A Synonymously Guilty Pleasure

Let me use this time – my time, your time (although your time may feel like an eternity once you’re finished reading this) – to make a confession.   A disclosure.  A divulgence, if you will.  Not clear enough?  I want to avow and unburden myself. 

Yes, yes, I’ve been playing with my Thesaurus – a little known hobby of mine.  My personal favourite synonym for “confess” was unbosom, by the way.  Never heard that one before!

Annnyway, we went to Costco on Saturday.  What?  No, that wasn’t my acknowledgement {wink, wink}.  Of course, we don’t go there often but it certainly doesn’t warrant anything to own up to. 

Costco is a delightfully fun smorgosbord (I had to look up how to spell that which was challenging since it doesn’t seem to be a real word!) of purchasing temptations.  You’ve likely been there – so, you know.  Lovvve the clothing section.  And the office supply isle.  Ooh!  And the meat/deli section!  And we must always take time to peruse the book and dvd/cd isles.  And that is where I find my object de reveal-lllment.

Drum roll, please…The Gilmore Girls Season Five!  Whoo hoo!!

Sorry to disappoint if you were expecting something a little more randy.  But I do so adore the Gilmore Girls.  It’s just a fun and quirky little show and, for me, highly addictive.  And yes, watching it has been what I’ve doing ever since that fateful day.  And the weather has been perfect for it.  Snow, snow, and more snow.

Whoever decided to sell entire tv show series is a genius.  Or evil.  Every time I say to myself, “Just one more episode” I get hooked into another one because of the cleverly placed cliffhanger.  And no commercials is simply a joy.

Adrian doesn’t like the show so, I was relegated to the basement.  With my headphones on, so I don’t have to be subjected to any passing comments on the “utter stupidity” of the show, I thoroughly enjoyed myself for (dare I say it?) hours!  And today.  Promptly after finishing school with the kids, I offered them bonus movie time in the afternoon (which they rarely get) because they were such darn-good-students.  They could have been lousy students for all I cared because The Gilmore Girls was calling to me!

Now, that’s the end of my break.  I must be off and push the play button.  Back to Lorelai, Rory, Luke, and my other Gilmore Girls friends.  I have an hour and half before Adrian comes home and with that the end of my tv show marathon. 

I can’t believe I wrote this much about watching tv!  Am I talented or what? 

Don’t answer that.

PS  I did walk a total of 3 miles on my treadmill this weekend AND wash and fold five loads of laundry.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Synonymously Guilty Pleasure

  1. Emma says:

    Oh I did love the Gilmore Girls. I was sorry to see it go, especially as Taylor had just reached the age where we could watch it together. She has the first 3 sseasons and watches it constantly.

  2. Dawn says:

    I loved that show too. I think it is a cute and quirky entertaining show. Congrats on more weight loss. Way to go.

  3. my4kids says:

    I watched it a couple of times but the hubby was like yours and didn’t make it very easy to watch. It was cute though.
    I love finding new words in thesauruses (I’m sure I killed the spelling there)

  4. Heather K says:

    I like that show too…but don’t have tv anymore…guess I need to find the set!!
    I can relate to the addiction though….I’m just like that with NCIS…I’m waiting for this season to finish so they can get it out on CD!! My girlfriend has lent me all 4 past seasons of it!! woohoo! 🙂

  5. Heather says:

    I haven’t watched Gilmore Girls but I understand your addiction with a tv series on DVD. We watched 5 years in 1 year which was 120 hours (shows). You should have some guilty pleasures! You deserve a little Deb time!

  6. Mamma Schmoo says:

    I never really did watch the show but I am totally going to start saying unbosom!! 🙂

  7. Joy T. says:

    I’ve never watched the show but my oldest daughter asked for it for Christmas and adores it. But I definitely understand what you mean about watching ‘your show’ at any given time. I received box sets of The Sopranos, Boston Legal AND The Tudors for Christmas and I’m here to tell you my family was just about ready to have me committed because I watched so much tv trying to see every last bit of my all time favorite shows. Oh I loooooooove my Sopranos, Boston Legal and Tudors!!

  8. debsgr8r says:

    I love gilmore girls too. I have all 5 seasons…and i’ve watched them all twice! Yup…15 minutes of visit time with 45 minutes of down time within 1 week in the ICU does the craziest things. Rory and Lorelei have been perfect “bosom” buddies. Happy watching.

  9. asalyer says:

    I was never a Gilmore Girls fan. My favorite WB show was 7th Heaven. I still love it to this day. I’ve probably seen all the episodes multiple times but never get tired of them.

    Good job on hitting three miles! I usually do a mile a day on my elliptical. Sometimes every other day. I really should do at least two miles. Maybe I’ll try it tonight!

  10. Melanie says:

    Hia Debbie! No I’ve not watched the Gilmore Girls but I’ll confess to signing up to receive 2 Poirot (Agatha Christie) DVDs a month and I have 45 ish of them! I know the stories having seen them on TV a while ago.

    Well done for losing 18lbs! Can you put the treadmill in front of the TV? I think I would exercise more if only it wasn’t so boring. The weight crept on with me when I started making things so I wasn’t bored but I didn’t have to move about much.

Leave a Reply

