I’m cowering in my kitchen.

Adrian is watching some freaky vampire like movie.  30 Days of Night.  He put it in for he and I to watch together and he knows, or at least he should, that I can’t stand those kinds of movies!  Ick, ick, and more ick.  Especially when I’m a little afraid of the dark. 

Yah.  You read it right.  Afraid of the dark.  Gotta problem with a 34 year old woman being afraid of the dark???  Do ya?  Good.  😉

Sheesh. I can barely stand to listen to that movie what with all the creepy music, heavy breathing, and screaming going on.  And that’s just from me! 

Okay, I’m not listening.  I’m not listening.  I’m.  Not.  Listening.

“So, what’s this movie about, Adrian?” 

“I dunno, sweetums.”  (no, he didn’t call me sweetums but a little poetic license never hurt) “It takes place in the arctic.”

“Hmm, that sounds interesting.  Almost educational even”.

And there I sat, all innocent like, with my bowl of popcorn.

Now if he’d said what the movie was actually about: blood thirsty vicious dead creatures trying to eat everyone who’s trapped in an arctic community during the time of year when there’s no sun for a month I woulda hightailed it outta there right then.

I’m beginning to believe that the last time he brought home a terrifying movie wasn’t such a mistake after all.

Okay.  Off to play Scramble.  That’ll distract me from the blood curdling screams I hear in the other room.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m cowering in my kitchen.

  1. wissink6 says:

    Nothing wrong with being afraid of the dark .This 29yr old used to be terrified but is now just scared.I hate those movies too.

  2. Emma says:

    I’m 34 and I won’t go into the basement at night on my own. I could confess to other things too.

  3. Dawn says:

    I don’t like those movies either, but I am not too scared of the dark. Maybe just a little when I am outside, all alone and I hear noises, and I am all alone, and the wood cracks like there is something there and there isn’t anyone with me, like someone small that I can trip as a diversion for the thing that is after me. Not too scared at all;-).

  4. poetofmind says:

    Be not afraid Debbie – the vampire in question – was at a party – so you were safe 😉

    And remember – just place some cake outside and you will be free of the bite…

    Great post – had me laughing out loud – in between coughs from pipe..

    I wonder what will be your choice of video to watch with your Adrian ???

  5. Janet T. says:

    I’m with you….I hate that stuff too. Ugh.

  6. Joy T. says:

    So now I know what to do to shake things up if you ladies are ever at my home visiting….at night…Muhhahahahaha! Cause I’m not afraid of the dark at all and live for terrifying movies 🙂

  7. poeticscotland says:

    Alas the choice is yours 😯

    A vampire or a “bat in the house” 😯

    Must admit whilst I enjoy the darkness, it is far better from within …

  8. robinellablog says:

    We watched that too. I ached from being so tense through the whole thing. It really was vicious!!! I too am a little bit afraid of the dark, so I understand totally.

  9. my4kids says:

    I’m afraid of the dark also so don’t be embarrased!
    I love vampire movies though.

Leave a Reply

