Finally, A Lovely Summer Weekend! aaand a Small Soapbox Moment.

The sun shined brightly and warmly this weekend which was a very welcome reprieve after the rain we lived through last week. With the hot weather came barbecues, sitting around the fire, and swimming in the pool.

On saturday, Adrian invited a family for an afternoon visit which ended up going late into the evening.  He knows the guy from work. He and his family just moved here from the states and they don’t know many people. The kids all swam in the pool while we parents hung out by the fire. Or I should say, the wife and I hung out.  Adrian had had the bright idea of roasting a chicken over the fire using a rotisserie he made himself. Sounds good. The catch was that he hadn’t made it yet and he chose that particular time to do so! He and the guy sequestered themselves for 2 1/2 hours in the shop tinkering away leaving the wife and I alone. He’s just lucky that she and I got along. Or I guess, I’m lucky. Men!

It DID turn out fine, though. She was friendly and a good conversationalist. She relayed some of the things she misses from home. The store Target for one. And her friends. It must be hard to pick up your family and move to another country leaving everyone and everything you know behind. And, sadly, we Albertans haven’t been leaving a very good impression which isn’t helping her to feel at home.

In her experiences so far, she doesn’t find us, on the whole, to be very friendly.  (I didn’t mention how I was a tad nervous at the prospect of having complete strangers over for dinner).  Her impression is that we seem quite closed off – compared to what she’s used to.  She’s been here barely a month and has already been called a “damn yankee” on two different occasions. Being from the south she takes particular offense to that term.

I find it so sad. We’re meant to be the nice, peace loving ones and it’s the Americans who are supposedly rude. But here we’re being the assholes! 

Treat each individual with kindness and dignity. If the person does something to warrant rudeness than fine, but jeez – give people a chance!

It put me in mind of what Joy had to say about the people from PEI:  “I have never met such polite and friendly people in my entire 44 years on this earth.  Everyone in PEI is friendly.”

Why aren’t Albertans just as friendly?  What’s our problem?  Too much oil stuck up our asses???

Now, I know there are friendly people here.  I’m friendly.  And so are all of my friends.  And, of course, there are plenty others.  But I don’t think we’re known for being friendly.  And that got me to thinking.  What makes a whole society friendly?  Or not-so-friendly.  Adrian’s theory is that we have a lot to worry about in this province.  Cost of living, for example.  But that can’t be it.  The people of South of Africa are renowned for being friendly and they have plenty to worry about. So, what is it?

Hmmmm.  Tick…tick…tick.

Well, I haven’t got an answer.  Yet. 

Okay, I’m off my soapbox now.

My parents came over on Sunday to celebrate my dad’s and Adrian’s birthdays which were both last week. Then some friends joined us as well. Again, the kids swam in the pool, but we joined them this time. It was hot enough and the water was lovely and cool. And then we ate…roasted chicken. With Adrian’s rotisserie.

Summer 008-1

Summer 007-1

I served grilled veggies and shrimp as well.

Summer 006-1

My fabulous dad.  (I say give me a smile, and this is what I get.  EVERY time!)

Summer 010-1

My marvelous mom.

Summer 011-1

Spooky times in the pool.

Summer 022

Summer 009

After swimming, eating, and chatting my parents left.  But we I couldn’t let the friends go without dragging inviting them in to play a round of my new favourite game, Snorta. We finally let them leave around 7:00.

Yeah, it was a good weekend. And I hope y’all had a good one, too.

About Debbie

I am a stay at home mom of 2 energetic children. I homeschool them as well. I have a great husband who, after 7 years of working away from, finally has a job where he is home every night. We are trying to learn how to live together again along with adjusting to the lower pay that came along with the job change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Finally, A Lovely Summer Weekend! aaand a Small Soapbox Moment.

  1. Melanie says:

    Morning Debbie! Looks like a fab BBQ! Son’s computer is down so he’s using mine so I’m trying to type using a World of Warcraft keyboard- all typos are to be blamed on that and not the fact that i haven’t had coffee yet. LOL

    Southern England where I’m from is meant to be full of more reserved people than up here in the North West. Having said that I had a big circle of friends there but don’t have here. Here people are friendly to you even if you are a stranger at a surface level but there is nothing at a more deeper level. I think it’s great that you have taken the time and thought to invite someone over who is new to town. Just that alone and inviting them for a coffee occassionally can make all the difference to them. Well done. Fab looking food by the way but 2 1/2 hours for the rotisserie! LOL Men!

  2. Steffi says:

    Oh what for great pics!It soundsand looks like a very nice BBQ!The food looks so yummy and makes me hungry ;O))!

  3. Pamela says:

    When I visited New York City 20 plus years ago I expected everyone to be snotty and rude. They weren’t.

    So… who knows. Maybe it’s just luck of the draw. We know the world is the same over, many nice and many not so.

    You were nice to her — so maybe she just needs to reassess?

  4. Janet says:

    If I see her, I’ll give her a biiiiig smile. 🙂 And as for the oil, I haven’t found any up there in a while……

  5. Joy T. says:

    I say bring her to the next BA get together. Lots of great ladies there 🙂 All the pictures are great, you really do have a great touch when it comes to photography Debbie.

  6. Robyn says:

    Thanks for letting us crash your birthday parties yesterday! We really enjoyed the pool – ahhh, refreshing!! 🙂

    The chicken and veggies were really delicious (and so was the carrot cake!). And I still say that Snorta game would be good with a bunch of drunk adults…

  7. Beckie says:

    Sounds like you had a fab weekend. Made a new friend and had the folks over to eat and celebrate. Thank God there are some friendly people in this world. I’m friendly.

  8. I just have to say that those grilled shrimp and veggies looks positively delicious. Seriously… I think I have to make that.

  9. Dawn says:

    Looks like a great menu and wonderful photos. I love how you scrap booked them. I have a hard enough time getting them on my blog, let alone fancying them up. I think she has just run into the wrong people; or at least I hope that is the case and she gets a better impression as time goes on.

  10. Emma says:

    I thought I had commented on this post…hmmm…must have meant to though! I agree with Joy…bring her with you to dinner!

Leave a Reply

