Today

So far we’ve had a good day. The kids had music this morning, and while they were in their class I got a few groceries. I went shopping yesterday but there were a couple of things the store didn’t have in stock. It’s annoying when that happens!

After I went shopping I still had an hour to kill before I had to pick up the kids. Friends were busy and I didn’t want to spend money so I was left wondering how to fill my time. Thankfully I’d thought to bring along my book this morning, but where to read it? I did something I’ve always said I wanted to do someday (which will seem really trivial to most of you). I went to Second Cup, ordered a SLIM Late (only 2 points!), settled in one of those comfie chairs, and read my book. I’ve never hung out a coffee shop by myself. Imagine that! And I liked it. It might become a regular thing on Mondays if I don’t have a bunch of grocery shopping to do, which is what I normally do with a chunk of “me time”.

After music we went to the library, and I struck up a conversation with another mom from the kids’ music class whom I’d never really spoken to before. We had a great chat.

Then we came home and played some cards. Check out this idea of using an upside down shoe box for the kids to put their cards in when playing:

Games 001

It’s hard for many kids to hold all of the cards in their hands. Usually my kids will lay them out flat on the table with a barricade of cereal boxes around them to hide the cards from sight, but this is sooo much easier.

We played “Slap Jack”, “I Doubt It”, and “Old Maid”. Slap Jack caused frustration for J because she isn’t very fast. And they didn’t seem to really get the nuances of “I Doubt It” just yet. It’s about trying to get rid of your cards and bluffing in the process. R never wants to lose so he’d never bluff. Since I know this about him, I’d never challenge his play. J would bluff most of the time which R knew. Needless to say, the game got a little tedious, but I think it’d be better with Adrian. An extra person thrown into the mix and all that.

Now they’re playing outside. Welll, arguing/playing. J just came in complaining about R. That’s too bad, I said, you’ve gotta stay out there! Fun fun fun.   🙄

Tonight we have our homeschool support group meeting. The subgroup that I’m apart of (along with Dawn) is in charge of running this meeting. Since we haven’t done much to prepare, it should be interesting. Nooo, I’m not nervous at all! 😯

PS Sorry I missed your call last night, Dawn!  I just heard the message when we got home this afternoon.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Today

  1. Janet T. says:

    You guys did great at the meeting tonight! And tomorrow I think we’ll try “I Doubt It”…..

  2. Debbie says:

    Wow, I thought I’d be the only one up reading blogs tonight after coffee. Well, me and Dawn since she said she’s going to squeeze in a post!

  3. Dawn says:

    The meeting went very well tonight despite the long day. So funny teaching the kids to play cards. The upside down shoe box is a great idea.

  4. Pamela says:

    Thats a clever way to hold a hand of cards.
    Next time I play with grandkids I’ll remember that. (but finding a shoe box… not so easy)

  5. Steffi says:

    Cool game!And good to learn for your son!

  6. Heather says:

    Great idea for the cards!!!!

  7. my4kids says:

    Sounds like Monday was a good day for you. I love when I can sit back with a coffee and read a book! I used to do that on my lunch breaks sometimes in portland. I’d go over to the close by starbucks and sit in one of their really comfy chairs. I haven’t found anything like that here yet but it would be nice!
    I like the shoebox idea.

Leave a Reply

