We’ve had some adventures lately.

It all started with the pool.

We have one of the soft side ones where it rises as it’s filled with water. It’s very important with these pools that they’re even on the ground otherwise they leak out the low side. (do you see where I’m going with this?) We made a dirt base for our pool a couple of years ago, but this year (because we were rushing perhaps) we placed the pool too near to the edge. After it was about 3/4’s full the pool slipped off the base and began to leak out the side. And there was nothing we do to stop it!  So, there went gallons of water and $120.00. 😦 That put a damper on my whole day. Every little thing after that just confirmed to me how crappy of a day it was going to be.

  • The kids went to pour milk into their cereal and it came out in clumps. Yumm.
  • I attempted to do a bit of school with the kids (whyyy???) and R, in particular, wasn’t very cooperative…which made me cranky-er.
  • The front tire on my van has a slow leak and I couldn’t put the right attachment on the air compressor hose to fill it.
  • And while I was dragging the air hose over it rubbed against my leg and spread mud on my jeans!

I won’t go on (because I could). Just trust me that it was one of THOSE days.

Yesterday seemed to be going better. It was sunny out which always puts me in a brighter mood. And I was getting my new fridge. Then… The delivery guy phoned and was, apparently lost and didn’t seem to know of any of the highways around here where I could give him a reference point. When he finally arrived he backed into our gate (which he denied) then he didn’t have on his paperwork that he was supposed to take my old fridge away. After much convincing he finally gave in. But I couldn’t figure out to disconnect the water line! I’m so thankful my dad was there to help. Next he brought in my new fridge. Da da daaa! BUT. Something was wrong! It didn’t have the water dispenser on the front like I ordered. For the tenth time that morning, I called the store where I ordered it and reported the discrepancy. He’s promised to figure what’s going on and in the meantime to use that fridge.

There have some good things, though.

My dad brought me a new picnic table that he made for me. (see photo here)  I took Mary to Tim Horton’s and introduced her to Ice Cap’s. Mmmm. She bought her very first set of Crocs…

Grandma 060

And my new fridge IS lovely despite the stupid interior water dispenser that comes out as slow as molasses.

Grandma 061 Grandma 062

Grandma 063

You have to do a contortionist’s move to push that button and hold the glass and wait and wait and wait for the water to come out. Ah well.

Both cats are lovin’ Mary. Just look at Max here…

Grandma 050

Grandma 052

Grandma 055

I just had to include this one of Mowgli having a good ol’ time washing up.

Today we’re off to a parade and then we’re having the neighbours and my parents over for our annual lobster (steak for those who don’t like lobster) feast. AND we’re supposed to be getting a new furnace this weekend too!

Wish us luck. 😀

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We’ve had some adventures lately.

  1. Melanie says:

    I hope your weekend is better than today. Here in the UK we have temperatures of between 20c day and 10c at night. Some storms are due in the South next week. The wind is a bit strong toady in the NW. This has meant that the children have been in the pool most of the day. A couple of neighbours children joined them too. Bit cold for me. 🙂 Bad luck is meant to run in 3s so hopefully you’ve had your full quota for the rest of the year now.

    Have a lovely weekend.

  2. Dawn says:

    Wow, sounds like a terrible time. One day, you will look back at this post and laugh. Okay, I laughed today, but that was because of the last photo. Moglii is so funny and what entertainment he provides. I hope your weekend is better than the end of the weekday week.

  3. Janet says:

    WHAT PARADE? You mean, I missed a parade?

    I love your kitties!

  4. Pamela says:

    it’s a nice fridge – even with the water in the wrong spot.
    we’ve been looking at new fridges. BUT none fit in the space that our old ones does.

  5. Joy T. says:

    Well darn, sorry about all that bad luck. The fridge looks awesome and will look even better with that water dispenser up front the way it was supposed to be. And your cats are priceless. LOVe the photos with Mary holding Max. your mil looks like such a lovely lady. I bet youre having so much fun with her!

  6. Robinella says:

    I sure hope things started looking up for you after the post. Mary looks like a sweetie.

  7. Steffi says:

    Nice fridge! I have the same crocs too!

  8. Pingback: Money, Money, Money, Monnnneyyyyyy…Money! « A Step at a Time

Leave a Reply

