The day has come…

Grandma from the over ocean (Adrian’s mom – Mary) is arriving today at 5:15 pm from England for a three week visit.  We’ve been anticipating her visit for months now. 

There are people who can totally relate to that song “Mother-in-law” by Ernie K-Doe, but I’m very fortunate.  Mary’s a great lady and I enjoy her company very much.  

She’s been here several times before so she’s done the Jasper/Banff thing.  This visit is purley for visiting with family which is a relief because we can’t afford a trip at the moment!  We’ll be hanging out and doing some work around the yard.  Mary loves to garden so I’m looking forward to her input because, beyond mowing the grass, I don’t know what to do to our place.  You could say our place looks very EAU Naturelle. 

I don’t intend to do any official school while she’s here.  We’ll be outside a lot, gardening, going for walks and such.  We’ll probably do some reading aloud – we just started “The Journey to the Centre of the Earth”.  The kids are enjoying that so far. 

In fact, I’m pretty much finished with school when it comes to book work at the table for the year.  Over the summer, we’ll read lots and I hope to do some fun science projects outside.  I’d LIKE to build a solar oven.  We’ll see if that happens, though.  🙂

Yesterday, we were busy cleaning and running a couple of errands to get ready for Mary.  Then, on our way home, we decided to drop in on Dawn and her new baby chicks.  (didn’t think to bring the camera! grrr)  They’re soo cute!  The kids enjoyed holding them.  Thanks again, Dawn!

This morning I have my Weight Watcher’s meeting (which I’m dreading!), I have to go back to the dump to take some more garbage, buy a birthday present for R’s friend, get some new sheets for our spare bed, and the kids have swimming lessons this afternoon.  I don’t think I’ll actually stay for the WW meeting this week.  I’ve got too much to do.

On that note, I’d better get off the computer!  Have a great day, everyone.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Daily Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The day has come…

  1. Dawn says:

    It sounds like a busy day. We are going to be busy today also; good thing you came yesterday to see the birdies. Have a wonderful time picking up Mary.

  2. Amanda says:

    Good luck with your weight watcher’s meeting today. Sounds like you are one very busy lady. Have a wonderful time with your MIL.

    Oh and I saw the pictures of Dawn’s chickies and they are soooo cute! I loved them.

  3. Steffi says:

    Debbie,sounds like a busy and exciting day! Have a nice time with Mary!

  4. Melanie says:

    Happy gardening! You can tell Mary that she took the good weather with her. England is having a dose of rain and 15C ish weather after the gorgeous 26C we’d been having this week. That’ll cheer her up no end if she was worried about her plants drying out.

    I hope the WW weigh in goes really well for you.

Leave a Reply

