Our Trip

So, I said I’d be catching up with y’all early in the week and I’m aware that Friday hardly constitutes as early. 😀 My poor new laptop is already infected with a virus (yes, Sirdar, perhaps we should’ve gotten a Mac, but you know what hethinks of Macs). I should be getting it back from the laptop fixit place today. In the meantime, I’m back in the basement, which also means that I didn’t do anyblogging this week.  Zip, zilch, nada.  So, I’ve got a lot of catching up to do when I get my baby laptop back.

We had a great time on our trip last weekend with the Junior Forest Wardens. (Jamie {I’m spelling your name wrong – sorry!}, check the link out to learn more about the JFW). We stayed just outside of Hinton in a Junior Forest Ranger camp. They let us have two log cabins for our use. They both had electricity and were heated with wood burning stoves. They took awhile to warm up but once they did they were very toasty. Sometimes too toasty, in fact.

The main event for the weekend was the ice walk through Malinge Canyon in Jasper on Saturday night.  So, Saturday was free for us to do what we wished. One family went skiing, a couple of others went into Jasper for the afternoon, and the rest of us hung out around the cabins. The weather was gorgeous so the kids pretty much spent the day outside building shelters and having snow ball fights.

JFW Mar 08 010

The girls here worked hard building and lighting their own fire. You can see one of the cabins in the background.

JFW Mar 08 016

This is my only decent shot of the mountains. 😦 This is from in the town of the Jasper.

As I mentioned we did something called an Ice Walk in Maligne Canyon. In the summer, you take in gorgeous waterfalls and streams, and in the winter all of that water freezes into what look like ice sculptures. We chose a night tour because we were told about how beautiful the ice is when lit up. My photo taking ability, however, will not do it any justice. Most of the pictures are with the flash which, of course, washes out any colour. And the ones I attempted without the flash are blurry. Ah well, it’s one of those places that you’ll just have to come visit for yourselves. 🙂

The tour began in Jasper. We signed up with a place that provides the tours and all of the equipment. The equipment included felt lined rubber boots, steel grippers that attach over the bottom of the boots, and a head lamp for each person.

From Jasper it’s a ten minute drive to the canyon. Once there, our 36 person group was divided into three smaller ones. After we crossed a swaying suspension bridge we began the hike. It was difficult at first because we quickly gained elevation and I’m really out of shape we were wearing all of our snow gear. J had a hard time at first, too, and I was worried she wouldn’t be able to stay the course. The guide, however, mindful that we were a bunch of “light weights”, stopped several times and pointed out things along the way that we might have otherwise missed.

Soon enough we were down and walking on the ice of the frozen river winding into the canyon. I was thankful for the grippers on our boots as we maneuvered up and over ice-covered obstacles. We gawked at the canyon walls, marveled at the luminous ice, and enjoyed the guide’s funny and educational stories.

It was a wonder to see. I hope to take the walk during the day sometime so that we can enjoy the sights on the trail back.

(I’ll also have some photos at my private blog if you want to take a gander.)

JFW Mar 08 022

Our guide lighting up the ice.

JFW Mar 08 030

When lit, the ice revealed beautiful colours.

JFW Mar 08 033

JFW Mar 08 047

JFW Mar 08 054

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Camping, Junior Forest Wardens. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Our Trip

  1. Heather says:

    So beautiful there! What a great weekend!!!! Love the ice pictures…GORGEOUS!!!

  2. Janet T. says:

    That is amazingly beautiful!

  3. Joy T. says:

    Your pictures are great Debbie and it’s such a beautiful place. We’ve gone down there in the summer a number of times (back when I was skinny) but have never gone in the winter. Which is why it’s on my Bucket List 🙂 Sounds like you have a lot of fun on your Junior Forest Warden trips. Lots of great memories for your kids!

  4. Dawn says:

    It looks like a great time and tour. That is amazing. I have been there in summer also, but not with the ice. Something we will have to do sometime.

  5. Emma says:

    That’s breathtaking! I’m pretty sure I’ve been there in summer, but never winter.

  6. my4kids says:

    Wow those are some awesome pictures! Love seeing them, thanks for showing them to us. I have chains I have for my shoes when it is really icy here since my car won’t make it up our hill. They were a blessing for several weeks a couple of weeks back!

  7. aims says:

    I’ve always wanted to do this – but a jaunt to Jasper for the day is not just a jaunt is it. You must plan an overnight…sigh..

  8. Sirdar says:

    Sounds like a great time was had by all. As Dawn mentioned, we have been there in the summer but never in the winter. Maybe next year as I would like to take the kids skiing and then we could also do the ice walk.

    (I’m surprised HE didn’t put on any virus protection on the laptop 😆 )

  9. bermudabluez says:

    WOW! What terrific pictures of the ice and the scenery looks gorgeous! I popped over from Dawn’s blog for a visit…hope you both enjoyed your coffee!!

  10. Pamela says:

    what a great trip.
    I’m envious.

  11. robinellablog says:

    Those photos are beautiful and what lucky ducks you are to get to go on such an adventure!

  12. Steffi says:

    I wish you and your family HAPPY EASTER !

  13. Wow, certainly well worth the wait for your post.

    Amazing detailed photo’s – and they do create images of beauty – the ice – I mean…

    An educational experience for everyone and delighted you captured your trip with such lovely photo’s.

  14. If your kids ‘J’ & ‘R’ bring a smile to you this joyous day – may they also leave an Easter Egg or two – as this will show it comes from the heart 🙂

    Hope you all have a wonderful Easter Day.

  15. ~grey says:

    gorgeous photos…

Leave a Reply

