My Broken Pan

Awhile ago I purchased my first and only stoneware pan. Since then I have lovingly used it often and encouraged its proper seasoning. Then this past Saturday a horrible thing happened. It broke!

Broken Pan

 

I was cooking a roast in it.  You can imagine my shock.  I opened the oven door expecting only to see my yummy roast, but was also greeted with my pan, cracked in half.  But maybe it broke because I was cooking a roast.  You see it’s technically a bar pan, but I’ve been using it for everything.

The kids even know how much I loved my pan. When they saw it they said, “Ohhh, your favourite pan. The GOOD pan.”

I’m sad. I’ll be getting a new one, but it just won’t be the same.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Broken Pan

  1. Mamma Schmoo says:

    Oh NO!!! I loved my bar pan too. Only I broke mine a long time ago and just haven’t gotten around to taking the piece to my consultant…lazy, lazy me. Mine was not nearly as nice and seasoned as yours though. Your bar pan will be in my thoughts today 😉

  2. giveitatry says:

    My condolences. But…what is a bar pan?

  3. Debbie says:

    Ummm, I guess it’s meant for bar like food. Such as nanaimo bars and the like. 🙂

  4. I am so sad for your loss — really! That’s why I use cast iron skillets and pans for everything. I can’t break them.

    Blessings!

    Lacy

  5. Robinella says:

    Oh Debbie. It takes so much cooking to get them that gross seasoned. 🙂 I have a few myself. I have the small and medium bar pans and the pizza and big rectangle one. I gave the large bar pans as gifts last Christmas and have been receiving thank you-thank yous ever since. Hope you get a new one soon.

  6. Dawn says:

    Oh, that is terrible. I have two for that very reason. You do know you just have to dig through that paper monster and find the receipt and send in that very small piece in bubble envelope, right? If you can’t find your receipt, our old consultant may have a copy of it for you. You did an awesome job of seasoning it since October. I had a rectangle stone do the same thing. I was cooking meatballs and opened the oven to find the two stone halves about an inch from each other, meatballs in tact. I think I had it about that long when it happened too. At least you get a new one.

  7. Joy T. says:

    Well darn. I just hate when my stoneware pan breaks! Ok I don’t have a stoneware pan only because I’ve heard that they’re prone to breaking. And I’m not even joking. That’s what I’ve heard. Hope you can get your beloved pan replaced though. I’m feeling for you here. I have casserole dishes, bowls and items we got for wedding presents 22 years ago that I still use daily so I know all about beloved cooking items.

  8. Robyn says:

    I got a casserole dish as a gift from my stepmother in law a few years ago. Just a note – don’t let your husband put it on the bbq! Breakage will occur…

    I have a bar pan too but don’t use it as much as our flat rectangular stone that lives in the oven!

  9. Kendall says:

    Hi, Iam the other person that had a exploding pan and as I reading all your coments I see the question is Whats a Bar Pan?I too would like to know. K

  10. Debbie says:

    It’s like a cookie sheet with edges.

Leave a Reply

