Going Out Finally

We’ve been huddled in at home since Sunday because of the cold. That is, the kids and I have – Adrian has still been going off to work. But since there hasn’t been anything really important to do I’ve decided to just stay home. But today is the day. We’re goin’ out. We’re bravin’ the cold. And none too soon because I feel like eating everything in the house. I haven’t. I’ve resisted, but it’s been so difficult. I keep drinking herbal tea to try and ease the cravings, but I’ve drank so much I might just start peeing Raspberry Thriller (the flavour of my tea – not some weird pee disease).

R has an orthodontist appointment today hence our venture into the -40 C weather. He’s has had a metal appliance called a crib in his mouth for a couple of years and we’re hoping (soooo hoping) that they’ll tell us it can be taken out. I can’t seem to find a photo to link to at the moment, but it looks like something out of the dark ages. It’s on the roof of his mouth and clamped to his teeth. Oh here’s one…kind of:

thumb suck

You can see how it clamps to his teeth. Anyway, it was to stop his thumb sucking habit at the time and also to discourage his tongue from thrusting forward and pressing on his front teeth. This kid has other dental issues, too, that I won’t bore you with now, but he hasn’t sucked his thumb since he’s had the thing on. Originally they said he’d only need it for a year, but it’s going on three now. He wants it off, and I want it off for him.

Oh, looking at the time, I’ve gotta go.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Going Out Finally

  1. Dawn says:

    Good luck facing the weather and with the orthodontist. I will be taking J to work today, would rather stay in, but will be facing the elements.

  2. Janet T. says:

    Sarah will be getting a similar appliance too. Except hers is at the back of her mouth, to open it up, since her mouth is too small to accomodate her teeth. Sigh.

  3. Joy T. says:

    My youngest has 10 months to go with her braces and she’s counting down the days. And after having three kids in braces and ‘countless’ trips to the orthodonist…which I’m sure helped pay for the big mansion he lives in…..I will not miss those trips anymore. Bundle up when going out. We don’t want any noses falling off from that cold!

  4. my4kids says:

    That does look kind of outdated but I think a lot of dental things seem that way don’t you. At least it worked.
    I don’t envy you going out in the cold. It’s been around 4F here and that is too cold for me. I don’t think I could handle that cold!

  5. beccy says:

    I really appreciate how you feel, Dillon recently had his braces removed, he was so relieved.

  6. Steffi says:

    Good luck with the orthodontist.Anne had one too but a little bit others.

  7. Sirdar says:

    I sure hope they get to take that thing out. At least it is trying to warm up a bit 😆

Leave a Reply

