Are you (going) to the Sciiiencce Fairrrr? (insert tune by Simon & Garfunkel)

Well, darn it all anyway.  I’m sick again…or still – I’m not sure which.  I have a cough/bad throat.  I wasn’t going to bug you with it again, but I’m annoyed because the kids and I missed out on going to a cool science fair thingy today.  And a FREE science fair thingy at that.

A friend called this morning at 10 am.  I was still in bed moaningresting.  She told me about the fair being held at the University specifically for my kids’ age group, and said if we wanted to go with her that she’s leaving in an hour.  (We’d have to leave in a half hour in order to get to her place on time.)  Now, any homeschooler knows that it’s their obligation to go to all things educational especially if they’re free.  😉 So, I hauled myself outta bed and into the shower.  As soon I was dressed I started barking at the kids to get dressed – we’re leaving in 15 minutes! I said. (they were snuggled up on the couch watching a movie)  TheyR started complaining that he just wanted to spend the day at home for once.  We did that all day yesterday, I pointed out.  I threw clothes at them, ran to the kitchen, and put a bagel in the toaster.  Checked the time:  10:20 am.  While I was waiting for the bagel, I went back to the living-room and barked some more at the kids.  They hadn’t moved.  Then I heard my bagel pop.  I went back to the kitchen and proceeded to look in the fridge for the cream cheese, but it was no where to be found.  “Isn’t there any more cream cheese?”, I croaked out (barely having a voice due to being sick).  Apparently, R had had the last amount on hisbagel earlier.  Grrr.  Well, I can’t have a bagel without cream cheese, so I started rooting around in the cupboard for the cereal.  10:25 am.  “Are you guys dressed??”, I said, my voice a squeak now. “Huh?”, they answered.

At that point, I was feeling very hurried and not that well, actually, so I just…sigh…gave up – or simply came to my senses.  I called my friend and cancelled.  It just wasn’t going to happen.  Next, I went into the living-room and had a bit of a temper tantrum at the kids for not doing what they were told and they…well, they looked up at me, at least.

And now, an hour later, I’m on here.  J just came in and announced that she was ready to go to the science fair!!!

Ahhhhhh!

It’s for the best.  The kids can clean their rooms, do dishes, and basically be my slaves.  I can watch a movie and fold laundry.  But that guilty little voice at the back of my mind can’t help feeling bad for not taking the kids to do something fun and educational.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Are you (going) to the Sciiiencce Fairrrr? (insert tune by Simon & Garfunkel)

  1. Dawn says:

    I can’t believe you missed the science fair. Your kids are so missing out on the finer things in life, with you home schooling and all 🙂 . It is funny how the kids will just want to stay home instead of take the opportunities presented them. I had 2 stay home from our cultural event last night. I can relate though in wanting to relax at home sometimes instead of go every single moment. It would frustrate me to have one of them come when it was too late and say, we should, or should have.

  2. Janet T. says:

    You can’t make it to everything, free or not! 🙂 I hope you start feeling better soon. This one has a hold of you and it just won’t let go!

  3. Sirdar says:

    Don’t beat yourself up. If you are not feeling well..and they did seem to indicate that they were tired of all the running around…maybe it was the best that you stayed home. Hope you start feeling better soon.

  4. Debbie says:

    LOL, Dawn. 🙂

    You’re right, Janet, it’s not possible to go to everything.

    Thanks, Sirdar. I’m don’t feel THAT bad, but ya know how it is. It just sounded fun.

  5. Carla says:

    Sounds like you need to be staying home and getting better. I hope you get over whatever you have soon.

  6. Melanie says:

    How about looking at it a bit differently? Your children learned (in theory) the life lesson to get ready when told or miss out. One of those “consequences for your own actions” things. So don’t beat yourself up- you were too ill to do the “bulldoze them out the house” routine.

    Well done for losing 10lbs! We have finally bought some clever scales which tell you your BMI and other embaressing things. ….I’ve not had the courage to do battle on them yet. I’ll just try to sneak a bit more weight off first so I’m not carted off to hospital with shock. 🙂

  7. Joy T. says:

    Can you imagine all that rushing around, stress and perhaps even a bit of yelling to get to the science fair….and then you have to leave because you’re coughing so bad. Or worse come home much more sick then when you left. Or WORSE, spread your sicky germs to everyone else at the science fair. As a germaphobe and someone who has miraculously not been sick this winter I’m here to tell you…..thank you for staying home 🙂 Hope you’re better soon!

  8. Heather says:

    Sometimes it just isn’t worth it and it seems like it was meant to be yesterday because YOU needed to stay home and get better!!! 🙂 Hope you start feeling better soon!!!!

  9. aims says:

    I sure hope you didn’t send any of those germs my way girl…grrrrrr…I hate being sick! (and I’ve been fighting this damn headache for days now)

  10. Steffi says:

    I hope you feeling better soon and I agree with the other comments too.

  11. my4kids says:

    I’ve had days like that, especially when sick. If you were feeling bad enough though it’s prbably best you guys stayed home. Madison is usually the one to come up to me an hour to late to tell me that she is ready to leave now!

  12. scottishwriter says:

    I think I prefer Scarborough Fair version – without the coughing 😉

Leave a Reply

