A Fun Funeral This Weekend

Huh? – You may be thinking? Fun and funeral aren’t usually words that you see paired up, but this time they went hand in hand. And that’s exactly what my Aunt Madeleine (or Mad as many called her) would’ve wanted.

She was my dad’s aunt, thereby my great Aunt, and she passed away on March 15/08. She was 79 years old.

Aunt Mad was an awesome lady whose love of both playing and inventing games were renowned. She had an amazingly artistic creativity and she donated her talent to several organizations in the form of posters or whatever else was needed. She was a great friend and could be counted on to be ready with a pot of coffee whenever a visitor dropped by the house.

I loved and appreciated her bluntness. Many of my life lessons came from her in a one sentence straight-up manner. She was always pragmatic but genuinely loving.

I could go on, of course. Her love of reading, her propensity for good times and laughter, and her weird ability to draw children to her. But you can’t wrap up someone’s life in a few sentences. It’s enough to say that she was loved and she will be missed.

My parents and I traveled nine hours to Eastend (the epitome of small town), Saskatchewan this past weekend for the funeral. There is much of my family’s history wrapped up in this town. Nestled in the Cypress Hills far from everywhere, it’s a secluded but beautiful prairie community.

eastend300x200 ds

Photo compliments of Eastend Economic Development site.

Because I spent many of my childhood summers in Eastend it became like a second home. Just rounding the corner and seeing main street come into view after the long drive gave me a profound feeling of peace.

100 1805

It doesn’t look like much perhaps but this street is where I walked many a time as a child with various summer friends so, to me, it’s special.

me and sherri

That’s me on the right with my friend, Sherri, at the Dino Days parade. We never wore shoes, for some reason.

This weekend was indeed a good-bye to Aunt Mad but it was also a good-bye to the town of Eastend. Around 1912 my Great Grandparents came to homestead in South Fork just outside of Eastend.

Great Granparents

My Great Grandparents

For a long time that farm was the heart of my family, the Beausoliels. It was where my grandma, Yvonne, along with her brothers and sisters (Lucien, Adrienne, Marcel, and Madeleine) were raised.

Grandparents with children

The Beausoleils from left to right: Antoine (Joe’s brother), Joe (my great grandpa), Laurence (my great grandma), Lucien, Yvonne (my grandma), Adrienne, and Marcel. Madeleine wasn’t born at the time of the photo.

Eventually Adrienne, Yvonne, and Madeleine married and raised children of their own. Adrienne and Madeleine moved to BC; Yvonne stayed in the area. When my grandfather died she came home to live with her brothers who never did marry. Uncle Lucien had stayed and worked the farm while Uncle Marcel was drafted to the army and fought in WWII.

Uncle Marcel

During their older years Uncle Lucien still lived at the farm while Uncle Marcel lived in Eastend with my grandmother. With many a child coming to stay during the summer, the farm and Eastend continued to remain the foundation of the family. It’s the home to which many of us returned.

100 1787-2

The house where I spent my summers with my Grandma, Uncle Marcel and Aunt Mad.

My summers were rich and fun filled. Most days I could be found at the town pool, romping around town with friends, or eating fries at Jack’s Cafe.

100 1777

I love that tree. I had great times climbing it and just hanging out in its branches.

100 1773 100 1776

Two of my favourite haunts: Jack’s Cafe had THE best french fries. My friends and I would always stop in there when I saw one of my uncle’s trucks parked outside because they’d be sure to pay for our fries. On the right is Charlie’s. At the outside sidewalk window, he served the best chocolate milk shakes I’ve EVER had.

After Grandma passed away, Aunt Mad came to live in Eastend in order to care for her brothers, Marcel and Lucien. I came to stay for two more summers with her.  Later, with my uncles having passed on, Aunt Mad was the last surviving member of her brothers and sisters. Now the farm’s been sold and everyone else moved away. With her passing so has 96 years (almost a century!) of our side of the Beausoleil family’s presence in Eastend.

100 1793

Gorgeous prairie countryside.

100 1845

Dad attended this school for about a year when he was seven years old.

