Looking to Get Younger…Not Older

I took a Real Age quiz over at Dr. Oz’s site. It asks you a bunch of lifestyle and health questions and then calculates your “Real” age. My calendar age is 34.3 but my Real Age is 39.1 with a difference of 4.8 years.   😯 Eeek.

I say eek because when I’m in my sixties I want to look and, more importantly, feel like I’m in my fifties or something. I don’t want to be an old lady walking around with a walker. At the rate I’m going, though, I’ll be sixty before I’m fifty!

BUT! I’m glad I’m making some changes. Slowly but surely because I want these changes to last.

This week I started working out on my treadmill. Just for twenty minutes but it feels good to get moving. After I’ve done that consistently for awhile I intend on adding this Dr. Oz workout. It’s at a beginner level and it uses only your body weight as resistance. No expensive gyms or weights. There are also other levels that incorporate tubing etc. here under “Get Moving”.

I also picked up a book from the library called “Eating for Life“. Heather at My Eclectic Blog has recommended it several times. He’s got an interesting method for losing weight that doesn’t involve counting calories or anything. For now, however, since I’ve committed to Weight Watchers with Adrian (and I don’t want to switch back and forth) I’m just going to enjoy the MANY great recipes he’s got in the book. His writing is also very motivating. It feels like this journey I’m on is actually do-able.

One tip from him that I’ve started doing is with regards to water. Drink lots obviously, but for me, I tend to forget about the glass or bottle that I’m nursing. Especially if I have a busy day out of the house. Sometimes it’s the end of the day before I realize I’ve only drank or two cups.

So, now, when I go for a drink of water I guzzle it all down in one shot. First thing in the morning I drink a 16 oz cup of water. (it’s funny that we were just talking about this, Dawn) I use a straw and it’s gone within a minute. It makes me feel a bit full at first but that goes quickly. Then I drink the next 16 oz on the treadmill or (if I’m not walking) I drink it during breakfast. By nine o’clock I’ve already gotten 32 oz out of way! An hour or so later, I drink down another 16oz and on and on. No more sipping forever on a glass and than trying to remember later if I’ve gotten all of my water.

One of my challenges is to keep the changes that I make permanent. Like many women out there, I’ve been on other diets. I’ve lost weight before. I start out hoping for big results, and I get them, but they don’t stay the course. 

It’s helping that Adrian and I are doing it together. I have a couple of other friends that are in Weight Watchers at the moment, too. My two closest friends are also trying to make healthy changes so it’s all around me. I have people to talk to when I’m feeling down.

Like last week when all I wanted to do was eat. My friend, G, really helped me through it.  🙂

Support • Encouragement • Good literature • Taking it slow • Feeling grateful for being healthy • Appreciating the blessings I have RIGHT NOW in my life • A WONDERFUL HUSBAND • GREAT FRIENDS (that includes you guys here in blogland!) • Remembering that it feels better to be healthy than it does to eat that Mc Chicken.

This will all get me through.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Health, Weight. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Looking to Get Younger…Not Older

  1. robinellablog says:

    Such a healthy approach to being healthy. I’m in your corner.

  2. Heather says:

    I’m trying to make my changes permanent too. It’s a work in progress… Great for you Debbie!!!

    I’m curious now… I’m going to take the age test to see where I’m at!!

  3. Heather says:

    I was thinking about the whole drinking water thing…I drink water sometimes with a straw too. Adding ice and some lemon makes it much better for me too. I drink a glass or two of water during or after my workouts. I also bring a water bottle with me where ever I go. Just sipping the 20 minute drive to town gets me extra water but also extra stops to the bathroom!!

    “the thought of getting healthier than the Mc chicken” Isn’t that a great motivator??? The other day I had to take Haley & her friends to Wendy’s there wasn’t a subway or anything else near by so we went there. I did order a salad & water but it would have been soooo easy to get a burger & fries. Eating unhealthy is very cheap and very easy and that is why so many people do it. My motivation is knowing that what I eat is what I’ll be wearing on me so I try to choose wisely these days.

  4. Janet T. says:

    I just did the quiz and I’m dying to know how old I am…..

  5. Pingback: Real Age Quiz « Far North Inspirations

  6. Sirdar says:

    Glad to hear that you are making some positive changes. I need to also change a few things…OK…lots of things 🙂

    Look forward to seeing the changes in both of you.

  7. wissink6 says:

    I’m going to go take the quiz too , not to excited about the results. I am glad I found you on here , had to search through Dawns friends

  8. Dawn says:

    I will have to do the test tomorrow. I started it, got half way through and it wouldn’t continue. By the time I got to lifestyle I was almost 2 years younger than my age. Don’t know what was coming, but hopefully I will remain younger. Oh, I like Jamie’s avitar, I haven’t noticed it before. Sometimes all this stuff is fun to talk about, and if it helps us all, all the better.

  9. Steffi says:

    Cool quiz!I will try it out too!

  10. beccy says:

    I have to wait an hour or two for the result!

    I also gulp down water, it’s the only way I can drink enough of it but I do find it hard on these cold days.

  11. my4kids says:

    I took the quiz and it put me at 2.5 years older! I don’t like that test!

  12. Heather says:

    you’ll hate me I took the test and was younger. I think it has to do with the last month of working out and eating healthier…

Leave a Reply

