My Week, in a Freezing Cold Nutshell

What a week. Bitterly cold at the beginning forcing us to practically hibernate in our house for three days, and now it has warmed up from an icy temperature of -46C to a balmy -27C.

On Wednesday, we ventured out because I had to take R to the orthodontist. I mentioned earlier that I was hoping that one of his (he’s got two different ones) dental appliances would be able to be removed. Unfortunately the news was “no”. It’s better to keep it in for now. Ah well. He’s lived with it for nearly three years now – another year or two won’t hurt him.

After the dentist we got errands done, came home for lunch, and then moseyed over to our friendly neighbourhood neighbour, Dawn. We arrived a little after 1:30 pm and didn’t leave until – eh hem – 5:00 pm!!  😳 Nothing says staying out your welcome like waiting until her children are coming down asking about supper. Sorry, Dawn!! But it’s your fault, you know. You’re too good of company.  😉 Thanks again for having us. It was a welcome outing for us.

Yesterday morning for school, the kids played (the best learning happens that way, heh?) with the new balance scale I bought. R loved it so much that he spent a good hour and a half weighing stuff. I love that I could give him that time.

Homeschooling 114 Homeschooling 118

Last night, Adrian and I went to Weight Watcher’s. He lost another 3. something pounds. I didn’t do as well, though. Only .8 for me. As I’ve been posting, this week has been more of a challenge. Ah well. Next time’ll be better.  Or not.  What-everrr.  I’mmmm breezy.

I’m not sure what I want to do today. We’ll do some school, of course, but then do I want to stay home and do laundry and the many household chores that need my attention? Or do I haul garbage and bottles into town? I think I’ll do the garbage. Yeah!!!  🙄

By the way, I have not plowed my driveway yet. This weekend, though. I’m not crazy enough to do it in -46C!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Week, in a Freezing Cold Nutshell

  1. Dawn says:

    My fault! I would have to agree. You let me talk and talk; I love it. You get to talk sometimes too, but mostly you let me go on and on.

    The scale looks like fun. My kids were deprived of one of those. Perhaps we can borrow it for a couple hours when the novelty wears off for your kids.

    At least you lost some weight. It does come off in up and down amounts.

  2. beccy says:

    Well done in your continued weight loss, anything is better than nothing!

    The scales look like fun and it’s great that their time wasn’t restricted.

  3. two cats are better than one says:

    the weather goes from -46c to -26c in one day,and it’s heat wave.Got to love it.

  4. Janet T. says:

    I know that you mean about being stir crazy! ME TOO!

  5. Joy T. says:

    If it ever gets back up to -10C we’re all going to be walking around in t-shirts and shorts. Because it will be SO hot out! I swear my furnace hasn’t stopped running for a week now.

  6. robinellablog says:

    The scales are fun. My boys like to measure things too. And it was a VERY windy 70 degrees here in VA. I swear I live in the craziest place on earth, weatherwise that is.

  7. Steffi says:

    Yes playing is the best way to learning.The scales look like fun .You are on the best way to lweight loss.Really good,Debbie!

  8. Sirdar says:

    Do you need me to come over and blow that snow away?

    Too bad about the thing in the mouth. One day it will come out.

    I know Dawn enjoyed your company so it was all good!!

  9. Heather says:

    My kids love messing around with their scale.

    We’re enjoying some cold now too!!

    .8 pounds is STILL progress Debbie! 🙂

  10. my4kids says:

    It’s nice to have a friend you can visit with like that. I’m sure Dawn would be a great neighbor. I have a friend like that where we stay forever.

    I don’t blame your for not plowing the driveway. With that cold it would be insane. We aren’t as cold as you but still I don’t have any desire to shovel our deck and be out that long when I don’t have to.

  11. Pamela says:

    I’m just sitting here eating tapioca pudding while you lose weight @:

  12. Melanie says:

    Afteroon Debbie! Thanks for posting about the crib. Our daughter has braces at the mo. and still sucks her thumb. Wow I’ll stop moaning about the freakish weather we’ve been having in the UK. It was -40 when we last visited Canada to ski. We ended up in balaclavas looking like bank robbers LOL. At least the cold weather will help burn off some calories. Well done for losing more weight even with cabin fever. Hang in there- more will come off when you can be more active.

    Take Care,
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

