A Short Post That Turned Into a Long Post

Now I know why I don’t bake.  Because I EAT…IT…ALLLLLLL

Adrian and R went into town on Sunday and left J and I to our own devices.   Wouldn’t it be nice to bake some banana chocolate chip muffins, I thought. 

I rarely bake and, as a result, often feel quite guilty.  I mean, I’m a stay-at-home mom.  I homeschool.  BUT.  I don’t bake.  Sadly, that’s not my only Martha Stewart definiciency.  When R (my oldest) was a baby I didn’t even make my own baby food.  And?  He turned orange.  Yes – Orange.  (I did make the baby food for J and was curious why I thought it’d be such a big deal)  And my gardening skills?  Meager at best.  he he  he  However, this wasn’t meant to turn into a Debbie bashing session where I list my shortcomings.  Because I do have – uh – longcomings.  Jeez, that sounded more clever in my head. 

Annnayway, my point is that while I have plenty of attributes, baking isn’t one of them.  But my kids love to bake so when I’m feeling particularly cheerful I pull out the measuring cups and spoons, put on a happy face, and begin the bonding process.  Sometimes it goes wonderfully.  Other times not so much.  There’s arguing over who is going to add the ingredients and who is going to stir.  Taking turns is helping that, obviously, but there are still times when there’s conflict.  I have learned I’ve got to step back and no be concerned if the finshed product isn’t perfect.

Maybe it was because I only had one child with me on Sunday but the banana muffins went quite well.  So, I decided to take my burst of baking a step further.  Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies.  A nice big batch. 

I wasn’t tempted to nibble at first, but as time went on and my feet grew more tired, I snuck a nibble of the delicious cookie dough.  Then another.  And another.  Until the point of no return.  I did begin to feel a little ill, but did that stop me?  Nooo.  I can be quite determined, you know, when I have the right motivation.  And when the cookies were baked?  Yes, of course, I had to have one or two or….well let’s just say I got a good taste.

So, in the end, I guess my baking skills were passible.  Although, 3/4 of the cookies were a tad over-cooked making them a bit crunchier then I would’ve liked.

On Monday we went to a neighbour’s house to play a game called Cash Flow.  It was created by the author of the Rich Dad Poor Dad books.  It’s a great game that teaches you the value of accumulating real assets that generate a passive income.  There’s also a kids’ version that I’d like to get.

So, I brought my cookies along and ate 3 or 4 more!  I am so dreading weigh in on Thursday.  I’m pretty much back on track now, so maybe I’ll just maintain.

I find it so interesting that some people like myself have such an issue with food while others don’t seem to.  That urge to eat, even when I’m not hungry, is so powerful at times.  It takes all my self control to resist, and I don’t always succeed.  How did this come to be a habit for me?  Did I learn it or is it a part of my genetic make-up?  Will I always struggle with this problem?  I so hope not.

Weight loss to me isn’t only about making better choices for what to eat.  A big part of it is getting over the issues of WHY I eat when I’m not hungry. 

When I was a girl, a couple of times per week I’d be left alone in the evening while my mom went out to Bingo.  I totally remember considering these evenings as an opportunity to eat whatever and how much I wanted.  I remember wishing that I wouldn’t get full because it was stopping me from eating more.  Isn’t that sick??  I mean, what’s up with that?  I wasn’t an overweight kid, though.  It wasn’t until puberty that I started to put on a bit of weight.  But I guess, it’s those habits of eating when I’m lonely or stressed that have stayed with me all of these years.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Introspective, Weight. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Short Post That Turned Into a Long Post

  1. Heather says:

    Debbie it’s just about making small changes, self control and not tempting yourself. If I had a bag of potato chips in my house right now I’d eat it. ALL. I also have been known to eat a whole pan of Rice Krispy Bars or batch of cookies…

    We have the Cash Flow game and the one for kids. They are awesome!!! We’re doing a Cash Flow night with some adults in a few weeks. Really makes you think about money and getting out of the Rat Race!!

  2. Debbie says:

    You’re right, of course, Heather. Keeping myself busy helps too.
    So, you like the Cash Flow for kids version? Do your kids like it?

  3. Janet T. says:

    I am TOTALLY a stress eater. I eat when I feel out of control. Which makes the eating….well, out of control too. Ugh.

  4. robinellablog says:

    You know if the “old” days I was stick thin. But I’ve always had this same problem. Luckily back then my metabolism worked…until I turned 30 and had baby #1. I remember coming home from school in 5th grade and eating no fewer than 4 slices of bread with peanut butter. The only reason I quit at 4 (some magic number in my head) is that 4 slices is about a quarter of the loaf and since my mom was a single gal then and worked so hard, I couldn’t pig out like that. Not if I wanted food later in the week. ha

    Even now, I can eat a whole batch of cookies, brownies, you name it. I always try not to but I taste the dough a few times and eat the broken ones and then eat more later. That’s where this 30 pounds came from. errr.

    Anyway, just wanted to let you know you are not alone. Like Heather said, I just try to keep my hands busy because I have no self control it seems. And don’t bake! Your kids will thank you later in life for not having the “taste” for baked sweets.

    I’ll have to check out this cash flow thing. My son would benefit from knowing a few things. (wink wink)

  5. Heather says:

    Yep my kids liked the game Debbie. It’s been awhile since we have played it and it takes awhile. But when we do it is their Math for the day. It’s really good getting the kids to think about “do dads” and stuff as you’ll find out playing the game. It is worth the investment!

  6. Dawn says:

    I think it is a normal thing for people to lack some self control. There are people with better metabolisms, people who exercise a lot, people who work outside in construction and people who do that and then are careful for a couple of days and maintain. I always think, if I could maintain at 50 pounds lighter it would be so much better than maintaining this weight I have had for 10 years. I think the biggest thing is to get it off first and not to fall into that trap too often.

    Sounds like a good game you didn’t play with us.

  7. G says:

    Hey Debbie
    Long time no talk!
    I like the way that you’re able to look at the old picture and the big picture together. Of course it is the small consistent steps that make us win each week. It’s the old picture that helps remind us that it’s not easy to change 30+ years of habits and lifestyles.
    I love the introspection here:
    ‘I find it so interesting that some people like myself have such an issue with food while others don’t seem to. That urge to eat, even when I’m not hungry, is so powerful at times’

    I wonder the same things.
    G

Leave a Reply

