I got a new widgety thingy.

Look over to the right.  It’s a weight loss tracker.  I saw it on a blog called Betty’s This and That which I found through PhotoHunt.  She kindly emailed me the link.

And guess what else I discovered there?  A whole community set up to support each other while trying to lose weight.  And know what else they have there?  Diet Blogs!  Yup.  And I just had to set one up.  Yes, I now have aNOTHER blog.  It’s called “Freeing Myself”.  And you are under no obligation to read it.  Relieved?  Thought so.  😀

The website is a nice way to keep me focused on my goal, I think.  And I need to be refocused.  I’ve been on a bit of binge the past few days. 

It’s amazing how quickly I can get out of the new habits I’ve been working so hard to form during the last two and a bit months.  I’m so glad I bought those Girl Guide cookies, Emma.  🙄 After three days of not really restricting my eating, it’s quite a challenge to get back on track. 

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to let down my guard when it comes to food.  Will I still be counting points when I’m sixty?  Well, maybe that’s normal.  Do thin people pay attention to calories?  I had the impression that it was only fat people who worried about them.  Wait a minute…mayyyybe thin people are thin beCAUSE they count calories.  Or if they don’t count them they at least pay attention to them.  Could that be?  Huh.  Now that’s a revelation.  I guess this changing the way I think about and treat food is a lifetime journey.

I like my new widget (if that’s what it’s called).  It’s long, though.  So you have to scroll over to the right to see the whole thing.  And because of the restrictions with WordPress, I can’t move it to the centre underneath the header like I want to do.  I even changed the template to try and accommodate.  You know, I’m missing Blogger more and more – even with the changes WordPress recently did to the administrative functions.  They added a bunch of options but took away spell check!  What’s up with that??  I can see myself switching back sometime. 

Eh hem.  But I digress.

So, hopefully you’ll be seeing that little ticker’s weight loss number start changing as I get closer to my goal.  I know I’m looking forward to that.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Weight. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I got a new widgety thingy.

  1. Pamela says:

    Firefox and My oversized monitor shows the widget complete.
    I don’t have to scroll at all.
    You are brave to bare it!

    We were talking about our weakness for food at lunch time today.
    It just isn’t fair that some people can eat and not gain weight ..and others could care less if they ate at all.

    Why do I have to love food and love eating it.

  2. Zooomabooma says:

    “I’ve been on a bit of binge the past few days.”

    Yeah, you and me both! Cheapest in the cookie aisle at Wal-mart? Animal crackers … and just because they’re like 7 cents an ounce, that doesn’t mean they’re disgusting… QUITE THE OPPOSITE!!!!!!!!!! SO GOOD!!!!!!!

    The key isn’t always calories. I don’t know all the ins and outs of weight loss but Carbs without exercise = BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My advice: cut out carbs or way, way, way down… almost an Atkins diet but just be sensible about carbs and SUGARS… those two in high amounts won’t get you anywhere!

    Good luck 🙂

  3. Debbie says:

    Pamela – We love food, I guess, because we’re human! 🙂 I just wish it was an instinct we could turn off at will.
    I’m only brave enough to say how much I want to lose – not my actual weight!

  4. my4kids says:

    Looks like a good idea for the widget. I’m sure there are some thin people who pay attention but I know some that eat much more then I do in a single day and still stay skinny!

  5. Debbie says:

    Oh great, Terri. That does not make me feel good! 😀

  6. Dawn says:

    Like Pamela, I can see the whole widget. It is refreshing to see a new page when visiting. I keep talking about it and other improvements on my blog, but I can’t even keep up with reading and it is only going to get worse. Way to go, 14 pounds is a lot. How is Adrian doing? I should go with you to weight watchers but I hate people telling me what to do;-).

  7. Heather says:

    Great for you Debbie! I’ve been visiting fitness and diet blogs since January. I find them very motivating and inspiring. Love your new widget!

  8. poeticscotland says:

    I did see the widget – yesterday, together with your new look theme – but this morning – unable to see ???

    Good Luck on the scales of life 🙂

  9. Steffi says:

    Great for you Debbie,I agree with the other comments too.Good luck and your new blog outfit looks good!

  10. robinellablog says:

    I think sometimes it helps to “fall off the wagon”. It gets you more focused on being healthy instead of “not fat”. It sounds like you are doing a great job.

  11. Joy T. says:

    FANTASTIC on the 14 pounds down Debbie!! The new look is great too!

    When I was skinny? I never thought twice about food. I would only eat when I was hungry but I was very very active and going here and there..way back when. Now that I’m trying to lose weight I find food is ‘always’ on my mind. Which of course makes me hungry all the time….because my brain is focused on food. I really need to stop thinking about food so much. My doctor concurs.

  12. Momma Schmoo says:

    Good for you Debbie!!! I am also trying to lose weight….Disneyland did not help. I could not count points there as I am sure the number would have been astronomical. I am back on the wagon today though, must go eat something 0 points now.

    It was great meeting you on Friday!! 🙂

  13. Melanie says:

    Brill gismo! I love the way you can see just how far you have come. I loved the Summer pics too. We go up to the Lakes about an hour ish away and do that sort of thing. I do worry about our children turning into out and out townies. The culture here for girls seems to be hair straighteners and false tans and boys tracksuits and hoodies. YUK!

    I saw a magazine cover with Catherine Zeta Jones on- she used to be a UK 12 and is now a 6! But ye-gads she looks awful with no shape at all. I think there’s dieting and then there’s “I’ve got to do something to get my face back on the mag covers” and sadly I think a lot of celebs are using their weight.

    I’m sure you can get back on track with your diet. You have the willpower hun. Hugs, Melanie

  14. Sirdar says:

    Congrats on losing the weight. Some people can eat all they want and still stay skinny. I’m obviously not one of them.

    As for the widget….it is a pretty wide one. Too bad there wasn’t one that was down instead of wide. You could put it under your header should you decide to upgrade to ‘custom CSS’…but you have to pay for it or you could host your own blog instead of letting WordPress do it.

Leave a Reply

