A Tangible Result

Since I’ve been documenting my weight loss journey on here, I’ve been aware that it sounds silly when I write something like, “Whoo hoo, I’ve lost 1.6 lbs”.  Or, “Poor me, I’ve gained 0.8 lbs”.  POINT 8?  Come on.  I probably just needed to pee that day, right?  These “point” somethings of a pound are a little over the top.  They can turn an already obsessive mind like mine more obsessive.  Not to mention that the scale is an imprecise way of measuring the changes I want to have happen with my body.  BUT.  This changing the way I eat and treat food isn’t always so easy. 

Each time I choose not to have a second helping of supper when that chicken curry with rice smells sooooo good, or not to chow down on freshly baked banana chocolate chip muffins it is a small victory.  When I have foam instead of whip on my skinny mocha or have a mini bag of no cal/no taste popcorn instead of my previous usual large bowl of buttery popcorn goodness I feel that I’ve earned every small increment of a pound lost.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m keeping a pretty positive attitude.  I no longer miss the whip on my mocha.  I use spray fat free butter on my popcorn and it’s actually pretty good.  Last week, I had decided to have seconds at dinner and whoa was I full.  Still, these changes are -well – changes.  And I find change tough!

This week, though, I’m enjoying a real and tangible result.  I’m fitting a smaller size of clothing!  Yippee!!  Without telling you my weight (because I’m not that crazy) I will say that I have roughly sixty pounds to lose. Actually, fifty now!  😀 I’ve had this same weight to lose for years, and I’ve been the same size (which I also won’t divulge) for just as long.  In the last year or so, though, I gained an additional ten pounds which caused me to go up a size.  And now.  Now, I’m back down.  It just feels good to put on clothes that, not long ago, were too snug.

Soon enough these clothes will be too loose as well.  But today, in this moment, I’m just going to enjoy how much better I feel now.  A bit lighter, a little more energized, and on my way to being free.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Weight. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Tangible Result

  1. Janet T. says:

    That has GOT to feel good! Good for you! Keep up the good work, I love your attitude!

  2. Heather says:

    GREAT FOR YOU DEBBIE!!!!!

    The scale can be misleading sometimes too…I have learned to weigh myself in the mornings and not at night. A few weeks ago I weighed myself (ofcourse after dinner) and was so discouraged that I had lost some progress. In the morning I was back on track.

    I’ve been trying not to go for 2nds too. Even though I am cooking healthy meals and feel somewhat justified to have 2nds I have been holding back and have discovered that I am plenty full.

    It’s small changes and then it has just became routine for me anyway. I am totally fine with fat free creamer and splenda in my coffee. I used to never dream I could enjoy coffee any other way except with cream and sugar.

  3. Joy T. says:

    YEAAAAAA GOOD FOR YOU DEBBIE!!! Keep up the great work! 🙂

  4. Emma says:

    Way to go! I need some of your willpower.

  5. Congratulations on your continued success – such determination is worthy of the highest praise.

    May I recommend: Savours Rosemary & Sea Salt Thins with cottage cheese – my waistline is kept in check eating such.

    Although it could be due to my recent move to my new lovely home and still not accessing appropriate foods – just yet…

  6. G says:

    So inspirational!!!

    That blog is so Oprah worthy:)

    Good for you. Nice job Debbie.

    G

  7. aims says:

    Any weight off has to help with the jowls..:) (notice I didn’t forget the smiley?)

  8. Melanie says:

    That is so fantastic Debbie! Well done -just the boost you need. In our house my temptation is to eat the cookies and things which I’ve baked for the children or to buy crisps. Huge weakness. Cheering you here hun! Can you say “long may you shrink” ? lol

  9. Dawn says:

    Way to go. Keep up the great work. Maybe you will be able to come skiing with us next year, or even tomorrow.

  10. Steffi says:

    That´s great , Debbie! Really good!

  11. scottishwriter says:

    Achieving what can be a daunting thought – shows your ‘true grit’

  12. two cats are better than one says:

    taken baby steps well take you a long way.

  13. Pamela says:

    I wish you would lose them a little better, because I keep finding them (on my scales)

  14. my4kids says:

    things fitting different is so much better for gaging how the weight loss is going anyway. Glad your feeling better about it.

Leave a Reply

