One Wife or Three

Call me crazy, but I like that show called “Big Love“.  I guess it’s been on for a year, but not having satellite, just peasant vision, I’m seeing it for the first time.

The show is about a man practicing polygamy with three wives.  Okay, on one level it does repulse me, but I also find it strangely fascinating.  And it’s a modern twist in that they’re not all living in a weird stereotypically cult way. 

I like the relationship of the three women on the show.  How they help and support each other and, on the flip side, how they have to learn to get along when they’re quite different from each other. 

Having some extra hands to help with laundry and child care would be great.  I don’t think human kind was meant to live so separately from each other.  “It takes a village to raise a child” and all of that.  Yes, sharing the work load would be nice indeed, HOWEVER, I could not not not share my man.  Nope.  No way.  No how.  Probably because I’m too competitive.  Is she a better cook?  A better mom?  Smarter?  Better at – I’ll just say it – sex?  Okay.  That’s what I’d be most concerned with…the sex.  Each time, no matter how satisfying or (uh) mind blowing, I’d be tempted to muse to myself, “Now THAT’S gotta be the best he’s had.”

So, no, polygamy’s not for me.  I’ll hire a maid (an ugly one) and keep my man to myself.  But I’ll enjoy watching the show just the same.

My friend and I had an interesting conversation regarding the show this morning.  She despises it and, in fact, finds it insulting.  She says that polygamy gives men a reason to have a bigger ego than they already do.  Men, she says, may not admit it but at the core feel superior to women.  I didn’t agree.  But, now upon reflection, I’m not so sure.  What do you think?  Do all men feel superior to women?

PS  Sheesh.  This doesn’t mean I agree with Polygamy!  It’s obviously a ridiculous practice.  It’s a tv show – that’s all.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Wife or Three

  1. Dawn says:

    I can say this, there are no women with more than one husband; who would want more than one? I think there is a bit of superiority that goes both ways, depending on the persons in question. I think men who have more than one wive likely feel superior, or perhaps it is a situation where they are insecure and find ways to make themselves feel superior.

  2. Joy T. says:

    I agree 100% with your friend. Men may not admit it, but at the core feel superior to women. Well said. I haven’t seen the show but I’m intrigued now. I think I would get a kick out of watching it.

    And I always said if I ever had a babysitter or house keeper or anything like that that was very pretty, it wouldn’t bother me a bit. I would just be grateful for the help. Until we had a lady who came highly recommended to us. She was 20 (I was 25 with two babies and feeling like a tub of goo) and drop dead gorgeous and when we opened the door to let her in it was one of those “Close your mouth dear” moments. It didn’t really help that when she went to walk into the front room my husband tripped over his tongue. He said it was the carpet he tripped over, I called bull*hit. Much to my husband’s great dismay, I never asked her to babysit again.

  3. robinellablog says:

    I’m with you on the ugly part. I don’t know about the superiority part. I’ve met both men and women who share this view. This polygamy practice is like an accident. You slow down to watch, but are repulsed by what you see.

  4. my4kids says:

    I’ve only seen that show once. I agree the help would be nice but couldn’t handle sharing any of it!
    I do think to a degree men tend to see themselves a little at superior to women. But you know they can’t have kids and wouldn’t be able to handle it in my opinion if they could!

  5. Janet T. says:

    I think in some ways men feel superior. But then, we feel superior to them in some ways too….

    That show sounds stupid.

  6. Debbie says:

    Yeah, it is. I think that’s why I like it!

  7. Heather says:

    I think the show is FUNNY! Really 3 wives??? Could you imagine??? I haven’t seen the show in awhile but to me it’s funny.

    My hubby feels bad for the guy with 3 wives…3 hormonal, emotional women to deal with….

  8. Alas my superior status must have had all the inferior ladies – run away 😦

Leave a Reply

