I’m Allergic!

I’ve been so good at exercising lately – getting on my treadmill at least three times per week for the past month.  I do a good hard work-out, too, continuously increasing the incline.  And I’ve been feeling great.  More energized.

THEN. On Monday.

I went on for my usual 30 minutes and completely broke out into hives. My entire upper body was covered. Chest, stomach, back, and face. Freaked, I phoned my doctor and they got me in a couple of hours later. Of course, by then the hives were nearly gone. He said it must have been something I ate and gave me some allergy medicine to take home.

THEN. On Tuesday.

Same thing. It didn’t seem as bad, though. I took the allergy medicine and the hives eventually went away.

Wednesday.

Didn’t feel like getting hives so I didn’t exercise.

Thursday.

Didn’t feel up to exercising due to my car accident.

Friday.

Went on the treadmill for 30 minutes. Got the crazy hives all over my back and chest AND my tongue swelled to a ginormous size! Look!!!

Exercise 005

My face was really red, too, and my lips were swollen.

After taking the allergy medicine, it took about three hours for my tongue to go back to normal. Crazy or what?

I haven’t gone on the treadmill this weekend for fear of what will swell up next.  Like my throat!

This has never happened to me before. Obviously, I’ll be going back to the doctor. But can it be true? Am I really allergic to exercise??

It pays to have good neighbours.  My next door neighbour is a nurse.  On the weekend, during a neighbourhood bonfire I was going on and onjust happened to mention my hives to the ladies.  Then – just now – she called me from work where she’d been talking about my “condition” with her fellow nurses.  She remembered my saying I’d switched laundry detergents a couple of weeks ago.  I’d dismissed it as a possible cause of the hives since it HAD been a couple of weeks, and this started happening this week.  But, apparently, when you exercise your pores open up and get more sensitive to potential toxins.  (makes sense, right?)  So, I bought some of my old detergent.  Hopefully, this will mark the end of my hives episodes.  Thanks, neighbour!

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I’m Allergic!

  1. Heather says:

    That’s crazy!!! Hope switching back to your old detergent fixes everything! Smart neighbor!!

    It’s kind of scary the toxins in cleaning products and detergents on what they can do to you!!

  2. Pamela says:

    stress can give you hives, too.

  3. Sirdar says:

    It is pretty scary when you don’t know what the cause is. I didn’t think of the detergent but I did think it was something with your clothes. Hope the change back works.

    I once woke up and my throat was swelled up. It was actually my uvula that was swelled. Went to the hospital because I couldn’t talk and breathing was difficult. It was because my uvula was going back and forth over my tongue…..it happens with Sleep Apnea at times…

  4. Eileen says:

    http://www.notmilk.com

    http://www.drmcdougall.com Dr.John McDougall free newsletter, DVD’s excellent

    http://www.nutritionadvocate.com Dr. T. Colin Campbell, “The China Study”

    http://www.pcrm.org + http://www.nutritionmd.com Dr. Neal Barnard: Food For Life, Food That Fights Pain, Breaking The Food Seduction etc.

    “Vegan Italian”, Donna Klein

    Before making dietary changes, consult with your Physician.

    Dairy is the problem! Soy milk isn’t any better, see Dr. Mc Dougall’s newsletter or DVD ( the one that mentions former President Clinton).

    Try rice milk,or fruit juice,( oj or pineapple etc.) in your cereal.

    True Information = freedom!

  5. Dawn says:

    I think it is the laundry detergent or one of the other things you and I discussed is the cause, but you might be allergic to exercise 😀 . I am sure there is not a blanket cure suggested by promoters of anti-“whatever” programs. Frankly one person’s truth may not be fact. Bias has a strong pull. That is truth as I see it.

  6. Melanie says:

    Ouch Debbie I hope it gets sorted soon. I get allergic symptoms each time I’m exposed to celery. It’s got worse each time. Would you believe “Twiglets” have celery seed in them? I didn’t even think to look and had to resort to medication when my lips and mouth started swelling last week. Your Dr can run some skin tests to see what your cause is. Some foods can also cause weight gain if you are allergic. Ooo now don’t I sound like a happy cheerful bunny! Take care hun. So glad you and your children weren’t hurt in the car accident.

  7. debsgr8r says:

    Dang. I was really hoping that you were allergic to the exercise so that I could use that excuse too. I had the story all thought out too…tongue swelling, red blotchy skin…the works!
    I supposed exercising naked is not really an option, huh?
    Happy Exercising.

  8. aims says:

    Man – let’s just write March off – you’ve had a doozy one…

    I shrieked when I saw your tongue! That is not even funny! Scary is more like it…all you need is for your throat to swell closed…I’m with the above gal – exercise naked…of course then you’ll be showing us the bruises from your boobs knocking you senseless..but oh well..

  9. Joy T. says:

    Scarey for sure. I believe it about the detergent because if I use anything but the detergent I use, I break out something terrible. Sure makes you wonder what’s in most of those detergents! Hope that’s the reason though and you’ve figured it out. Otherwise I see an allergy test in your future.

  10. poetofmind says:

    I’m pleased your nurse – mentioned the reasons – as that is what I would have said too.

    Of course – this does mean that you will now be able to return to the treadmill 😉

    One can say I admire your positive approach of the treadmill on a regular basis. I of course try to avoid – as it gets in the way of my pipe smoking.

  11. Steffi says:

    That looks scary!You have a medicine for it?

  12. robinellablog says:

    Oooo, hope it’s cleared up now. Try some earth friendly brands. They don’t have all of those crazy chemicals.

  13. Not that I’m impressed a lot, but this is more than I expected when I stumpled upon a link on Delicious telling that the info is awesome. Thanks.

  14. Pat Atkinson says:

    Hi! I just went through the same thing. woke up with my toungue like that and had to call 911 within 20 minutes. I too changed detergents and had just washed my sheets. Others tell me the tongue only has to do with a food allery. Its happened to me befor with new prescriptions. I used the epi pen but its scary and i understand can be dangerous. I had had rice a roni, fried rice for the fist time the night befor also and suspect that too. Gosh, any help or advice would be great!

  15. Tracey says:

    I had the same thing happen to me, but it turned out to be exercised induced anaphalaxis. I actually started going into anaphalatic shock while on a park trail. www.http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/886641-overview. I had never heard of such a thing when this happened to me. It is tied to several different things, food, hormones, & specifically for me it only happens when I am on my monthly cycle. I have always been someone who prided themselves on not having allergies, so this type of reaction to running was unexpected- especially since I run about 5 times a week, but at least 30 minutes. Since my initial reaction I have the attacks more and more frequently, but fortunately can feel them coming on… Good luck to you! I am hoping yours was the detergent 🙂

Leave a Reply

