A Small Victory…with many more to look forward to.

Last night was our first weigh in at Weight Watchers after a week on the program.  I was dreading it a little because I sneaked a peek at my scale and it didn’t look like I’d lost weight.  On the Weight Watcher’s scale, however, it registered a 2lb loss.  Whew!  So, what I’m doing is working.  Good. 

I want this time to be a nice slow and steady weight loss.  I’ve still got some issues swimming around in my mind regarding weight.  So, in order for this to be a permanent thing I’ve got give my head a chance to catch up with my body during the process.  That may sound crazy to you, but I’ve been here before.  Full of hope and optimism.  Ready for change.  And the change lasts…for awhile.  But I don’t want to be losing and gaining the same sixty pounds my whole life!  I’ve GOT to get right in the head.

Adrian did really well, too.  He lost 7 lbs his first week.  Which is amazing, of course.  And he said he didn’t feel deprived.  He’s even still having his tea (with milk and sugar) at night.  This is much better then when he was on the Dr Bernstein diet.  That was such a restrictive diet and he was miserable on it!

One of the charms of the Weight Watchers meetings is the handing out of stickers for the achievement of goals.  5lbs, 10 lbs, 25 lbs down etc.  For exercising and for implementing healthy habits.  Adrian, being a typical man, doesn’t hold these stickers in high esteem.  In his words, “What am I? 8?”.  So, I knew that when the time came during the meeting for the handing out of the 5lbs Down stickers that he wouldn’t raise his hand.  Well, I’m a very supportive wife…so I did it for him.  “My husband would lovvvve a stickerrrrr!”, I called out to the Leader in front of the roughly 100 ladies in attendance.  (there may have been one or two guys present)  They all gave him a nice round of applause.  He’d never admit it, but I think he enjoyed it.  😉 When asked what he did right this week to lose 7 lbs, he (ever aware of his audience) said, “I listened to my wife”.  He received a good chuckle over that and I got a “Bravo” sticker for…telling him what to do, I guess.  Funny guy.

My biggest challenge this week, ironically, was not letting myself get too hungry.  If I get really hungry I over eat.  The fun part has actually been trying new recipes.  There are plenty of great low fat recipes that really taste good. 

This week, my goal is to walk on my treadmill three times for twenty minutes.  I know that doesn’t sound like a lot but, like I said, slow and steady wins the race here. 

PS – I’m working on catching up with everyone’s blogs.  Weirdly, the longer I’m away from the computer the harder it is to come back.  I  need a laptop or something so that I’m not cooped up in the basement (where my computer resides) for hours!  I appreciate your comments, though.  Thanks for all of the wonderful encouragement.  😀

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Weight. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Small Victory…with many more to look forward to.

  1. Heather says:

    Great for you guys!! Sounds like a good week. 20 minutes on the treadmill 3 times a week is lots for most people. Most people don’t get even ON the treadmill. Small steps Debbie and think of each step as making progress and a healthier you!! 🙂

  2. giveitatry says:

    That is great! Hey, baby steps are what it’s all about. I think you have set some reasonable goals for yourself. Lots of times people (me) set goals that are too lofty and set themselves (myself) up for failure.

  3. Janet T. says:

    You are doing GREAT!!!! I am so proud of you for not needing to get it all off….NOW! Hooray for two pounds!!!!!!!!! I’d ive ya a sticker too…:-)

  4. Joy T. says:

    Sounds like you’re both off to a fantastic start!!

  5. robinellablog says:

    Such a funny story! So glad you both had negative numbers and both got stickers!!! 🙂

  6. Dawn says:

    That is wonderful and I love how you wrote this post. Way to go. I don’t think I have lost any weight this week, but I have been trying a little bit. I even went for a walk with Sirdar on Wednesday night.

  7. Sirdar says:

    Good for you guys!! I can just envision Adrian saying “What am I? 8?” 😆

    Keep up the great work. Look forward to the next weigh-in story.

    Dawn even asked me to go for a walk!! It was great.

  8. beccy says:

    Well done Debbie and Adrian, what a great start and what a great attitude.

  9. Steffi says:

    That´s great,Debbie!Very good start!

  10. my4kids says:

    Congrats on losing weight!
    I hate it that my husband can lose weight without really even thinking about it

Leave a Reply

