says:

    Well done Debbie! Lots of people in the UK have had success with weight watchers. I’m trying to lose weight too, but having no scales, I have to go on the “do I fit in these jeans” method. LOL I’m hoping we have a bright dry Spring so I can be outside walking more and gardening etc. My weight seems to start piling on in the Autumn when I’m doing less. Hope you find what works for you,
    Best Wishes,
    Melanie

  12. Steffi says:

    Good luck Debbie!Great project ! Weight Watchers is good.And I have the same problems with my weight too. But my problem is I eat to wrong time.On the day is it stressful and I have not much time to eat!But when I come back on the evening from my work than I am hungry….

    Best wishes!

  13. giveitatry says:

    I thought I had commented on this earlier…hmmm. Best of luck on your weight loss and fitness journey. I am trying to lose a few pounds (more than a few, but I am being polite).

    Dawn and Sirdar tell me that we sound a lot alike – now I want to hear your voice.

  14. bbZuSh says:

    Best of luck Debbie 🙂

Leave a Reply

