Happy Valentine’s Day

I hope you’re having a good one.  We, on the other hand, don’t really celebrate it.  🙂 I’m quite glad that the kids are out of school and we’re not obligated to write out twenty little cards.  Do I sound jaded?  he he he  Well, maybe I’m just lazy. 

J likes Valentine’s Day.  She likes to make up little crafts for the occasion.  Perhaps we’ll do something like that today. 

Hey, and thanks to those who continue to come by and visit and comment.  My desire to be on the computer for long has really gone down lately, but I don’t want to post an “I’m on a break” message either.  Sometimes I just feel like writing or hanging out and reading blogs for a couple of hours.  However I can’t promise that either will happen with a lot of consistency.  And I don’t want to lose complete touch with you guys.  So, when I’m not commenting it’s not that I’m not interested.  I’m just not on the computer. 

What am I doing when I’m not on the computer you may be asking.  Or not.  But I’ll tell ya anyway! 

Just stuff.  Interesting, heh?  The days feel like they’re whipping by.  Some days I feel like we’re insanely busy with running the kids here, there, and everywhere.  Other days we’re hanging out at home the whole time doing school and what not. 

Yesterday we were at THE Mall all afternoon.  (If you’re from my area you know what Mall I’m referring to.)  The event at the indoor amusement park was hosted by Miss Dawn as a field-trip through our homeschool group.  We were there from noon to 4:30 ish.  Four…and…a…half…hours with the sound of games, rides, and kids ringing in my ears.  At the end I kind of felt like I’d go mad if I didn’t leave. 

I’m annoyed that I forgot my book, too.  Within the amusement park there is a tube system playground thing (kind of like those at a MacDonald’s playland but much much bigger).  My kids loved playing there.  They made up games and stories and were content to hang out there for quite awhile which left me hanging out on the benches.  And no, I had no desire to run and crawl through the tubes.  I did that with them when they were three, thank-you.  I did a little people watching but I didn’t really have the best vantage point.  If I’d had a book (or a magazine or even a pamphlet!) to read then all would’ve been right in my world.  I even tried phoning some friends but they either weren’t home or not willing to leave the much quieter food court…Dawn!  😉

Complaining aside (hmmm, I do that often, heh?) it was a great afternoon.  The kids had a blast.  I even got R (who is NOT into rides) onto a couple of new ones.  If he’d had his way, though, he would’ve either been at the bumper cars or playland all day.  And thanks to Dawn’s daughter, C, J got to go on a couple that I would never do because the spinning/swinging would’ve had me up-chucking all over everyone. 

I put some photos up on my private blog if you wanna take a look.

Today we’ve got some cleaning to do and then swimming lessons.  Tonight is Weight Watchers for me and Adrian.

I’ll catch y’all lata! 

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Field Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Janet T. says:

    Happy Heart day to you, oh “jaded one”. 🙂 Sounds like the field trip was….well, noisy. I’m glad I didn’t go. I feel like crap.

  2. robinellablog says:

    It looks like the kids had a blast. I don’t officially *do* v-day either. Yeah those Dawn’s of the world have it easy. (joking Dawn). I always think about when I can just let mine run loose or leave them at home while I run to the store. Oh what a day that will be. 🙂

  3. Dawn says:

    We don’t do heart day either. I am glad your kids had a good time. Mine sure enjoyed it. It is great to have them older, hanging with some friends and give them a cell phone so we can meet every once in awhile. I did eventually leave my other friend with her shopping to come sit with you, but by that time you had dragged the kids out and they were being entertained with the other kids. It was a good day to be out. And Robinella, your day will come.

  4. Heather says:

    we’re not to big on valentine’s day either. Haley made everyone cards and I made these little sweet goody bags for the kids and strawberry jello…Usually we make cookies or heart pancakes didn’t feel like it this year. Not too Valentiney around here…

  5. Joy T. says:

    Sounds like a busy and full day. Those loud amusement things can be draining after so many hours. Yet the kids seem to get more hyped up as the day goes on. Weird. I think my kids went there a few times when they were younger ‘but’ old enough that I didn’t have to sit there with them. I was the horrible mom who said “Uh no way am I sitting there. Wait til you’re older.” My kids will no doubt need therapy 🙂

  6. my4kids says:

    How did I miss you having a private blog? Can I see the pictures?
    I know what you mean about not being around all the time. I feel the same way lately just running kids around all over the place when not doing work with them doesn’t always leave a lot of free time.

  7. Steffi says:

    We not really celebrated Valentines Day here too.But happy V- day to you! In the Mall with Dawn-that´s sounds like a good day!You are always so busy!

  8. beccy says:

    I’m not spending as much time on line either. When you read and don’t comment it is so much quicker.

  9. Sirdar says:

    I’m not online blogging as much either lately. I have another vice….which is online…and I am actually winning more than losing 🙂

    Glad the kids had a great time. Ours were talking about it for a few days before it even happened. Sounds like they enjoyed themselves too.

  10. Emma says:

    I was home. You could have called me!

Leave a Reply

