Debbie and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

The bad stuff:

  • I was in a car accident this morning. 
  • The kids were with me.
  • It was my fault.
  • The guy was driving a BMW.
  • His car was undrivable – he needed a tow.
  • His Grandmother’s funeral is tomorrow.
  • He just got out of the hospital last week because he had a blood clot in his leg.
  • Could I not have picked a worse guy to get into an accident with??  Sheesh.
  • I feel like shit about it.

The Good Stuff:

  • No one was hurt.
  • My kids are okay.
  • My kids are okay.
  • The other guy was very nice about it all.
  • He was okay, too.
  • The witness who stayed was sooo nice and comforting to me.
  • There wasn’t too much damage to my van.
  • I was able to drive home.
  • Adrian isn’t that mad.  He’s not happy, of course.  Well, maybe he is mad, but he’s not showing me.
  • I have the best of friends that manage to always say the right things. Thanks, G, for reminding me to focus on the good stuff!  Thanks, L, for listening!
  • My kids.  Are.  O-kay.
About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Debbie and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

  1. Heather says:

    And I thought my day was bad when swimming got cancelled because someone barfed in the pool and all my viruses came back on my computer.

    Glad you are alllll okay!!! In the big picture that is what truly, truly matters.

  2. Dawn says:

    Oh, that is so terrible. I am glad you are all okay. That is a crappy day. Good thing you don’t have any donkeys to escape this evening;-).

  3. Sirdar says:

    Glad to hear you and the kids are OK. Vehicles can be fixed, people not so easily. Glad to hear that the other guy was good about it.

    Take care!!

  4. wissink6 says:

    You are so right about what is important. You are all ok.Sirdar is right , things can be replaced and fixed.Hope you have a much better day.

  5. aims says:

    OMG! Talk about getting dumped on!

    That is terrible Deb! What rotten luck!

    The great thing is that no-one was hurt. That would make everything 20 times worse.

    And insurance – we have to be really thankful that the government insists on insurance!!

    Oh dear – well – I’m thinking of you.
    Perhaps we could just not do with March next year.

  6. Janet T. says:

    Debbie! How awful! I am so thankful that you are all right!!!!! VERY thankful. It happens to the best of us.

  7. Momma Schmoo says:

    Thank goodness everyone was OK. Hope things are better today.

  8. robinellablog says:

    So glad you are all OK. I’m a pro at this kind thing. If you need any advice or help, call me. :-O

  9. Joy T. says:

    Lordy my heart just about jumped into my throat here! I’m so glad you and the kids are ok Debbie. And I know you feel bad but these things just happen sometimes. It sounds like everyone is handling it….meaning being decent human beings about it…..and that’s half the battle. It’s when the guy you hit gets really obnoxious that makes it so much worse. I’m thinking about you!

  10. Emma says:

    Oh, Debbie, I am so sorry to hear that. I’m glad you and the kids are okay. And that guy? Well, I figure he knows that a blood clot in the leg could have ended up killing him and so really? A car accident in which no one is hurt is not such a big deal. You’re all alive, and that is all that matters.

  11. Steffi says:

    Oh poor Debbie!I´m so sorry to hear all about it!I understand you when you feel shit now! Everybody have such days!But the importanst is you all are okay!

  12. poetofmind says:

    I too am so relieved that you are all okay, and no trauma days after.

    I find I am becoming increasingly reluctant to drive – given the amount of traffic on the road especially within the city.

    The most important thing is that you are all safe.

Leave a Reply

