I’m late! I’m late – for a very important date!

Why is it that when I have all of the time in the world time seems to move so slowly?  BUT.  When I’m in a hurry and running late it moves so much quicker??

We were late yesterday for the kids’ last day of swimming lessons.  So annoying.  We need to leave at around 2pm to get there (and in the pool) by the 2:30pm lesson.  The clock read 2:05 when I was hustling the kids out the door, but by the time they actually got outside and in the vehicle it was twenty minutes after!!  Grrr.  With a fifteen minute drive there was no way I was going to make it.

So, we were ten minutes late (and I drove the speed limit the whoooooole way!). 

As I was sitting and watching them swim I struck up a conversation with the other mom that was sitting there.  I’d seen her before but we hadn’t talked.  She was really nice and two of her six kids were around the same age as mine.  Her daughter was in J’s class.  It was a lovely conversation.   I just wished we’d talked earlier because since we’d just met it was way too early for the suggestion of a get-together.  You see, I don’t often meet homeschool families with girls that are J’s age, and she really wants some playmates.  In contrast we meet several families with boys and R makes friends so easily.  It’s through him that I met most of the mom friends I know, in fact! 

Well, maybe we’ll see that mom around another time.  (in a non-stockerish kinda way)

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m late! I’m late – for a very important date!

  1. giveitatry says:

    I have the same sort of problem with my five year old daughter. I never meet anyone with a girl her age – I understand why you wish you would have met the woman earlier.

  2. Dawn says:

    I hate being late. It seems we are late way too often. We even plan to leave 10 minutes before the time we are suppose to, then leave 5 minutes after the deadline time to leave. It also seems when that happens, people are driving 10 km below the speed limit. This morning that happened, taking C to the dentist. We left in good time, and then there was a police detour and 3 people in front of us at separate times going less than the speed limit and when we went by them, they were on their cell phones. It was so annoying. I got her to her appointment a minute to the time, but it was stressful and shouldn’t have been.

    Too bad you hadn’t met the lady earlier. Perhaps next swimming session, which I need to sign my girls up for, so let me know if you know when they start.

  3. Janet T. says:

    I don’t like being late either. Makes me grumpy.

    Was this homeschool swimming lessons?

  4. beccy says:

    Living in Ireland I have become so laid back I’m virtually horizontal and this makes me nearly always late. I get away with it here but it doesn’t go down so well when I’m back in the UK!

  5. bbZuSh says:

    I hate being late. That’s why I usally wake up 2some 3 hours before and leave home 1 hour before when I’ve got an important place to go. And that would be the time when I have to return back home ’cause I forgot something… and I’ll miss the bus and I’ll be sick. *cheh* Hate being late…

  6. Sirdar says:

    I hate being late for things too. At least they made it and you maybe found a new friend also…

  7. my4kids says:

    I tend to be late frequently but try to blame it on the kiddos of course you know when your late someone can’t find their shoes or coat or whatever!
    I’ve found people with children in both of my homeschool ages so far but we’ve been pretty lucky. Hopefully you see her again somewhere!

  8. Melanie says:

    Well done for getting them there.

    Hubby tells us it’s later than it really is when we have to get somewhere in time. Of course I am crafting to the last posssible second so I never check my watch. I am so useless with timescales generally. I just keep at something until it’s done.

    I know what you mean about talking to a new person. I think it does take a while to click that you’ve seen them before, so the chances are you have something in common. I tend to get flustered and can’t think of a thing to say when I finally pluck up the courage.

Leave a Reply