100 1844

Aunt Mad’s children (Linda, Kenny, and Danny) hosted a wonderful weekend celebratory of her life and so, the family returned to this little town with a big heart to say good-bye. Right from the beginning they set an up-lifting tone that we gladly followed. Stories were told and laughed over and no one even minded that we’d heard most of them already.

There was a simple service held on Saturday morning with Aunt Mad’s wonderful friends and, of course, family in attendance. Afterwards we returned to the house and with a meal fit for royalty along with much laughter, I think Aunt Mad would’ve been proud. I almost heard her laughing along with us.

100 1815

A memory table. Family photos on the wall and mementos on the table including a bottle of Cointreau, apparently my aunt’s favourite drink and known to most to be not so good tasting. 🙂

100 1812 100 1822

This is Aunt Mad when she was younger. I think she’s just beautiful.

Aunt Mad

Aunt Mad dressed up for my medieval wedding (click the link to see a short slide show of the wedding).

A video of our final toast to Aunt Mad.

100 1857

The celebration carried on well into the night. See that glass of red wine I’m holding? Well, it certainly wasn’t the last one I drank that night. :mrgreen: (I used the green guy because that’s how I felt the next morning.)

Good bye, Aunt Mad. Good bye to Eastend, this lovely town where everyone waves at you when they drive by.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Fun Funeral This Weekend

  1. Pamela says:

    I so enjoyed the trip back to say goodbye to Aunt Mad. A little sad for the town, too.

  2. Dawn says:

    What a wonderful tribute. I loved reading about your past and family. I got on your private blog via Sirdar’s invitation. Nice memories in photos and video.

  3. wissink6 says:

    What lovely memories Debbie.It is so sad sometimes letting go of the good traditions we have growing up.What a beautiful tribute to your Aunt Mad.

  4. Steffi says:

    What a great tribute to your Aunty and nice memories!Good bye ,aunt Mad have a nice way!

  5. A moving tribute of your Dear Aunt and one in which she would be so very proud in knowing you have followed her philosophy of life and it creativity too.

    Fond memories may you retain always.

  6. aims says:

    Aunt Mad would be proud of you Debbie.

    Your beautiful tribute is filled with love, wisdom and creativity!

    It is hard to say goodbye to someone so well loved and you obviously have memories that will carry you through this.

    It’s too bad the town of Eastend won’t know of your beautiful tribute to it as well.

    You done good girl…

  7. Joy T. says:

    Wow, you don’t post very often any more but when you do!! A beautiful post and so well written. Through your eyes I feel I know Aunt Mad and I admire her for sure. Especially her straight up manner 🙂 I can’t wait to see the video. Well done Debbie.

  8. Joy T. says:

    Oh whoops. Nevermind. I thought you meant facebook LOL But I bet the video is special too!

  9. Heather says:

    What a sweet tribute to a great woman. Your summer home town seems like yester year and such a nice community. Your aunt sounds like she was a remarkable woman. Sorry for your loss.

  10. Sirdar says:

    I can see why the title of the post matches the story. Great story. It must have been fun to reminisce like that. I do that sometimes but I don’t have to go as far. I went to Winterburn school and lived on the same property where Dragon’s Head Golf Course now resides on Hwy 16. Yup…the clubhouse is where the barn used to be…..

  11. Emma says:

    That sounds like the perfect funeral. I hope one day that mine has more laughter than tears.

  12. G says:

    I was thinking about you on the weekend hoping that the driving went well and you all returned safe.
    I LOVE the old town atmosphere and have a street of my own that I remember.

    Thanks for sharing your own creativity here!
    G

  13. Mad's son Kenny says:

    Wow Deb! That was great. We all have great memories of Eastend – Shaunavon area – Beausoliel & Nikish. Our Cointreau hangovers were testi-moan-ial of a late night,right cousin Mick! Madeleine would surely have liked this site. Thanx cousin Debbie ! Love Ken.

  14. Dan the Man says:

    That was absolutely heart warming for me Deb very much appressiated thankyou love DBee

  15. val says:

    Debbie you did a super job. Yes Mad will be greatly missed by my family me and the people of Eastend. Our town may not be big but we have BIG heart in it. I do hope some time you will come back for a visit. Deb the responsible 1 that was green the next day!

Leave a Reply

