Hot and Sunny Day

Yesterday was lovely and hot. I did a bit of everything. I worked in the garden, helped the neighbour a little with the new fence they’re putting up between our properties, relaxed and played in the pool with my children, read my book, and visited with neighbours who came over to our place in the evening for a fire. It was an all round good day.

The evening with the neighbours was very enjoyable. We invited Dawn and Sirdar to come over after supper and their kids to go swimming in the pool. They brought along their next door neighbour’s 11? yr old child and then informed us that they’d invited the parents later as well. The nerve, heh? He he he. It turned out great because we rarely see these neighbours.

At one point Dawn returned from using our bathroom and mentioned that I’d run out of toilet paper. Groan. How annoying because I looked at the roll before they came and told myself to get more out. But I forgot. Azzz I do. And Dawn isn’t one to sit idly by and go without toilet paper…and perhaps use a couple pieces of Kleenex conveniently close by on the bathroom counter. Because. Well. It should be easy enough to find toilet paper. Right? Well, not in my house. I like to make my guests work for their toiletry needs.

So, she asked my daughter, J, where it was kept. J proceeded to name the possibilities ending in their ultimate location. In the storage cupboard up above my bathtub. So Dawn had to CHOSE to – correction made on the advice of my lawyer for future incidents 😉 – climb up on the side of the tub (because it makes too much sense for me to have a stool handy for such purposes) and stretch wayyyyy up

Miscellaneous 052

above my bathtub to the storage area, THEN grab hold of the top with one hand, reach in with the other hand, (rearrange my apparently unorganized packages of toilet paper)

Miscellaneous 050

and retrieve the hard-earned roll of toilet paper.

You’d think her adventure would be over then, wouldn’t you? Nope. My evil soap dispenser

Miscellaneous 054-2

decided to attack her with a spluch of soap all over her leg.

All this was going on while I was reclining comfortably by the fire nursing my ice cold cooler. HA HA HA (imagine evil laugh)…jusstt as I plannnnned.

Then she retaliated by shamelessy making fun of my pretty bicycle that never did anything to hurt her.

Bikes 003-2

Actually, it was more my husband making fun of me than her.  🙂

Annnyway, it was a good day. Today it’s rainy and cool. Laundry and movies will be on the agenda, I think.

And now I leave you with a video of my husband making a complete fool of himself:

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hot and Sunny Day

  1. Sirdar says:

    And a good time was had by all. That soap dispenser tried to attack me too but I heeded Dawn’s warning and took drastic measures….I was ready….and sure enough it tried to get me…but I was the smarter one. Glad to know I can outwit a soap dispenser!!!

    Thanks for having us over last night. Enjoyable as always.

  2. Amanda says:

    HaHa I’m thinking maybe you should change the location of your toilet paper! Mine is located in the cabinet underneath the sink. Best spot ever. It comes in handy in case you don’t realize there isn’t any paper on the roll after you’ve already used the bathroom (which I do ALL the time)! Instead of having to get up I can just reach over and grab some!

    Anywho. Glad you guys had a good time!

  3. Dawn says:

    It was a good time. I didn’t notice the evil grin on that dispenser when I went in there. But now that I think back, I heard a slightly evil chuckle like that of your husband’s in the video above; spawn I am thinking. I was a little stiff yesterday from the climb but recovered well. My mom has a cupboard above her toilet but it is less camouflaged than yours or I would have had less trouble finding it. Good of J to help me out.

  4. Steffi says:

    Sounds like nice days. I wish I had you all as my neighbours too. I think you had a nice time with Dawn and Sirdar!
    Nice pictures!

  5. Terri says:

    That video with your hubby was too funny! I really enjoyed it.
    Sounds like my house and finding the toilet paper. We never have it where one would expect either..

  6. robyn says:

    I love how R told Adrian to do it again even after he said he was getting dizzy. That’s a whole lot of helium to inhale! lol

  7. robinellablog says:

    I like to leave all of my dishes dirty so my guest have to load a dishwasher when they visit. lol.

    It’s nice to have such helpful neighbors and a funny husband.

  8. Pamela says:

    she might as well just live there, huh? (:
    can’t fault that guy for having a good swig of helium. we did that with our kids, too

  9. Melanie says:

    Hia Debbie I had to chuckle- we have to balance on the bath to get to the loo roll stash too. As I’ve had a chest infection I’ve been rattling through a loo roll a day so everyone was fair game to have to get me another one as I was confined to bed.

    With your sense of humour (and an evil twisted soap dispenser) may I suggest trying some of the Jiggy Mc Cue books by Michael Lawrence. I bought one for son but got hooked, got hubby hooked and both of us chortle over them. Best read all year! The Killer Underpants is a must.

Leave a Reply

