There’s My Way and Then There’s His Way

R and J had a couple of friends over yesterday afternoon.  It was so gorgeous outside so that’s where they stayed.  They had fun inventing and playing made-up games.  One such game included the making of a potion which was composed of mud, twigs, and other debris they collected. 

While they were working on their concoction I was building a fire.  I thought it’d be fun to have a wiener roast for lunch.  Then the boys came over and were trying to figure out a way to put their potion INto the fire!  Why?  Because they wanted it to bubble.  Well, I figured there must be a safer way that didn’t involve fire and possible maiming.  So, I pulled out the dish soap, baking soda and vinegar. 

We did two different methods. The first involved a 2 litre bottle filled with water.  That one was decidedly anti-climatic.  The second worked perfectly, though, and even elicited a great response from the kids.  And I got it on video.

When Adrian came home that night we told him of my our cleverness and showed him the video.  Yes, dear that’s very nice, he said.  Little did I know that he was literally cooking up a plan for a volcano of his own.

Go to my private blog to see videos of both.

Why do men feel the need to outdo their wives??  😉

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in crafts, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to There’s My Way and Then There’s His Way

  1. Joy T. says:

    I went out with some friends the other night and this subject came up. The answer…that only took 3 cocktails each to deduct …..is…well I won’t say since you have men reading your blog and I’ll hurt their wittle delicate feelings 🙂 Both volcanoes were great. I liked yours better though. I personally give you two thumbs up for allowing a fire at your kitchen table like that LOL Super cool mom! And supper looked very good. I’ll be over tonight for leftovers :-!”

  2. Robinella says:

    Both were very good. You’ll have to tell how Dad did his.

  3. Dawn says:

    Most people try to bring their kids up with a little pomp and circumstance using candles for a candlelight dinner. Not you guys; it is a flaming volcano. And you say we live on the redneck side of the subdivision;-).

  4. my4kids says:

    How did dad do his? Just curious not sure I want to do that one but curious for sure. I tend to go the way you do it though.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Did you know that I was told that someone actually tasted the potion! I don’t know who, they wouldn’t tell me, they must know about the mother’s creed.

  6. Peter says:

    Creative is the talents of the mind – even more so when ‘mum’ assists in the process 🙂

Leave a Reply

